We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As expected, decent location, clean room, poor breakfast!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
Ranked #17 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Not my first stay in a holiday inn, so just a quick review!
Location was good, quick walk to shops and bars etc. If its the racing your after then ideal!
Room was clean and no surprises. Bed comfy, towels and sheets all clean.
Same story with the breakfast though - pretty awfull really! Come on Holiday Inn, sort it out!
greasy sausage's, watery scrambled eggs and baked beans is not a cooked breakfast where I come from! Cereal and toast was ok though!!

Fast check in, and even faster check out. No issues.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grantrs4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scoullar, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we met your expectations regarding your hotel room.

I am disappointed we did not manage to meet your expectations regarding our breakfast; The Holiday Inn Express is limited as to what we are able to offer due to brand standards. We do however like to compensate our guests with high quality products such as free range eggs, locally sourced sausages and branded baked beans.

I have noted your comments regarding the breakfast and passed this onto the chef who has assured me that the quality of the sausages and the egg will improve.

Once again I thank you for your comments and would love to be able to welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse in the future.

Kind Regards

Steven Scoullar
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,390)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,229 - 1,235 of 1,390 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2011

We stayed here last week just for the night and found the check in prompt and the room spacious, modern and clean with a flat screen tv. The hotel is on Chester race course and 2 mins walk from the centre. Had a lovely meal at Katie's Tea Room just up the road. The food was delicious so try it, especially on a Wednesday when it is 2-4-1.
The breakfast at the hotel is continental style, with a good choice to suit everybody's taste, although, I would have liked to have seen some bacon there, but there was plenty of things to suit everybody. All in all, a really good base to go into Chester and reasonable.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaxManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scoullar, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse.

I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

Your kind comments will be passed to the team and i am sure they too will be thrilled.

I am sorry we are limited to what we are able to serve due to brand standards; we would love to be able to serve a full English breakfast however this is what keeps the Holiday Inn Express brand different to the Holiday Inn brand.

I hope I am able to welcome you to the Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse in the near future.

Kind Regards

Steven Scoullar
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Walking distance to to rail station, good pubs, dinning, shopping and Cathedral. Very friendly staff. Check out is at 11 but we slept in and ask if we could stay for just one more hour, which they were fine with when we asked, and no extra charge. Felt very safe and Rooms are good size. There is vending machines as well as FREE juices, water and hot beverages (tea, hot chocolate, cappuccino etc) so you can drink all you’ll like:)

Go to the Fat Cat down the street! Very nice place to eat, and there Strawberry daiquiris are so good!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelingbug27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scoullar, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse.

I am delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us. It is always good to read our guests opinions and great to hear we are meeting them.

Once again thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you to the Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse in the future.

Kind Regards
Steven Scoullar
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

We spent an overnight here between family visits. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom clean with full soap dispensers, and the double glazing kept out all noise from the nearby railway line. We knew HIE breakfasts to be generous but were not expecting cooked sausages, scrambled eggs or baked beans, which were an added bonus. It was good to see butter and yogurt being stored in fridges and not left out on the countertop as happens in many hotels and guesthouses.

Check-in and check-out were quick and efficient. The friendliness of Lucy (H) and Emma (H) (there are currently THREE Emmas!) combined with their warm welcome, made our stay a good one.

There were two large parties of school age, one American, one Russian, staying at the same time, and whose behaviour was excellent ... the hotel being big enough to accommodate them without disturbing other guests, and able to process both groups plus individuals like ourselves at breakfast without undue delay , uncleared tables or lack of table space. Well done to the youngsters, their accompanying adults and especially the HIE front of house and breakfast teams who worked hard to make sure that everyone was treated with the same courtesy and efficiency.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alsacienne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scoullar, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for reviewing the Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse.

I am thrilled to read you enjoyed your stay. I feel it is important to read every review and use it as a learning tool to ensure that we make the changes needed whilst maintaining the things our guests love.

I am sure your positive comments will boost the team’s morale even higher. Thank you for also mentioning the staff names they will be so pleased to have been remembered. I think it is great to see our guests not only remember the hotel but also walk away with memories of our staff. Your comments will be passed on to the individuals who I am sure will also be thrilled.

Once again I am glad you enjoyed your stay and would love to welcome to the hotel again in the future. Should you require accommodation in the future please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Kind Regards

Steven Scoullar
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Spent three nights here after our long flight from the states. Very tired upon arrival, and very early for check-in, however, the very friendly lady at check in found us a good (upgraded) room. Excellent front desk attitudes. The daily breakfast was very good and filling. Room was very large and comfortable. City tour bus stopped for us right outside the front of the hotel..Parking very available. Paid in advance (pre-purchase) and got a very good price for our room. Would recommend this hotel and will return ourselves if ever we returned.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan55138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scoullar, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2011

Dear Guest

I am glad you enjoyed your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse.

Firstly may I thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

We are keen to read all reviews and use them as learning tools to enhance our guest’s stay in the future. It is a great help to receive both constructive criticism and positive comments to ensure the correct changes are made and the things people love are kept.

Should you require accommodation in the future please do not hesitate to contact me directly as I would love to be able to welcome back to the Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse.

Kind Regards

Steven Scoullar
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

I have stayed here both on a stag do and for business. It is excellent value. the rooms are basic in some senses but very nice (i had a widescreen telly). there is a late bar, self service breakfast. It also has a great position for accessing Chester.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nascot10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scoullar, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse.

I am delighted to read you love this hotel and have stayed on a number of occasions for different reasons and enjoyed your stay with us.

I am sure a lot of future guests will find your review helpful and show that the Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse can accommodate every guest's needs.

Should you require accommodation in the future please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Kind Regards
Steven Scoullar
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

We stayed here for a short break and were not disappointed. We paid £50 per night and that included a more than adequte breakfast. I know it`s not a full english, but we were more than satisfied to have sausages and scrambled egg, together with yoghurt, cereal and fruit, especially as other "budget" chains do not include this! Rooms were clean and well decorated, parking was free and plentiful, and the location is excellent! Ok, it`s not the Ritz, but for a bargain break it was more than adequate

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank march78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scoullar, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse.

I am glad to read you enjoyed your stay and breakfast we have actually recently improved our breakfast with the additions of baked beans, cheese portions and bread rolls. Unfortunately due to brand standards we are unable to offer full English breakfast unlike our sister brand Holiday Inn.

Thank you for your positive comments regarding the hotel and should you ever need accommodation in the future please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Kind Regards
Steven Scoullar
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#13 of 45 in Chester
1,795 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
0.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 45 in Chester
1,575 reviews
2.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Chester South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse

Address: The Racecourse New Crane Street, Chester CH1 2LY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Chester
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range: £50 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combine good value with a great location at Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse, the only hotel within the racecourse's grounds.Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse is a completely non smoking hotel and just 5 minutes from Chester's historic city centre, putting quaint cobbled streets and an array of shops and restaurants within walking distance. Wake up to our complimentary breakfast and enjoy discounts on dinner at the racecourse's smart Restaurant 1539. You'll also benefit from complimentary onsite parking and complimentary wireless Internet in the hotel's public areas.We're a 5-minute drive from major companies in Chester Business Park, and 15 minutes from Deeside Industrial Park. You can hold training days for up to 25 people in Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse's 2 meeting rooms. Feel free to plan your presentation in our 24-hour self-service Business Centre.We're the closest hotel to Chester Racecourse, making us an ideal choice for your day at the races. Soak up Chester's rich history with a stroll down picturesque Watergate Street where grand Georgian buildings nestle alongside fine antique shops. Explore the city's Roman walls to enjoy views over the Cheshire countryside.Ask our friendly staff about Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse's packages for discounted entry to local attractions. You can meet and mingle with friends at our bar at the end of a day's sightseeing.Please contact the hotel directly for group bookings and race day packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Chester-Racecourse Hotel Chester
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing