We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute dump”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gateway to Wales Hotel
Ranked #33 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Reviewed 30 August 2012

The room was very basic to be fair clean (cant say the same for the corridors), however when people are mentioning a 'busy road' it is actually a 'busy motorway'. Open the curatins to see vans and lorries passing by. The hotel has no air con meaning on a warm night you have the decision of listening to heavy motorway traffic ( which you do anyway when the windows not open) or putting up and shutting up. The reception/bar staff were very unwelcoming after a meal and drink in Chester we decided to give in to the heavy rain and have a drink at the hotel however the staff refused to serve us until we had produced a room key for proof of residence despite them checking us in only hours before. The shower was noisy enough to rival the motorway. We were lucky and didnt book breakfast at the hotel or use the sauna. The review in short dont believe what you see in the pictures it is nothing like......nothing!! Oh and its nowhere near the centre at least £12.00 in a taxi each way !!

Room Tip: If you have to book there specify not next to the motorway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katie0113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MattKnight, General Manager at Gateway to Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and we welcome all feedback, I am disapointed that your stay with us was not as enjoyable as we would wish for and I apologise if this has been the case.

I do hope your experience would not deter you from stying with us again.

Kind regards

Matt Knight
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (502)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

414 - 420 of 504 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2012

we stayed here in July for 2 nights, the staff are very helpful and friendly but this doesn't make up for the location, right next to the very busy road. The room we were in was a nice standard, but no air con, and to have the window open meant enduring heavy traffic noise all night, followed by a the morning call of a bird in its nest right outside the window....we asked for a fan in the room the next day which helped keep us cool and drown out traffic noise! There's a very small pool, and unfortunately the jacuzzi wasn't working during our stay, the fish spa is worth trying, didn't eat here so cant comment on that.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sam0pc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MattKnight, General Manager at Gateway to Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and I am disapointed that the location of the hotel was not to your liking. One of our strengths as a hotel is our location with great links to the motorway network, allowing people to explore the stunning North Wales countryside and local cities such as Chester and Liverpool, but this is not for everyone.

Thank you once again for your feedback and it is very welcome.

Kind regards

Matt Knight
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We stayed here one night while with a tour group. Many in our group agreed it was the least desirable of the 9 properties we stayed in. The room and bathroom were clean and a decent size. The staff seemed to be willing to accommodate us. We had a very nice tub in the bathroom. However-- we were on the first floor facing the motorway, and, as others have noted, there was a lot of traffic noise. Even worse, a strong outside light continued to shine above our curtains all night. There was no way to shut it out. Our bed was very uncomfortable with the mattress feeling like it was stuffed with straw. Not a good night's sleep at all! In the morning we discovered that the shower in the room above ours had somehow leaked/cascaded into our bathroom and had soaked our items that were on a high shelf not directly near the shower. When we checked more closely, we could see signs that this had probably happened before. When my husband reported this to reception, she didn't seem at all surprised. As for the restaurant, breakfast was average, nothing outstanding. Our dinner was a mixed bag. The tortillini was quite good. The starter fishcakes were not. The rest was just average. So, a mediocre experience all around with a poor night's sleep.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Striggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MattKnight, General Manager at Gateway to Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2012

Thank you for your feedback, I am disapointed and surpirsed to read your comments regarding your recent stay with us as it didn't reflect the feedback we recieved fromthe rest of your group.

Your feedback is extremely valuable and will be used to improve on our service levels.

Kind regards

Matt Knight
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

The hotel was in a very good location for getting to Chester only 4 miles away on the A454 (drive down the A454 just past a texaco garage and you have a park n ride for £1.70pp, just have enough change!!) the only thing that i can complain about was that on our last day staying at the hotel was the chambermaid left our windows wide open,we were on the ground floor so you could see the problem!!!! other than that the gym was excellent and pool

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank regnurse69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MattKnight, General Manager at Gateway to Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2012

Thank you for your comment regarding the hotel and your recent stay. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and I hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Matt Knight
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

This hotel is on an industrial estate on the A494 near the A55 so the outlook is one of the industrial estate or the road!
The rooms are clean and tidy and the bathrooms are clean and modern too.
We didn't eat here.
Ok for getting to other places in the car, functional.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sexyrobsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MattKnight, General Manager at Gateway to Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and I hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Matt Knight
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012 via mobile

So the hotel is ok. Staff are good However the restaurant extremely good and can't be faulted

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bombomCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MattKnight, General Manager at Gateway to Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2012

Thank you for taking the time to reveiw the hotel on Tripadvisor, I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and especially the restaurant.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Matt Knight
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

My partner and i really enjoyed our stay at the days hotel chester north. Booked this for the location for chester and north wales which is in good proximity to both. Also the hotel has a leisure club which is rare to find for the price i paid. All staff were really friendly from all departments and very helpful. Very welcoming. The room was clean and comfortable. Our room was facing the main road which was a tiny bit noisy when the lorries go past but cant be helped. Breakfast was very nice. Overall a very comfortable stay and would recommend the hotel to anyone. It even offers free wifi in the rooms and even a fish pedicure. Not many hotels offer that!!! Thank you for a very pleasant stay,

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j_m_debono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 July 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor, I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially our Fish Pedicure.

I hope to see you again next time you are visiting Chester or North Wales.

Many thanks

Matt Knight
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
9.1 mi away
Days Inn Chester East
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Chester South
6.8 mi away
Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
3.5 mi away
Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa
5.2 mi away
Hallmark Inn Chester
Hallmark Inn Chester
#38 of 45 in Chester
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway to Wales Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway to Wales Hotel

Address: Welsh Road | Sealand, Deeside, Chester CH5 2HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Chester
#8 Business Hotel in Chester
Price Range: £46 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gateway to Wales Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your quality hotel in Chester! Our unique location on the North Wales border, close proximity to Chester City Centre and the M53 / M56 motorway network means we are ideally placed to explore the local area and beyond, with Liverpool, Manchester and The Wirral in easy reach. From weddings, family celebrations, private and corporate dinners, to meetings, seminars or training events, our function rooms offer some of the most spacious and flexible conference and banqueting facilities in North Chester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Gateway to Wales Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateway To Wales Chester
Hotel Gateway To Wales
Gateway To Wales Hotel Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing