We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Glad it was only for one night!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
Ranked #17 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Glad it was only for one night!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

Firstly I must admit that I booked this hotel for its proximity to Chester city centre, the free parking and because i got it at a reduced rate of £45. Upon arriving at about 5pm, I was sent to a room, which hadn't been cleaned from the previous guests. There was no real apology from the reception staff, they simply said "are you sure!" And then allocated a new room. The room was clean and fit for purpose, there was some mould around the shower, but nothing too bad. Or so I thought!!! Upon getting in to bed the mattress was so worn that you literally rolled into the middle of the bed, the corners and edges actually rolled upwards as soon as I lay down. It was the most uncomfortable nights sleep I have ever had, and I usually sleep like a log. This wasn't helped by the train track that runs right by the hotel and the early deliveries and skip emptying, that all happened before 7 am. If I had of been staying another night I would have complained, however there were other people doing this when I checked out! Ok for 1 night and if you want to be walking distance from Chester.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyndsey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scoullar, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, responded to this review, 19 February 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time out to review your recent stay with us, first let me apologise for the service you received upon check in, I have taken a note of this and will be speaking to the persons involved. This is not our usual approach to helping our guests.

The hotel management have also inspected the issues raised regarding the bed and this bed has now actually been replaced. I am disappointed that this issue was raised by yourself and not our Housekeeping department and would like to thank you for bringing this to our attention.

All deliveries have been told on a number of occasions not to deliver until after 8am however this cannot always be guaranteed by the suppliers. We apologies for the inconvenience this has caused.

We rely on our guests to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs.

once again I do apologize for the poor service you recieved and hope you return to the Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse to receive the true experience we have to offer.

Kind regards

Steven Scoullar
Operations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    360
    521
    223
    68
    37
See reviews for
183
593
23
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

Stayed for just one night. Never stayed at a holiday in but thought id give it a go. Cost £85 for a double room including breakfast and free parking.

The location of the hotel is good. Just 2 minutes walk from the city centre.

The room was small but clean. Had usual things like tea and coffee (no biscuits), tv. No wardrobe though, just a small rail with no hangers. Bed was extremely uncomfortable and extremely soft sprung. Bathroom was ok but shower gel provided ran out after one shower. It was one of those refillable Dove ones that obviously hadn't been topped up.

Breakfast was interesting. Tables were dirty. Some plates were dirty. It was self service and very canteen like with plastic blue trays. There was a choice of cereals, pastries and hot food. Although billed as a 'full breakfast' there was only beans, sausage and scambled egg. All of low quality. Hot drinks and fruit juices were available - however fruit juice seemed quite watery.

Overall, it served a purpose of a reasonably cheap place for us to stay. However I think next time I'd pay the extra £20 and stay in the centre of town at one of the nicer hotels I have stayed at previously.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Manb0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scoullar, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, responded to this review, 19 February 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for taking your time out to review your recent stay with us. Please accept my apologies for the lack of shower gel in your room and poor mattress, I have made a note of this and will be speaking to housekeeping about the problems. Thank you for raising the issue to us, we value your opinions as this helps us better our services.

I am disappointed to hear breakfast was not up to standard either and will make sure that this is sorted with immediate effect. We do state on all booking sources that rates are inclusive of bed, breakfast with hot offering, car parking and wi-fi. Due to brand standards we are limited to what we can offer however all comments are sent to head office as we are keen to improve our breakfast offering to meet guests needs. Currently we offer additional things on our breakfast which are not considered brand standard and we ensure all of our products are of high quality and locally scourced.

Once again please accept my apologies and I hope this will not put you off visiting the Holiday Inn Express, Chester Racecourse again

Kind regards

Steven Scoullar
Operations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

Location of the hotel is fab but thats about as far as it goes. The room was a reasonable standard nothing special. The reason for the poor review comes down to the awful breakfast, there were a lack of tables available for the amount of people staying in the hotel. The breakfast selection was absolutely terrible, we were looking to nice full english (pretty standard in most hotels) there were beans and eggs available only!!! there wasnt even any bacon!! The cups for the coffee were dirty and there was no milk.
Free wifi?? Nope!! When I came to check out I smiled at the guy and he didn't even make to effort to smile back!
I've stayed in other holiday inns across the country and this isnt the normal standard you normally get. Very disappointing.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ExzanyLaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scoullar, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, responded to this review, 19 February 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking time out to review your recent stay here at the Holiday Inn Express, Chester Racecourse

As we are an Express hotel our brand standards limit us to what we can have on our breakfast. It does state on all our booking sources that our breakfast is continental with 3 hot offerings of sausage, scrambled eggs and beans. We have also added extra continental options to ensure there is plenty of choice for our guests to eat. I apologies about the dirty cups being put out, I have made a note of this and will be taking action with immediate effect.

We are currently under going a major refurbishment that is giving us limited seating, this is due to be completed by the end of March 2013

All our bookings come with free breakfast, car parking and free Wi:Fi. We do have some problems getting signal in a small area of our hotel that is due to be looked into in the coming month. You can also get the free Wi:Fi in our reception area.

We rely on our guests to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your comments. These are of great importance and allow us to monitor our service.

Thank you again for taking time out to review your stay and i hope this does not put you off visiting us in the near future

Kind regards

Steven Scoullar
Operations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaerwen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

I stayed here in a weekend in February for 1 night. I was staying in a family room on the second floor. It had an amazing view over Chester Racecourse. The bed and the sofa-bed were very comfortable and I had an excellent sleep. The room was cheep and Great Value for money. The breakfast was excellent and there was also an excellent choice. The staff were very polite and helpful. It was only a 5 minute walk to the city center. I would stay here again and I would recommend to anyone!

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking over the racecourse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scoullar, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time out to review your recent stay with us.

I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us and thank you for you kind comments regarding the staff and rooms, I will pass this on to the team.

I'm pleased to see you enjoyed your breakfast with us, we think it is very important to start the day with a good meal and all our breakfast items are sourced from local farms so come in nice and fresh.

Once again thank you for your review and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards

Steven Scoullar
Operations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2013

We were on the1st floor. The room was extremely clean and comfortable. Breakfast was plentiful although there did not seem to be enough tables for 2 if others take up a table for 4 you felt you couldn't really share it.
The hairdryer broke which I reported on our way out for a meal. There was a replacement there when we returned.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AprilIsleofMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scoullar, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your time with us at the Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse.

I am delighred you enjoyed your stay with us and have rated us 5 star, it is much appreciated.

We have recently undergone a £100,000 refurbishment of the bar lounge, reception and breakfast area which has added more seating and looks great. We are now able to cope with the demand for breakfast and I would love to welcome you back soon to see the new area.

Kind Regards
Steven Scoullar
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013

Staff here were great, went beyond the call of duty with a problem i had. We had a family room on the 3rd floor and was big enough for 2 adults and a baby. Car park is very good and is about 5 min walk to the centre, brillant for a night out or weekend shopping!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smp020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scoullar, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, responded to this review, 16 February 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time out to review your recent stay with us.

I am delighted to hear our staff here at the hotel went above and beyond to help you out with your problem, We think it is very important to help guest out no matter how big or small the situation maybe. I will pass on your kind comments.

We look forward to seeing you again hopefully in the near future

Kind regards

Steven Scoullar
Operations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013

We paid £40.00 for a family room which included breakfast and free hot drinks. Room was a little small and basic but clean which is more than what we expected for the money. Parking free in central Chester which is really good. Only niggle was that you could hear the wind howling in the night. I think that if you had noisy neighours in the next room you would hear it so maybee not for fri or sat night if you are on a family break. Would certainly go again worth every penny. Staff were friendly and the little one loved playing in the lobby and would recommend the fat cat up the road for food.

Room Tip: ask for a room at the back as you can see the racesourse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bangortopcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scoullar, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, responded to this review, 16 February 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking your time out to review your recent stay here at the Holiday Inn Express, Chester race course.

I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for kind comments regarding rooms and the staff. I'm sorry to hear you had problems with the window, I'll have a look in to this, there may have been a problem with an open vent.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future and once again thank you for your review

Kind regards

Steven Scoullar
operations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#11 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,557 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.2 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 45 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
0.2 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#18 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,966 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse

Property: Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
Address: The Racecourse New Crane Street, Chester CH1 2LY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Chester
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combine good value with a great location at Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse, the only hotel within the racecourse's grounds.Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse is a completely non smoking hotel and just 5 minutes from Chester's historic city centre, putting quaint cobbled streets and an array of shops and restaurants within walking distance. Wake up to our complimentary breakfast and enjoy discounts on dinner at the racecourse's smart Restaurant 1539. You'll also benefit from complimentary onsite parking and complimentary wireless Internet in the hotel's public areas.We're a 5-minute drive from major companies in Chester Business Park, and 15 minutes from Deeside Industrial Park. You can hold training days for up to 25 people in Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse's 2 meeting rooms. Feel free to plan your presentation in our 24-hour self-service Business Centre.We're the closest hotel to Chester Racecourse, making us an ideal choice for your day at the races. Soak up Chester's rich history with a stroll down picturesque Watergate Street where grand Georgian buildings nestle alongside fine antique shops. Explore the city's Roman walls to enjoy views over the Cheshire countryside.Ask our friendly staff about Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse's packages for discounted entry to local attractions. You can meet and mingle with friends at our bar at the end of a day's sightseeing.Please contact the hotel directly for group bookings and race day packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Chester-Racecourse Hotel Chester
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing