We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gateway to Wales Hotel
Ranked #32 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Stayed here for a two night break with my girlfriend, got it at a great price and can't fault it.
Great location for visiting chester, lovely big rooms with great bed, really nice little leisure spa which was a real added bonus.
Didn't use the restaurant so can't comment.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grahame C, Hotel Manager at Gateway to Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

I have passed on your comments to our team and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Grahame Carrington | Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    155
    114
    68
    45
See reviews for
144
193
8
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Booked our stay as a last minute decision but have been before.

As always, the staff were very friendly and helpful, smiles all the way.

The hotel has undergone a few refurbs since we were last there. New Gym equipment, and carpets seem to have been replaced.

Buffet breakfast ..... eat as much as you like :)

We dealt with Grahame , the manager of the hotel who was very helpful, and I would like to extend a personal thanks to him. We will be coming back!!

A great location near to Chester, and located ideallyfor exploring North Wales.

Thanks Grahame for your help with the booking.

David Ashurst

Room Tip: Ask for the quiet side of the hotel, as it is near a main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grahame C, Hotel Manager at Gateway to Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
David thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

I have passed on your comments to our team and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Grahame Carrington | Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Stayed here other night with a group of my lads from the company and its a great place to stay, pool and gym are all free for guests which we thought was sound for the money!
The young lady on reception with the tattoo was a diamond, can't remember her name, did everything we asked and was very friendly. Over all don't think its half as bad as the other reviews would stay again for the customer service.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smithpl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grahame C, Hotel Manager at Gateway to Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

I have passed on your comments to our team and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Grahame Carrington | Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

There is an awful smell within the hotel.
I don't think they actually employ cleaners as I struggled to find a clean spot. Changing rooms, swimming pool, floors - all filthy. The pool actually has missing tiles and a black tide mark around the pool. I came out of the pool feeling dirty myself! As for access to the pool, they advertise all day access to the facilities, however they have swimming lessons throughout the day making the pool closed to members or hotel residents. The ladies changing room is a very poky room, no privacy, in fact they are a health and safety risk! Mothers changing their babies ON THE FLOOR due to no facilities for changing babies. I almost stood on one. A very stressful visit!
The windows in the pool area are disgusting along with grotty grids, things falling off everywhere and chewing gum around the sauna. This place used to be gorgeous years ago and has real potential, unfortunately I think the current owners must be running it into the ground. Such a shame!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ProudMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grahame C, Hotel Manager at Gateway to Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

I apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible. Feedback such as yours assists us in improving our service and services on a daily basis. In addition, please know that your comments and issues will be addressed.

Kind Regards
Grahame Carrington | Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chester hotels

Newport Isle of Wight
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

Very poor value, know it is a budget hotel but should still be clean, our room very close too motorway so constant road noise even with double glazing, also curtains too short for window so light from outside invades room. Bathroom is very poor, mould on bath tiles and floor, desperately in need of refurbishment. bed very uncomfortable and moves away from wall so pillows disappear down back, also television is way too high on wall cannot watch without getting a sore neck! Normally use Premier inns and this is nowhere near there standard. Didn't use the restaurant as a very noisy wedding was going on. Did catch local bus into chester which was well worth the visit and found nice restaurant there. Woken up in middle of night by noisy guests 3am and then again at 5am.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TraceyYeates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grahame C, Hotel Manager at Gateway to Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

I would like to express my apologise and if you would like to discuss your recent stay please do not hesitate in contacting me at the hotel.

Kind Regards
Grahame Carrington | Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flintshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

A one night stay given as a birthday gift to my husband with evening meal and breakfast.
No complaints whatsoever. We had a lovely room, a fab swimming pool with Gym free of charge. Wonderful food and we shall go again. Highly recommend this Hotel. Freely admit I am not easy to please, but I really could not fault this Hotel in anyway. We booked it by reading reviews . I hope my review will encourage others to go there. The park and ride bus stopped outside entrance every 10 mins to go into Chester which we did during the afternoon which was really nice and did not need to take the car for once.
Well done Days you deserve 5 stars
Mrs Stock

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
2 Thank Iris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grahame C, Hotel Manager at Gateway to Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Thank you Mrs Stock for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at our hotel, We look forward to welcome your back to our hotel soon.

Kindest Regards
Grahame Carrington | Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester UK
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night whilst attending a wedding party. From the excellent service from Anne-Marie at check in, a beautiful lunch and the rooms. I can't fault anything. Room was modern and clean. Free wifi throughout the hotel was a bonus. Didn't use the leisure facilities this time, but have used them before when a member at the gym, they are brilliant. The sauna and steam room are very relaxing. Only thing I would say is more parking spaces could be found somewhere.. I was lucky we arrived early and were able to have a pick of spaces, but those wedding guests arriving later to stay/or just for the evening were going around the car park looking for spaces.. Maybe they could do something with that plot of land next to the hotel?

I would definitely return again, for £46 a night, it was a bargain. I've paid more than that for a travelodge stay in September!

Anne-Marie at the reception desk/restaurant was superb. Extremely friendly and chatty (not like a robot like you can find in some hotels) but remaining professional.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TCDSTE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grahame C, Hotel Manager at Gateway to Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time in leaving a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel and We hope to welcome your back to our hotel soon.

Kindest Regards
Grahame Carrington | Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
9.1 mi away
Days Inn Chester East
Days Inn Chester East
#35 of 44 in Chester
184 reviews
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Chester South
6.8 mi away
Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
5.2 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
1,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway to Wales Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway to Wales Hotel

Property: Gateway to Wales Hotel
Address: Welsh Road | Sealand, Deeside, Chester CH5 2HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Chester
#8 Business Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Gateway to Wales Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your quality hotel in Chester! Our unique location on the North Wales border, close proximity to Chester City Centre and the M53 / M56 motorway network means we are ideally placed to explore the local area and beyond, with Liverpool, Manchester and The Wirral in easy reach. From weddings, family celebrations, private and corporate dinners, to meetings, seminars or training events, our function rooms offer some of the most spacious and flexible conference and banqueting facilities in North Chester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Gateway to Wales Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateway To Wales Chester
Hotel Gateway To Wales
Gateway To Wales Hotel Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing