We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and friendly Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gateway to Wales Hotel
Ranked #34 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Rooms clean and tidy, restaurant staff very helpful, food was good although choice a bit limited. The rooms were spacious, decent shower pressure, and nice to have coffee facilities in the room. I would recommend this hotel if you are in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smunn136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (534)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

383 - 389 of 534 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

We booked this hotel for my 40th birthday and a lot of my friends and family stayed here too.

It is a lovely hotel the room was very spacious and very comfy, the staff are very friendly.

We managed to have a trip to the hot tub and pool, the leisure facilities are great.

The breakfast was fab would definitely recommend this hotel to family and friends.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chalky2373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Stayed over en route to Anglesey very easy to get to off A494. On arrival received a lovely friendly attractive receptionist Claire who was very helpful and efficient. The hotel was clean and smart and had very good leisure facilities at the guests disposal. Comfortable beds and a really good breakfast 10/10 and at a really competitive price.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCarroll471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Stayed at this hotel on a stag weekend on our first visit to Chester. Staff and service was friendly on arrival and during our stay. Rooms had wifi, TV, kettles, iron and ironing board. The cleanliness of the room was average and we actually found someone's boxers in the wardrobe that didn't belong to us. The bathroom had a bit of mould in the corners where the shower was located, but shower itself was powerful and worked fine.

Breakfast was very good and a surprise, full English and continental available.

The hotel was located a good 15minutes from Chester town centre, the cost of taxis to and from the hotel ranged between 11-20 pound. I suggest you ask them to confirm price before getting in.

Also there is a pub located adjacent this hotel called "the leprechaun" and we're were advised by the staff members and people from Chester, not to go to this pub. Something worth noting if you are in a small group or couple.

Personally I found the hotel fine for a bunch of lads on a stag doo, but I won't be taking my partner there if we visit Chester in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shaneksmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Our fourth visit to this great hotel.

As always the food is great, good quality and lots of it.

Staff- always very friendly.

The pool and gym etc are second to none and make this hotel exceptional.

Thanks Grahame, we do appreciate you help each time!

If you are thinking of booking here....DO IT!

Room Tip: Ask for room on "quiet" side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grahame C, Manager at Gateway to Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Hi David,

Thank you for your comments and look forward to welcoming you back soon..

Regards

Grahame Carrington | Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Stayed one night with my wife after a wedding reception. We were put in an executive family room with double bed and a separate room with two single beds. Very clean and no smells anywhere as some other reviewers have stated. Would certainly recommend staying there. Also, the wedding, reception and evening do were very good.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank BomberMold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grahame C, Manager at Gateway to Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on our hotel regarding your recent stay at our hotel & glad everyone had a great day.

Regards

Grahame Carrington | Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I felt compelled to write this review after reading a lot of negative experiences of the hotel on this site. Firstly, Claire on reception was wonderful - very cheerful and helpful. The room was fine - a decent shower and piping hot water. Ours faced the motorway but the noise was not excessive and we slept well - if in any doubt then take some earplugs with you - the blackout blind ensured that no light entered the room. The location is perfect as a base to explore both Chester and north Wales as it is close to the Expressway. The immediate surroundings of the hotel aren't particularly attractive (Garden City) but the Days Hotel compensates for this with a fully equipped gym and swimming pool. I found the accommodation to be good value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from the Expressway or alternatively take some earplugs as a precaution i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Markgraydon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grahame C, Manager at Gateway to Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on our hotel regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Regards

Grahame Carrington | Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Chester South
9.1 mi away
Days Inn Chester East
3.5 mi away
Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel
6.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
7 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway to Wales Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway to Wales Hotel

Address: Welsh Road | Sealand, Deeside, Chester CH5 2HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Chester
#8 Business Hotel in Chester
Price Range: £49 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gateway to Wales Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your quality hotel in Chester! Our unique location on the North Wales border, close proximity to Chester City Centre and the M53 / M56 motorway network means we are ideally placed to explore the local area and beyond, with Liverpool, Manchester and The Wirral in easy reach. From weddings, family celebrations, private and corporate dinners, to meetings, seminars or training events, our function rooms offer some of the most spacious and flexible conference and banqueting facilities in North Chester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Gateway to Wales Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateway To Wales Chester
Hotel Gateway To Wales
Gateway To Wales Hotel Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing