We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Definately value for money.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gateway to Wales Hotel
Ranked #31 of 44 Hotels in Chester
stoke on trent
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Definately value for money.”
Reviewed 6 June 2011

Took my friend for an overnight stay as a belated celebration for her 40th birthday.
I would consider the two of us to be considerably fussy, especially in the way of cleasliness.
We both found all of the hotel very clean, the staff were all extremely pleasant and helpful, the food was of a very good portion and was delicious and the leisure suite just added to the relaxation and good value for money.
I would definately recommend this hotel to people who do not want to be right in the centre of Chester and I for 1 will definately be returning.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rallieStokeOnTrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MattKnight, General Manager at Gateway to Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2011
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we hope that you will be able to visit is again in the near future.

Kind regards

Matt Knight
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    150
    105
    57
    38
See reviews for
122
185
8
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2011

We recently stayed in this hotel after getting a room for only £10 by collecting tokens in a newspaper. We throughly enjoyed our stay. Nice hotel with good friendly staff which makes all the difference. The hotel is slightly out of Chester but only 20 mins on public transport. It is on a busy road but we didn't find it noisy at all. Would have been happy even if I had paid fully price for the room.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holidayqueeny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2011

All members of staff were great! Really friendly, helpful and knowledgeable.
Our room was ok. It didn't look like the one advertised though which was a shame. Are all rooms differently decorated? The bathroom was nice, very clean. We had a room on the back, still a bit noisy from the road but we got used to it.
We had been really looking forward to using the leisure facilities. They were average, looking a bit tired in comparison to the pictures I'd say. We went in the pool, jacuzzi and steam room.It was nice that they gave us extra towels.
Lots of free parking which is always a bonus so we didn't have to worry.
We booked the dinner, bed and breakfast package. The dinner was lovely! I had the soup, burger and cheesecake and my boyfriend had the spring rolls, ribs and cheesecake. All lovely but my main course portion was ridiculously too big! I know people would moan if they were small portions but this was just silly, there was enough for 2! Restaurant area was lovely, although we found the tv on while we were eating a bit of a distraction! Drinks were quite expensive but I suppose you expect that when you get a good deal for the food.
There isn't really anything to do by the hotel but it was a good location for us to get to/form Chester and Cheshire Oaks.
Breakfast had a really good choice! All food of a nice quality but the hot breakfast was a bit cold?
This hotel is doing a lot of things right, it's just a shame that a few things let it down. Much nicer than travelodge, premier inn. Probably on par with legacy hotels.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AVB24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MattKnight, General Manager at Gateway to Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope that you will visit us again when coming to Chester.

Kind regards

Matt Knight
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2011

had fantastic stay in this small hotel. if looking for something cheap and cheerful with fantastic food look no further. from moment we arrived we were greeted with a smile and service that would beat any hotel. we have stayed in many hotels from3star to 5star and this was tops. breakfast especially good and service excellent. will be returning again and so look forward to it. j and j ireland

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackie452016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MattKnight, General Manager at Gateway to Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you here again soon.

Kind regards

Matt Knight
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2011

The outside of this hotel is not very impressive but once inside its ok as long as you like sport( the tv is on all the time, even at dinner and breakfast!) At first we were given a room right by the motorway, its so close you could nearly see the drivers in their cars! It was also very noisy of course, luckily just as i was going to leave reception called and offered us another room, thank heavens! Room was nice size, cosy! Free wifi, but tv difficult to work. Swimming pool not very warm and too shallow to swim lenghs, Jaquzi lovely and warm as were the steam room and sauna and very quiet. Dinner very good, ample portions and friendly staff. Bed comfy and with window closed could not hear traffic. Breakfast was lovely, only 1 minor minus point, no fried egg, mushrooms or black pud, but on the whole very good. Check in and out quick and professional.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weekender066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MattKnight, General Manager at Gateway to Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay however we do take onboard the negative feedback and comments and will endevour to improve on our service.

We look forward to seeing you again next time you are in the area.

Kind regards

Matt Knight
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincoln
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2011

The room was spacious and clean. The food was wonderful with generous portions, quick and friendly service and very accommodating to requests. We would stay here again without question. The hotel is on a motorway but you cannot hear the noise. Plenty of parking, Perfect access to Wales and Chester with a park and ride minutes down the road,

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LincolnClaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mold, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2011

We had our wedding reception here and were shocked by the standard which excelled everything we could of imagined, soooo highly recommended and it would be a pleasure to go back either for a meal or to stay again as all the staff were soo friendly. Thank you sooo much

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mrshough11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
9.1 mi away
Days Inn Chester East
Days Inn Chester East
#35 of 44 in Chester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Chester South
4.8 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
6.5 mi away
Premier Inn Chester Central (South East) Hotel
3.5 mi away
Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway to Wales Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway to Wales Hotel

Property: Gateway to Wales Hotel
Address: Welsh Road | Sealand, Deeside, Chester CH5 2HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Chester
#7 Family Hotel in Chester
#8 Business Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Gateway to Wales Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your quality hotel in Chester! Our unique location on the North Wales border, close proximity to Chester City Centre and the M53 / M56 motorway network means we are ideally placed to explore the local area and beyond, with Liverpool, Manchester and The Wirral in easy reach. From weddings, family celebrations, private and corporate dinners, to meetings, seminars or training events, our function rooms offer some of the most spacious and flexible conference and banqueting facilities in North Chester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Gateway to Wales Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateway To Wales Chester
Hotel Gateway To Wales
Gateway To Wales Hotel Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing