We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disappointing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gateway to Wales Hotel
Ranked #34 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

We booked the hotel as a last minute deal, wasn't the dearest but certainly wasn't the cheapest. Upon arrival all seemed quite pleasant the rooms are average sized but very basic, the bath was dirty and still had hairs and dirt in, the tv has 5 channels, 1 is channel 4 another is channel 4+1 so really it's only 4 channels. We didn't stay in the room long before heading down the the leisure club which is free for guest. Has a decently equipped gym, steam room, sauna which was sadly out of order, a hot tub and pool which looks bigger in the pictures. Once we had spent some time we headed back to our room but their was an event on in the function room which was quite loud and could still be heard in our room as we had been placed on the same floor so the sound travelled to our room and disrupted our stay. The bed was not made properly and was very uncomfortable & very hard, so hard that I thought Danny Dyer was going to do a Britain's hardest bed episode about it! So overall it was a bad nights sleep. In conclusion I doubt I would go back and can honestly say I would not recommend it to anyone.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank CashyXx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grahame C, Hotel Manager at Gateway to Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us, i would like to apologize for the issues we where having at the time with our TV's & Sauna, please know that your these issues have now been addressed. we will continue to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future.

Kind Regards
Grahame Carrington | Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (534)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

392 - 398 of 534 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2014

Was a late booking so didn't read around however similar to previous reviews I found this hotel very dated and unclean, the bath had not been cleaned from previous guests and still had hair in, the bed was not made properly to which we needed to remake, and the bedside lamps did not work, there was a party on the day we stayed which played loud music affecting sleep. However there was a pool, jacuzzi, steam room and sauna (which was out of service) which was free to guests and the gym was a good size with several equipment. Did not eat here so unable to provide review and the location is good access to motorway and short drive for take aways and asda, overall very disappointed for the price paid and would not stay again

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rabbit55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grahame C, Hotel Manager at Gateway to Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on our hotel. Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. In addition, please know that your comments and issues will be addressed.

Kind Regards
Grahame Carrington | Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 5 days. Wasn't a bad stay all in all. Little things let it down, in need of a bit of tlc in places. The gym is very limited and how it attracts paying customers is beyond me! The gym also needs to open earlier in the morning.ok for price paid.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank james w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grahame C, Hotel Manager at Gateway to Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us & We hope to be of service to you in the future.

Kind Regards
Grahame Carrington | Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

The Days Hotel website describes this one as 'modern' but my view is that it is down-market and dated. We found it to be in urgent need of a good clean, tidy-up and extensive make-over. The large windows surrounding the swimming pool didn't seem to have been washed for quite a while and the showers and toilets were far from clean.
We didn't risk being disappointed by a poor meal and I doubt if we'll be back. All told, the reality doesn't match the website description.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grahame C, Hotel Manager at Gateway to Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us, In addition, please know that your comments and issues will be addressed. We hope to be of service to you in the future.

Kind Regards
Grahame Carrington | Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Stayed here for one night on Saturday 22nd February. Good location as we were going to Liverpool to watch a football match on the following day. Check in was quick and easy with the friendly reception staff. Didn't use the pool or gym, but would definitely recommend this hotel

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Nigel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Stayed one night and couldn't fault it ! Room was clean and bed was comfy. Use of the pool, sauna and steam room were also amazing. Only downfall was the lockers in the changing room required a padlock that they did not supply but we kept out valuables in the room and shoes and towel on a chair by the pool. Evening meal was brilliant with loads to choose from and also the self service breakfast was spot on. The only thing that let it down in my opinion was the lack of tv channels. Only had about 6 channels but wifi was free and could use my phone to watch other channels. Overall it was a pleasant stay and staff were brilliant ! Highly recommended !!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Stayed for 1 night excellent service,staff very helpful,room comfortable, Swimming pool needs some tlc. Good location for us as party was 5minute taxi drive away. Only fault i have is after being asked when checking in if we would like breakfast adding on to room and agreeing we found in morning it hadnt been n was a extra cost to price given day before!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy-bob03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Chester South
9.1 mi away
Days Inn Chester East
3.5 mi away
Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel
6.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
7 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway to Wales Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway to Wales Hotel

Address: Welsh Road | Sealand, Deeside, Chester CH5 2HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Chester
#8 Business Hotel in Chester
Price Range: £49 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gateway to Wales Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your quality hotel in Chester! Our unique location on the North Wales border, close proximity to Chester City Centre and the M53 / M56 motorway network means we are ideally placed to explore the local area and beyond, with Liverpool, Manchester and The Wirral in easy reach. From weddings, family celebrations, private and corporate dinners, to meetings, seminars or training events, our function rooms offer some of the most spacious and flexible conference and banqueting facilities in North Chester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Gateway to Wales Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateway To Wales Chester
Hotel Gateway To Wales
Gateway To Wales Hotel Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing