We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Ranked #9 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 January 2011

Stayed at the Grosvenor Pulford for 2 nights in december. Cant fault the service, cleanliness, food and location.

However the single beds in the twin room was very uncomfortable and I ended up putting the mattress on the floor so sleep quality not the best. Ate 3 meals each day there and the food in Ciros Restaurant was delicious and well presented with very good service. Nice health club as well to wind down after a days work.

Would recommend to anyone on business or leisure to Chester that does not mind being out in the sticks a bit.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JohnHunter1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,739)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,559 - 1,565 of 1,739 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2011

spent a 3 day break at the Grosvenor Pulford and you basically get what it says on the tin! The hotel is a very nice 4 star with a good Gastro-Pub attached and an italian themed Restaurant. The food is really nice in both places. The room we had was lovely with an area with a sofa, wardrobe, iron etc then you went up a spiral staircase to the bedroom and bathroom - quite quirky and very nicely furnished.
Because the hotel is quite family orientated, it tends to be a bit noisy in the hallways at night with people taking their children to bed...................why do people have to shout??
The girls on reception were friendly and smily as was a young waitress in the restaurant (didn't get her name but she is from Romania and due to leave soon to have a baby). The rest of the staff weren't overly chatty or friendly (a "good morning" at breakfast wouldn't go amiss).
I had a spa treatment which was really lovely and my husband enjoyed the swimming pool when it wasn't too busy.
All in all though, we had a nice stay and there's a regular bus (every 20 mins) into Chester which is far easier as the town is a nightmare to drive round with all the one way systems.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bleachyspice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2011

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for a weekend break in January 2011. It has a good location, just outside Chester. We had booked an executive room on a dinner, bed and breakfast basis. The room was very spacious with sitting area and dressing table. Bathroom was very nice with bath and separate shower. The hotel has a good spa, which my wife used for a treatment, and a lovely pool. It also has a gym, but we did not use it. The gym and pool facilities are available for use to
residents. There are two restaurants, Ciro's and Nelson's Bar. Ciro's is mainly Mediterranean food and is slightly more expensive and more formal than Nelsons, which is more towards a gastro-pub. We ate in Nelsons and had a lovely meal with good service. Breakfast (served in Ciro's) was also very good.
If we could fault the hotel at all, it would be that the music from the functions elsewhere in the hotel could be heard from our bedroom. However, the music did stop at 12:30pm, so it wasn't too much of an issue for us personally.
Overall, a nice relaxing stay and we would recommend the hotel!

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WelshDragon74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2011

As we were married at The Grosvenor pulford a year ago last christmas and had an amazing wedding, we thought we would treat all our closest family and freinds to an anniversary dinner in the Nelsons bar area at the hotel. We invited 34 people on the day after boxing day for a 3 course dinner. The hotel was beautifully decorated and we were positioned in the raised dining area with the log fire and the leather couches. The food was excellent and the service perfect. They played tastful christmas music which set such a great atmosphere. The wine flowed perfectly with gorgeous deserts and coffee. I would definatly recommend to anyone wanting to have a perfect family gathering at christmas time.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chester051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2010

My party of 10 went to an amzing Chrismas Party night at this hotel. The foods was amazing, the table decorations were quality items which kept our party amused for a considerable amount of time! The entertainment was great, the compare was fun and created a really fun atmosphere, getting party members to join in different games. The tribute act followed (Micky Jay as Michael Jackson) was brilliant and he was followed by a varied genre of music until 1pm. I have been on many Christmas party nights, but none as good as the one we all enjoyed at the Grosvenor Pulford. I will definitely be going back again soon.
Thanks to all concerned, Lorna

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorna1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2010

Booked several months in advance to stay to attend a friends wedding. Hotel looks nice and is in a nice setting.
However the room we were given sat above where an 80's theme disco was being held... which didn't finish until 1am. I have nothing against a bit of noise, but I think it's wrong to not warn you when you book or check in to not tell you that 1 am is the earliest you will get to sleep. If I had known I would have checked into another hotel...

Two other things let the hotel down. The room did not smell nice as there appeared to be a problem with the drain...

For the wedding party the following day... Several guests were sick following the meal. Doctor who saw my wife the following day (after she'd been vomiting all night) reckoned it was food poisoning (she doesn't drink alcohol).

On the plus side, the bar is nice, and Adrian who works in Nelsons bar was exceptionally helpful in helping me celebrate my wife's birthday.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gavink_001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2010

We had our wedding at The Grosvenor Pulford Hotel and Spa on 18th November 2010. We cannot rate highly enough the service we received from the hotel from the moment we booked over a year earlier. Every detail was handled with the upmost professionalism. The venue was perfect for our winter wedding with lots of lovely settings to have photo’s taken indoors, however we did manage to brave the cold and intermittent showers to have a few photos taken outside too! We live locally to the hotel and visit regularly so we know how immaculately clean and well presented the hotel is at all times and how great the food is, and needless to say we were not disappointed on our wedding day. Many of our guests have been in touch with us to say it was the nicest wedding they had been too and what a lovely hotel the Grosvenor Pulford was. The leisure facilities were also a big hit with many of our guests who stayed over. We stayed in one of the bridal suites (room 79) and it was absolutely beautiful. We would like to thank all the staff at The Grosvenor Pulford Hotel and Spa for making our day perfect and we look forward to seeing you all next year for our 1st anniversary if not before! If you are considering booking this hotel for your wedding then we would highly recommend it and if you have already booked then you are in good hands and set for a great day!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pink010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
5.2 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#3 of 45 in Chester
2,630 reviews
5.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#13 of 45 in Chester
1,792 reviews
6.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
4,425 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
4.8 mi away
ABode Chester
ABode Chester
#15 of 45 in Chester
2,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa

Address: Wrexham Road, Chester CH4 9DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Chester
#3 Business Hotel in Chester
#4 Spa Hotel in Chester
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range: £73 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa with its beautiful 19th Century original building has been tastefully and expertly extended to incorporate a vast range of facilities and accommodation. Nestled in the Cheshire countryside this hotel is ideally located just a five minute drive from Chester's historic city centre, yet a stone's throw from the border of Wales. Privately owned, this four star hotel offers 73 bedrooms all with en-suite facilities, while two restaurants provide guests with a choice of dining. The AA Rosette awarded Ciro's Brasserie is a magnificent Mediterranean themed restaurant specialising in modern European cuisine cooked using fresh, seasonal, local produce, while Nelson's Bar, the hotel's gastro-pub offers traditional ales and a wide selection of bar meals. Within the hotel is also Spa by Kasia, the North West's most exclusive and opulent spa. This luxury retreat offers 6 indulgent treatment suites, 3 relaxation rooms, a couple's VIP suite, traditional Hamman, Roman style swimming pool, Jacuzzi, steam room, sauna, gymnasium, outdoor tennis court, Spa Boutique, Spa Eatery, and the unique and stunning Asian Sensory Garden. This welcoming hotel, with its stunning backdrop of the welsh mountains, is the perfect base from which to explore the beauty of Wales, Cheshire, the famous Roman city of Chester and The Wirral. There is an abundance of local attractions in and around the surrounding area, which include Chester Cathedral, Chester Race Course, Chester Zoo, Blue Planet Aquarium, McArthur Glen Designer Outlet, Beeston Castle, Castles of North Wales, Tatton Park, Ness Botanical Gardens and many more! The hotel offers ample free parking and complimentary internet access throughout and is easily accessible from the motorway network A55, M53, M56 and M6, and the international airports of Manchester and Liverpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel And Spa
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel Chester
Grosvenor Pulford Chester
Hotel Grosvenor Pulford
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing