We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Promises so much delivers so little”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The York Roast Co

The York Roast Co
Ranked #367 of 553 Restaurants in Chester
Price range: US$0 - US$5
Cuisines: Fast food, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
306 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Promises so much delivers so little”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

I had eaten at the York Hog Roast some 3 months ago and been thoroughly disappointed but I thought I would give them a second chance, I wish I hadn't bothered. The joints of meat in the window look so tempting but once inside the very cramped cafe the temptation soon goes.
I ordered a pork bap with extra crackling and as I don't like dry food asked for some butter.
Not only did they not have any butter when it came it was without the crackling and as dry as a bone. The nice young waitress took it back and suggested some gravy, the bap returned with 4 small pieces of what can only be described as "pork scratchings" and a bap so soggy with gravy as to be inedible. Needless to say the York Hog roast will not be getting a third chance.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RFaserH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    49
    20
    33
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Tasty Treat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

During a recent visit to Chester I ate at this place. Was not disappointed. The roast beef with stuffing and horseradish sauce was excellent, along with the vegetables I selected. Found the staff courteous but the dining space was a little cramped. I considered that I got value for the 11 pounds that it cost. Excellent coffee as well.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trentham_Ozlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester NY
Level Contributor
96 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great sandwich”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

The pork with dressing bap was delicious, and a bargain at 4 pounds. For 25p more, you can get cracklings, which are good but could break your teeth. All of us were pleased with our choices. A bit tight in the dining area, but we were just there for a quick bite.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lindooch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rip off ”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013 via mobile

We had roast pork baps and a bottle of water each (not even a expensive make!) and we sat in. Now it was early in the day so the lunch time rush hadn't started either. I'm afraid our baps were cold and very unappetising and for the honour of eating here it cost nearly £15 so beware they charge hilarious prices for every tiny thing.

Helpful?
Thank johno20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Yummy UK Fast Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

I had the vegetarian Yorkshire Pudding and my husband had the turkey no bread sandwich. Decent prices for the U.K. and food was very good. Staff friendly. Tables - not many, close together. A couple long ones so you might have to sit with strangers. Not really room for back to back chairs at the 2 long tables. Would definitely eat there again in spite of the poor seating. Didn't spot the York restaurant when there, or I would have eaten at that one too.

Note: This is a 'modern' Yorkshire Pudding. The traditional Yorkshire pudding has no food inside and is more like a popover.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The York Roast Co also viewed

Chester, Cheshire
Chester, Cheshire
 
Chester, Cheshire
Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to The York Roast Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing