We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gateway to Wales Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (536)
Filter reviews
536 results
Traveller rating
109
169
125
79
54
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
109
169
125
79
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdays hotelleisure clubblue planet aquariumsteam room and saunasmall poolnorth waleswell equipped gymwould stay againmain roadcheshire oakslick of paintfriendly hotelvery pleasant staystayed here for one nightdouble roomcourse mealbuffet style
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
468 - 473 of 536 reviews
Reviewed 22 January 2012

We booked this hotel on the understanding from the reception staff that it was close to local restaurants and also Chester and its places of interest.
We arrived at the Hotel, check in was no problem, told where our room was. Once we got there and opened the door, shock and disapointment were the ways to describe this room! The room was freezing, the windows had been left open and the radiator turned off!!! It is the middle of January.
Holes in the seats, the Hotel does not have Sky, as advertised it is infact Freeview. Where our room you could only get BBC1.
Turned on the heater, which was very small for the size of the room.

Bathroom was in good condiotion and very clean, except the extractor fan was very loud and there was no way of turning it off. Would not have liked to have slept in the room due to that.

After shutting both windows and closing the curtains you could still hear the road, which is understandable for saying it sits a two minute drive off the motorway!

Went to reception, to ask what our options were due to the cold, the noise and the T.v, for saying that when we booked we had asked for a quiet room, due to reading other reviews on here.
We were told to turn the heating up, we were in the quiet part of the hotel, the other side was a lot noiser and to re-tune the t.v. If we wanted to leave, then we would have to pay our 1st nights stay.

Went back upto our room (still freezing) and noticed bleach stains on the carpet on the landing to the room, the stairs were dirty on the edging and there was a terrible smell, that had made its way into the room, which made you feel sick!

Decided that we did not care about having to pay the first nights charges, we just could not stay in that hotel!

Went down to reception to inform them of this and were told that we had to speak to the manager, greated by the assistant manager, who ushered us off to the seating area.
Explained our concerns to her, who apologised for the way we felt and that they would normally have to take a payment for a nights stay.

We informed her that we were not bothered about this, that we just wanted to go as we felt physically sick, due to the smell and just wanted to leave and find a better hotel. Explained that we had read some negative reviews on Trip Advisor, but still decided to stay there. She said that you will always get negative reviews.
The shocking part, but very honest part was that she did agree with us that the hotel did smell of "dead dog" and blamed it on the river. She also stated that we were on the quiet side of the Hotel.
After a quick chat with her manager, she came back to us and informed us that we did not have to pay anything.
So we left, sat in the car, found another Hotel, Best Western/Feathers Queens Hotel - Who after finding out about our miserable and shocking 30 minutes at the Days Inn, gave us a free upgrade to the Kings suite and also free breakfast for our two days stay, this hotel was also a lot closer to Chester and all its sights.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Wanagoagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MattKnight, General Manager at Gateway to Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2012

I am sorry to read that your brief visit to wasn't as planned. I am disapointed that you were unhappy with the hotel.

I do hope that should you visit Chester again in the future, you would give us an opportunity to restire your faith in our hotel and that you would consider staying with us again.

Kind regards

Matt Knight
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2011

Stayed on business trip (2nd visit) -staff very friendly and helpful. All meals very good. Room very clean on both occasions. Gym and swimming pool free to residents. Also available (at cost) a fish pedicure!!. Plenty of car park spaces. Bus stop across road - very handy for Chester City Centre.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank warriors09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MattKnight, General Manager at Gateway to Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to read that you found our staff very friendly and helpful and that you enjoyed your food here.

I do hope you would consider using us again in the future when visiting the area.

Kind regards

Matt Knight
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2011

Very pleasant helpful staff. Not a fancy hotel but good value for money. We stayed on a d/b/b basis and fully expected to go elsewhere on the second night however after our first meal we decided that we would be happy to eat there again. Clean and comfortable, some areas (carpets) need upgrading but a great base for Chester and Cheshire Oaks.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RMA8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MattKnight, General Manager at Gateway to Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2011

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review of your recent stay with us at Days Hotel Chester North - The Gateway to Wales.

We do hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards
Matt Knight

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2011

First stay at the Days Hotel Chester North and my first stay in Chester.

Check in was very quick, nice friendly welcome from reception. Rooms are spacious for a couple. Bedroom was very clean and modern with LCD television on the wall with a few sky channels. Tea/coffee making facilities included but not much milk so we could only have one cup of tea each. The bathroom was very modern and the shower worked fine. Few minor problems with the bathroom was the cleanliness as there were hairs all over the shower head which there from a previous guests visit.

We ate at the hotel. Food tasted nice however I found it a little too expensive for what it was. Steak tasted excellent but was almost £14.00 for the cheapest option. Drinks a little expensive also but plenty of choice at the bar.

Please be aware the hotel is a short ride of about 15 mins in the car from Chester city centre.

There is an Irish pub opposite where we went for a few drinks. Was quite busy as it was a Saturday night but a nice atmosphere and drinks were cheaper than at the hotel. I am pretty sure this pub serves hot food but didn't eat here.

We visited Chester Zoo which was a great day out and I would recommend it to anyone. There are a large number of different animals and they are in large enclosures so it does not make you feel uncomfortable in terms of seeing animals 'caged up'.

We also visited Chester which is a very beautiful city. Plenty of choice for a great day out shopping.

Overall I feel the hotel is a good option in terms of value. There are a few minor problems which I feel could be sorted by the hotel, in terms of the price of food and cleanliness of the rooms.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beachbum1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MattKnight, General Manager at Gateway to Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us, I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do hope to welcome you back in the not to distant future.

Kind regards

Matt Knight
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Room was ok, could have been cleaner, found the odd hair in the bathroom ! yuck, toilet seat was broken and was missing screws to hold the cistern down. location a bit of a wild west place, so traveling out by car essential. ended up going out for food as chef had been sent to a 'meeting' ahem ! after a public barney with staff, evening had a limited boil in the bag menu cooked by the maintenance guy for an exorbitant price. Staff pleasant and welcoming. stench of dampness obviously after substantial flooding was very evident. We Had planned to hang about and swim and eat and drink but made our escape and only slept there . Very Disappointing.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmandaB364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MattKnight, General Manager at Gateway to Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2011

Thank you for your responce during your stay with us 11 months ago. I have looked into your comments and the subsequent correspondence and feel that your comments are simply a case of you seeing something else from some very innocent circumstances.

-Our Head Chef was at a meeting on the day you stayed with us, nothing at all sinister in that.
-One of our fully qualified and talented chef's has another job and has simply come into work in his uniform from his other job. Our maintenance staff would never ever cook food in our kitchen
-Our food could never, ever be discribed at 'boil in the bag' our team of award winning Chefs, headed by Flintshire Chef of the Year cook all of there dishes from scratch, we may have offered a reduced menu, but this was due to the time of year and the hotel being quieter than normal.

I am sorry that Days Hotel didn't offer everything that you were looking for, but I do hope this would not deter you from staying with us again when in the Chester / North Wales area.

Kind regards
Matt Knight
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews