We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Knock it down and rebuild !!”
Review of Northgate Arena

Northgate Arena
Book In Advance
More Info
US$171.10*
and up
Chester Independent Day Trip by Train from London
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Knock it down and rebuild !!”
Reviewed 16 March 2013

It's such a shame that a community health centre should be so outdated. All areas need refurbishment and the owners or council seem unwilling to make any improvements until they know if the Northgate will be re-located in the future. Lots of members are signed up as they offer good classes and it's still cheaper that other gyms in Chester but some money needs to be spent ASAP.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank ClaireJohn22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    17
    23
    16
    16
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
104 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Showing its age”
Reviewed 8 March 2013

The Northgate Arena sports centre is a little jaded but was well used and is close to Chester City Centre.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Relentlessvoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good for a splash but not the best for serious swimmers”
Reviewed 5 March 2013

I occasionally go to the northgate for a midweek swim, but as I'm more of a casual swimmer I wouldn't recommend it for people who want to get some serious lane swimming in. The section of the pool dedicated to lane swimming is rather swallow and of an evening very busy.

However there is a deeper section for casual swimming plus a very swallow area for kids/families to have a splash. They even have a slide that is always attended by a lifeguard. Admittedly the place does need a good lick of paint however its pretty cheap for entry and you can pay £1 extra to go in the steam room/sauna after your swim which I enjoyed on my last visit.

I've not been in the gym so I can't comment but if you're looking to go for a swim its nothing special but its cheap and cheerful if you live in the Chester Area.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good fun!”
Reviewed 4 March 2013 via mobile

North gate arena has a great pool! With a fantastic slide! Changing rooms need a bit of TLC, but what do you expect from a public swimming pool! Pool is hygienic and clean most of the time and much fun! Cafe is nice and most staff our friendly, I also like visiting the fairs on the last Saturday of every month in the main sports hall! Love purchasing or just looking at the items on sale!

Helpful?
Thank Natalie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“a good swim ...just”
Reviewed 2 March 2013

was ok. nothing special. when we got in there at 8.15pm on a friday evening the wet changing rooms were closed as they had already started to clean them for the next day so after going in the pool and the incredibly hot and lovely steam room, we wentto do some lane swimming, then the buzzers overhead started bleeping, the pool was closing for 9pm, why were we not told this as wepaid our entrance fee, and actually the girl on the reception was pretty grumpy and miserable, not really a nice welcome and she continued her conversation with a collegue and plonked my change on the counter without even a thank you, manners cost nothing. Maybe a bit of staff training would help and also give out information to customer who come to swim later on in the eveing, giving them info what time the pool closes etc, thats all it takes,but the pool was nice and warm for the small amount of time we were alllowed to use it.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank andipants67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Northgate Arena also viewed

Chester, Cheshire
Birkenhead, Wirral
 

Been to Northgate Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing