We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rip off ”
Review of The York Roast Co

The York Roast Co
Ranked #30 of 61 Quick Bites in Chester
Price range: US$0 - US$5
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast
Reviewed 16 October 2013 via mobile

We had roast pork baps and a bottle of water each (not even a expensive make!) and we sat in. Now it was early in the day so the lunch time rush hadn't started either. I'm afraid our baps were cold and very unappetising and for the honour of eating here it cost nearly £15 so beware they charge hilarious prices for every tiny thing.

Thank johno20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (260)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

218 - 222 of 260 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2013

I had the vegetarian Yorkshire Pudding and my husband had the turkey no bread sandwich. Decent prices for the U.K. and food was very good. Staff friendly. Tables - not many, close together. A couple long ones so you might have to sit with strangers. Not really room for back to back chairs at the 2 long tables. Would definitely eat there again in spite of the poor seating. Didn't spot the York restaurant when there, or I would have eaten at that one too.

Note: This is a 'modern' Yorkshire Pudding. The traditional Yorkshire pudding has no food inside and is more like a popover.

Date of visit: September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

we came for our first visit to chester and couldn't find anything that served a hot cheap and cheerful meal .... until we came across York Roast .... we ordered yorkshire puddings with beef and .... thoroughly enjoyed the meal .... very tasty and filling .... the staff were rushed off their feet, but extremely polite .... it had a really nice atmosphere and we will be goin back again taking an extra 2 .... thank you ....

Date of visit: August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank mowahya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Ok so I ordered a pork roll, and the roll was fresh, the meat was really nice as was the apple sauce but it was a complete rip off at £5. There's a pound bakery next door - I suggest you try this instead if you want excellent value for money!
(P.S. had a dippy tummy the next day - might not of been from here but something to keep in mind...)

Date of visit: July 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kat5682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sashachadwick12, Owner at The York Roast Co, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Many thanks for your review. I just want to point out that it costs £3.99 for a pork sandwich and not £5.00 as you stated. We have a 5 star food safety record and your comment is purely speculative.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We ate here during the day and were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food. The 'take away' format is a bit mess and the wooden cutlery could be better

Date of visit: July 2013
Thank Barry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The York Roast Co also viewed

 
Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to The York Roast Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing