We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Days Hotel Chester North - Gateway to Wales

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Days Hotel Chester North - Gateway to Wales
Ranked #31 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Cardiff
Level Contributor
113 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Good Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2012

Stayed in the Gateway to Wales Days Hotel for 1 night on business. First impression when I pulled up was not great, however much better once inside. The free Wi Fi worked well and the Gym and pool was a real bonus. My room was good, clean, comfy double bed and a great power shower. Food in the restaurant was very good, a bit pricey though and breakfast set me up for the day. Overall a great value enjoyable stay. One negative is the noise from the road, not bad enough to concern me on my stay, however as the room did not have air conditioning, I would imagine that rooms would be too hot in the summer, as you would not be able to open the window.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SandDCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    145
    98
    52
    33
See reviews for
114
176
8
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2012

I have stayed in many hotels in my career from 1 to 5 star and have to admit that The Days Inn Chester North must be one of the worst .

Starting off with the most obvious the presentation of the hotel comes across as dirty and well worn the carpets through the hotel are beyond explanation .

The coffee cups in the room look like somebody went to a car boot sale and grabbed the first 2 things that could hold liquid and left ,they are 2 different sizes and don't even match .That may sound trivial but it doesn't when you add everything together .

As for the biggest problem and why I am up at 3:14 am in the morning typing this letter .....

The road noise of the motorway ,it should be a warning on your website that you are next to a motorway and you can hear every single car ,van,truck and lorry that passes the hotel ,it is so loud you may if you listen carefully as I am doing now probably hear the drivers radio it is close .I have not slept at all and am livid that I have paid money for this nightmare .

I will be contacting your head office ,the first thing you see as you walk into the hotel is an excellence award from trip advisor obviously none of there staff have ever stayed here or else that would not be there .

On a positive note the only saving grace of the hotel was the food in the restaurant it was top class ,as for the rest ,I can only say it had left a bad taste in my mouth and would never stay at any Days Inn again .

The biggest disaster of all is that I am here for another night .

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ByronSusanSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chester hotels

Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

I can not rate the staff team at this hotel enough. I planned a surprise reunion for family members from all over the country - only to then find out the restaurant was closed due to a private wedding. The hotel gave me their board room - laid it out for 24 diners and space for a small choir to sing! They worked so hard to make our family event perfect. The food was excellent. The rooms very clean. Despite being rushed off their feet with wedding guests and us, all the staff remained constantly helpful and smiling. In particular my thanks to Kate and Kaylee who made us feel we were the only people in their busy world. Very recommended!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ilj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

The hotel is a little out of the way of any population but is accessable by car and has parking amenities.
The room was tidy and had all necessary items for the stay, definately a PLUS having plug sockets by the bed! Even though these were for the bedside lamps, it made a nice change to be able to charge your phone and turn your alarm off the next morning without having to get oout of the bed and find your phone!
We didnt have the breakfast or evening meal so cant comment on the food but the gym facilities were good and combined in with the cost of the room. One downside being that the noise of the traffic makes it difficult if you need to open the windows overnight!
A really good value stay overall.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngeyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MattKnight, General Manager at Days Hotel Chester North - Gateway to Wales, responded to this review, 17 September 2012
Thank you very much for your comments in relations to your recent stay. i am delighted to that you enjoyed your visit to us and i do hope that we can welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind regards

Matt Knight
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

We stayed here for three nights. i would agree it is close to main roads but it not disturb us. No air con but a fan was available for use in the room if required. We also had a problem with the camber maid leaving the windows wide open on the ground floor but asked to her to ensure they were locked in future and she did. Nice and clean. Found the room small and very limited storage space, no drawers for your smalls etc.

We were asked to pay £30 per night for our pet who would fit in a shoe box, which was a bit naughty considering they advertise no charge for pets unless cleaning is required which is far enough. However, this was very quickly resolved with the Manager.

The staff were a really nice, helpful bunch who made us very welcome and our stay really enjoyable. We rreally enjoyefd the pool and jacuzzi, which was also very clean and towels were provided. Had a pleasant stay, have recommended it and would go back.

Good road networks and close to Chester ;}

Room Tip: Ground floor may have less travel noise, the wall outside of our window may have blocked the noise w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SMM1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MattKnight, General Manager at Days Hotel Chester North - Gateway to Wales, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
Thank you for your review of the hotel and I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We value your feedback and will use it to enhance the product that we have.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Matt Knight
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

The room was very basic to be fair clean (cant say the same for the corridors), however when people are mentioning a 'busy road' it is actually a 'busy motorway'. Open the curatins to see vans and lorries passing by. The hotel has no air con meaning on a warm night you have the decision of listening to heavy motorway traffic ( which you do anyway when the windows not open) or putting up and shutting up. The reception/bar staff were very unwelcoming after a meal and drink in Chester we decided to give in to the heavy rain and have a drink at the hotel however the staff refused to serve us until we had produced a room key for proof of residence despite them checking us in only hours before. The shower was noisy enough to rival the motorway. We were lucky and didnt book breakfast at the hotel or use the sauna. The review in short dont believe what you see in the pictures it is nothing like......nothing!! Oh and its nowhere near the centre at least £12.00 in a taxi each way !!

Room Tip: If you have to book there specify not next to the motorway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katie0113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MattKnight, General Manager at Days Hotel Chester North - Gateway to Wales, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and we welcome all feedback, I am disapointed that your stay with us was not as enjoyable as we would wish for and I apologise if this has been the case.

I do hope your experience would not deter you from stying with us again.

Kind regards

Matt Knight
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage
Level Contributor
205 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

we stayed here in July for 2 nights, the staff are very helpful and friendly but this doesn't make up for the location, right next to the very busy road. The room we were in was a nice standard, but no air con, and to have the window open meant enduring heavy traffic noise all night, followed by a the morning call of a bird in its nest right outside the window....we asked for a fan in the room the next day which helped keep us cool and drown out traffic noise! There's a very small pool, and unfortunately the jacuzzi wasn't working during our stay, the fish spa is worth trying, didn't eat here so cant comment on that.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sam0pc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MattKnight, General Manager at Days Hotel Chester North - Gateway to Wales, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and I am disapointed that the location of the hotel was not to your liking. One of our strengths as a hotel is our location with great links to the motorway network, allowing people to explore the stunning North Wales countryside and local cities such as Chester and Liverpool, but this is not for everyone.

Thank you once again for your feedback and it is very welcome.

Kind regards

Matt Knight
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
9.1 mi away
Days Inn Chester East
Days Inn Chester East
#36 of 45 in Chester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Chester South
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Premier Inn Chester Central (South East) Hotel
3.6 mi away
Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa
4.8 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 45 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Hotel Chester North - Gateway to Wales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Hotel Chester North - Gateway to Wales

Property: Days Hotel Chester North - Gateway to Wales
Address: Welsh Road | Sealand, Deeside, Chester CH5 2HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Chester
#8 Business Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Days Hotel Chester North - Gateway to Wales 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your quality hotel in Chester! Our unique location on the North Wales border, close proximity to Chester City Centre and the M53 / M56 motorway network means we are ideally placed to explore the local area and beyond, with Liverpool, Manchester and The Wirral in easy reach. From weddings, family celebrations, private and corporate dinners, to meetings, seminars or training events, our function rooms offer some of the most spacious and flexible conference and banqueting facilities in North Chester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Days Hotel Chester North - Gateway to Wales reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateway To Wales Chester
Hotel Gateway To Wales
Days Hotel Chester North - Gateway To Wales Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing