We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In need of some TLC!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gateway to Wales Hotel
Ranked #31 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Kidderminster
1 review
“In need of some TLC!”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We have stayed here at least a dozen times over the last 8 years or so. Our visits usually being weekend breaks away a couple of times a year. When we first visited the hotel it was back in the day before it became days inn and was simply known as The Gateway to Wales hotel. We have always sung the praises of this place from the friendly helpful staff to lovely clean comfortable rooms, great food and best of all the leisure club.

Staff are still very friendly but I am sad to say though having just returned from a 2 day stay we will not be returning which is a real shame. I don't know what's happened whether it be management change or cut backs or quite what but we were shocked and disappointed at how a once great hotel is no more. The whole place needs a serious makeover. The sofas in the reception area are tatty and dirty, and the cushions/seats have been turned inside out, presumably as they are so grotty? The beds which were once so comfortable are now dreadful, and feel the springs digging into you. The noise from other guests slamming doors was more noticeable this time too. Finally, the leisure centre. . This used to be so lovely but it is now dirty. The floor edging around the pool is broken up and missing in parts. The jacuzzi and steam room were both out of order too. I am really sorry to say but having spent many a weekend at this hotel we won't be back, we will be finding somewhere new in the future. Shame, always loved this place. Days inn owners take note. . You need to put some money and time into brining this hotel back to what it once was.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickygth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grahame C, Hotel Manager at Gateway to Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us, In addition, please know that your comments and issues will be addressed.

Kindest Regards

Grahame Carrington | Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    152
    110
    60
    40
See reviews for
128
189
8
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rhos on Sea, North Wales
Level Contributor
100 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Stayed for one night. Doesn't look much from outside but reception and dining room look quite good and staff are excellent, especially reception. First room we were given was very poor - shabby and dirty bathroom, both bedside lights were missing, bulb in table light was not working and a freezing cold draught came in from outside through the windows even with the blind down and curtains shut. Despite knowing we were arriving the radiator in the room was off and the room was freezing cold and we had to keep coats on. But - the radiator in the bathroom was on - but broken!!! Nowhere to put clothes in any drawer, had to use bottom of the wardrobe. Needed a coat of paint and a refurb - although the walls had been painted because the paint was over the radiator. The bathroom door would not stay open and banged shut each time used.

Reception staff were good and changed the room for us and, to be fair, this room was better but still very cold and a draught coming through the windows again. The bed was incredibly hard, the hardest bed I've ever slept in and again the bathroom door would not stay open - but at least the room had its bedside lights and the radiator worked although it took until the early hours for the room to warm up.

We used the fitness centre for a swim but there was no-one there to tell us what to do. On the Fitness Centre desk was one notice asking you to take a shower before swimming and, next to it a note saying that the pool was closed because of high levels of something that shouldn't be there being detected. Could we use it or not? We swam anyway and it was very warm and comfortable but the surround of the pool had come away in places. The male changing room was very small and there were four people in when I got changed and it was overcrowded.

We decided not to eat in the restaurant for dinner or breakfast as the food seemed very ordinary and expensive, especially the breakfast.

A pity this because the last Days Inn we stayed in at Corley was great.

If you are travelling from North Wales the junction to take for the Days Hotel is not easy to notice as you only come upon the hotel once the junction has started and we missed it and had to travel to the next junction, then back to Queensferry and back

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MalcolmC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grahame C, Hotel Manager at Gateway to Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on our hotel. Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilise your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. Following your comments we have been making improvements to address all your comments.

Once again thank you for your comments and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards,
Grahame Carrington | Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chester hotels

East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Stayed here over night to use a free night from my rewards club and wanted to visit Chester after over 25years since I was last here. I did not have hight expectations but as I was visiting Liverpool I thought I would just use my free night up, what a surprise (nice) very comfortable clean hotel with a swimming pool and leisure centre , I had a look in they looked great , but I didn't get to use them as I wanted to see Chester and have time to enjoy dinner in the hotel . the staff were wonderful so friendly and helpful even obligingly having their photo taken with a stuffed monkey! ( a grandparent thing) The dinner was excellent we both had steaks and hand cooked chips which were just lovely the whole meal surpassed our expectations and the breakfast next morning did not let us down, Well done to all your lovely staff we would definitely stay here again plus free wifi (Premier Inn take note,) Thank you all.

Room Tip: Tip the staff their worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grahame C, Hotel Manager at Gateway to Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on our hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and hope to welcome your back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

I've stayed here on a number of occasions over several years with my husband as he stays here Monday to Friday throughout the majority of the year with work. I've got to say although this is a basic hotel they really do go the extra mile. We have 3 small children and they love it here, the rooms are clean, the pool is great the food is very very good and the service outstanding.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gemma w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grahame C, Hotel Manager at Gateway to Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time in leaving a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel and We hope to welcome your back to our hotel soon.

Kindest Regards
Grahame Carrington | Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Stayed here for a night with my husband and baby. It's the staff that really make this hotel- were very accommodating when we asked to change rooms due to the strong paint fumes (very nice decor though!), and when we asked to have our meals in the room owing to the little one's bedtime routine. Room was a nice size- plenty of room for a travel cot.

There were only a few niggles with our stay- and why I can't rate it a 5/5. While the bedroom has obviously been recently cleaned- there was a used razor left in the bath, and the shower head was brown so we had to clean it ourselves before using it. When my husband made a cup of tea- the cup had a crack in it and so the boiling water went everywhere- luckily the baby wasn't in her bouncer at the time!

However, overall this was a good hotel, and we would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlievamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grahame C, Hotel Manager at Gateway to Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

I would like to offer my sincere apologise for the incident with the razor & tea cup and glad you were not hurt, following on from your review all our tea cups have now been replaced, once again thank you for your feedback. All feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilise your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be.

Kind Regards
Grahame Carrington | Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Stayed here for a two night break with my girlfriend, got it at a great price and can't fault it.
Great location for visiting chester, lovely big rooms with great bed, really nice little leisure spa which was a real added bonus.
Didn't use the restaurant so can't comment.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grahame C, Hotel Manager at Gateway to Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

I have passed on your comments to our team and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Grahame Carrington | Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Booked our stay as a last minute decision but have been before.

As always, the staff were very friendly and helpful, smiles all the way.

The hotel has undergone a few refurbs since we were last there. New Gym equipment, and carpets seem to have been replaced.

Buffet breakfast ..... eat as much as you like :)

We dealt with Grahame , the manager of the hotel who was very helpful, and I would like to extend a personal thanks to him. We will be coming back!!

A great location near to Chester, and located ideallyfor exploring North Wales.

Thanks Grahame for your help with the booking.

David Ashurst

Room Tip: Ask for the quiet side of the hotel, as it is near a main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grahame C, Hotel Manager at Gateway to Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
David thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

I have passed on your comments to our team and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Grahame Carrington | Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
9.1 mi away
Days Inn Chester East
Days Inn Chester East
#36 of 44 in Chester
177 reviews
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Chester South
4.8 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 44 in Chester
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
3.5 mi away
Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway to Wales Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway to Wales Hotel

Property: Gateway to Wales Hotel
Address: Welsh Road | Sealand, Deeside, Chester CH5 2HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Chester
#8 Business Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Gateway to Wales Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your quality hotel in Chester! Our unique location on the North Wales border, close proximity to Chester City Centre and the M53 / M56 motorway network means we are ideally placed to explore the local area and beyond, with Liverpool, Manchester and The Wirral in easy reach. From weddings, family celebrations, private and corporate dinners, to meetings, seminars or training events, our function rooms offer some of the most spacious and flexible conference and banqueting facilities in North Chester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Gateway to Wales Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateway To Wales Chester
Hotel Gateway To Wales
Gateway To Wales Hotel Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing