We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant venue for wedding reception”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gateway to Wales Hotel
Ranked #33 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Reviewed 1 September 2011

We got married on 27th August 2011 and booked our wedding celebration at the hotel. There is just one word we can use to describe the hotel and staff, and that is excellent.

We stayed at the hotel on the night of our wedding and other guests stayed for a couple of nights. Everyone we have spoken to has said how good the hotel was. Speaking from our experience the room we had was very clean and very comfortable. It had everything in it that we needed. The food that we had (both for our reception, evening buffet and the breakfast the following day) was absolutely delicious and the staff did brilliantly in making sure that we were looked after.

We thouroughly enjoyed our stay at the hotel and would have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone else.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stand72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MattKnight, General Manager at Gateway to Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2011

Thank you for taking the time to comment on the hotel following your recent wedding. I am delighted that your day was just how you planned it and thet we played a small part in your special day.

Many thanks

Matt Knight

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (504)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

454 - 460 of 504 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2011

Really enjoyed our stay,room was large only complaint was there wasn,t enought draw space.The food was excellent and the staff very kind and helpful a special thank you to Kate.Enjoyed the leisure facilities and the ladies really enjoyed the new experience of putting your feet into all those fish.We will definatly use this hotel again

Room Tip: A room at the rear would be better if road noise bothers you,also away from the lift and reception l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lancashire851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

This is a great hotel, rooms are lovely and clean, food is not bad BUT it is on the site of an incredibly busy and noisy road.

Our initial room was so noisy from traffic that we asked to be moved to the other side of the hotel. This was no problem because we weren't the last checking in, others later would have had to accept the noisier room.

Shame because the staff are lovely, you have nice fluffy towels that actually are bath towels.

If i saw another Days Inn I would stay in it without hesitation and if this was a buisiness trip that would be okay but not as part of a holiday.

It is also about 5-6 miles from Chester.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking scrubland not the major roads.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RealAlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MattKnight, General Manager at Gateway to Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2011

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your comment on Trip Advisor about the hotel. All feedback is always greatly appreciated and helps us to continue to improve our service and offering.
I look forward to welcoming you back to Days Hotel in the very near future.
Kind regards
Matt Knight
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

Great location, great size room, seated 65 very comfortably, only you need to use the overspill car park across the road. The best conference food I have very tasted, it was hot tasty, colourful, healthy and served by smiling staff. Spot on venue and very price concious. Thank you Days Inn, I shall be booking again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shelly33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MattKnight, General Manager at Gateway to Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2011

Thank you so much for your feedback and I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us at Days Hotel Chester North.

We hope to be of further assistance to you again in the near future.

Regards

Matt Knight
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2011

I worked closely with Matt Knight and his team to organise a charity Race Night in aid of Youth Federation. It was a fantastic night with great food and excellent entertainment and we raised over £500 for the charity.

I was so pleased with the level of service received from all staff at Days, in particular the Manager who went out of his way to ensure the night was a succsess.

Thanks to everyone at the hotel and I very much look forward to working with you in the future!

Lauren Davies
Partnerships & Fundraising Manager
Youth Federation

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren030182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MattKnight, General Manager at Gateway to Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent event. I am delighted it was a great success for the charity and that everyone enjoyed the evening. I hope that you can hold another event again with us. Matt Knight General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

13 ladies did the 'Fish Dip & Dine' package as a birthday treat. Upon booking the staff were informative and friendly, and on the day we were made to feel like valued firends rather than first time visitors. Customer experience is second to none with nothing being too much trouble, and at a fantastic price - all of us have already recommended this hotel to friends and family and can't wit to go again! Go on, spoil yourself - you'll; be delighted you did!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clappers66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MattKnight, General Manager at Gateway to Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2011

Thank you so much for spending the time to write a review on the fish, dip and dine experince that you had at the hotel recently. I am so glad that you all enjoyed yourself and I can't wait to welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards Matt Knight General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2011

Took my friend for an overnight stay as a belated celebration for her 40th birthday.
I would consider the two of us to be considerably fussy, especially in the way of cleasliness.
We both found all of the hotel very clean, the staff were all extremely pleasant and helpful, the food was of a very good portion and was delicious and the leisure suite just added to the relaxation and good value for money.
I would definately recommend this hotel to people who do not want to be right in the centre of Chester and I for 1 will definately be returning.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rallieStokeOnTrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MattKnight, General Manager at Gateway to Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2011

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we hope that you will be able to visit is again in the near future.

Kind regards

Matt Knight
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
9.1 mi away
Days Inn Chester East
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Chester South
6.8 mi away
Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
3.5 mi away
Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa
5.2 mi away
Hallmark Inn Chester
Hallmark Inn Chester
#38 of 45 in Chester
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway to Wales Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway to Wales Hotel

Address: Welsh Road | Sealand, Deeside, Chester CH5 2HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Chester
#8 Business Hotel in Chester
Price Range: £46 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gateway to Wales Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your quality hotel in Chester! Our unique location on the North Wales border, close proximity to Chester City Centre and the M53 / M56 motorway network means we are ideally placed to explore the local area and beyond, with Liverpool, Manchester and The Wirral in easy reach. From weddings, family celebrations, private and corporate dinners, to meetings, seminars or training events, our function rooms offer some of the most spacious and flexible conference and banqueting facilities in North Chester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Lastminute, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Gateway to Wales Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateway To Wales Chester
Hotel Gateway To Wales
Gateway To Wales Hotel Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing