We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy ”
Review of The York Roast Co

The York Roast Co
Ranked #272 of 603 Restaurants in Chester
Price range: US$0 - US$5
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The smell of the place drew us in and although it was very busy we managed to squeeze in at a table at the back. We went for the meat in a Yorkshire pudding with potatoes, veg and stuffing, which came in a takeaway box. Everything was delicious however could have done with a bit more gravy to soak into the Yorkshire pudding as the edges were rather crisp and the knife and forks provided couldn't cut them. Would definitely recommend a visit

Thank Kay2innie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TYRC-HO, Operations Assistant at The York Roast Co, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Kay2innie, thanks for taking the time to leave us some feedback. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your meal and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (249)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 249 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stopped off at lunch to purchase a couple of wraps which were good and I think good value for money as well

Thank Dellenee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TYRC-HO, Operations Assistant at The York Roast Co, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Dellenee, thanks for taking the time to leave us a review - we're happy to hear you enjoyed your YorkyPud Wraps!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Passed this place by chance and could see the window food looking very tempting, with all the veg and meats on display. Inside this small but enticing eatery, you can buy a sunday roast wrapped up with a large yorkshire pudding as a sandwich! Genius idea...The other half loved the pork, veg and stuffing although thought the carrotts were a bit too hard and i thought the same about the veg too. I opted for roast potates and a cup of veg, within a large yorkshire pudding used as an edible plate! We are both full afterwards and it was good value at £12 excluding drinks. Would certainly return although we were lucky it was a quiet day (mid week) so were served immediately.

Thank Carletto01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TYRC-HO, Operations Assistant at The York Roast Co, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Carletto01, we're happy to hear you enjoyed your meal. Thanks for visiting, and for taking the time to leave us some feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2018

Me and my partner went in at around ten to five and ordered two Yorkshire puddings, mine with turkey his with Ham. Service was good the food got given to us very fast. The flavours of the food was delicious and is what would make us want to go back. Some things to improve was the vegetables the carrots were very hard and the green beans were quite tough. However our meats was both cooked beautifully. The seating area was a decent size and clean.
We would go back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Shauna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TYRC-HO, Operations Assistant at The York Roast Co, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hi Shauna, we're sorry to hear the vegetables weren't up to standard, but we're glad to hear you still enjoyed your meals, thanks for taking the time to leave us some feedback so we can improve in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2018 via mobile

Visited at about 2pm on a Wednesday afternoon late August. Place was heaving. Knew kind of what to expect as we have had a wrap when visiting the York branch. Fancied Yorkshire’s this time & as I was queueing, the other half managed to snag a couple of seats from another couple departing, the last two seats both inside and out.
Did queue for a little while but the two young ladies serving were working as hard as they could and were polite and friendly. The tables could of done with a wipe and the floor needed sweeping but to be fair this was not possible as tables were vacant for split seconds before being used again & nobody could have brushed as there was no room. The staff did the best they could.
The food however, was delicious. Everything was cooked to perfection and just the right temperature. My partner is a fuss pot & even he thoroughly enjoyed it. There is a reason it is so busy, because the food is great.
Used the toilet which was spotlessly clean. We will be back next time we visit Chester.

Thank Herta F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TYRC-HO, Operations Assistant at The York Roast Co, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hi Herta, thanks for visiting and for taking the time to leave us some feedback. We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed your meal and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The York Roast Co also viewed

 
Chester, Cheshire
Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to The York Roast Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing