We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
Ranked #17 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Stayed at this hotel from a Friday to Monday, very good location situated on the race course, you enter car park and during the day the booth is manned, car park was large but don't know what it would be like on a race day. A quick check in and we had a double room on first floor, hotel situated in a couple of hundred yards of the city walls, and the town centre is a few minutes walk away into the centre of Chester, plenty of pubs and restaurants in walking distance.
The room itself was basic, ours overlooking the main road, but traffic noise not a issue generally clean, bathroom has shower only, no problems with water pressure or water temperature. The only off putting feature was a half eaten Panini on the outside window sill that had obviously been there a few days at least with algae growing on it, I know the windows have limiters but surely a 'duster' would have dislodged this.
Walls are a bit thin on the Saturday I was kept awake by the guests next door talking and then snoring ( and I thought that was just a man thing lol)
Breakfast consisted of a buffet cold products or hot, although this consisted of sausages, sloppy scrambled egg (like mine drier and firmer), baked beans, basic but topped up continually, breakfast can be a bit manic if everyone turns up at the same time. Endless supply of coffee/tea throughout day very good.
Good base for exploring Chester itself or surrounding areas

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobcatbobster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

Dear bobcatbobster,

Thank you for your considerate review, highlighting not only the bad but also the good points of your stay. It is lovely to hear you liked our location. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences.

Again, thank you for your time and staying with us.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,313)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

806 - 812 of 1,313 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2013

A very clean and modern hotel right next door to the racecourse. We only stayed the one night but the staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast though basic was hot (where it needed to be) with plenty of choice for those wanting continental breakfast. We found the bar in the hotel was the same price as the pubs in town. Would I recommend the Holiday Inn Express Chepstow. Yes definatly

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nichola-Tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scoullar, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear Nichola

Thank you for taking the time out to review your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express,

I'm delighted to see you enjoyed your time with us and thank you for your kind comments regarding staff and breakfast.

I'm pleased to see you would recommend our hotel to others

Thank you once again and we hope to see you again in the near future

Kind regards

Steven Scoullar
Operations manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Location is fantastic with free parking.
Hotel itself isn't bad. Room isn't big but adequate.
We were given a twin room. When we found that out after entering the room, we called the reception and were given the usual line that the hotel was full and we couldn't change it to a double room. Hotel didn't seem busy nor full to me, and carpark wasn't full either. So, not convinced.
Breakfast was basic with no bacon.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CK242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Dear CK242,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. I am pleased to know that our location suited your needs and apologize for the shortfalls you have encountered. Your review is vital for improving the service and quality we offer to our valued guest. It is always hugely motivating when one takes the time and trouble to acknowledge or give points for improvement. We hope to get the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future. Thank you once again for your valuable comment, and if you might have any suggestions that will contribute to enhancing your stay, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

This hotel is in a great location for the racecourse and the city. The rooms are comfortable and quite well equipped. The staff were all excellent giving lots of good advice as well as great service. The only problem is that it is close to a railway line and the hotel rooms are so hot (even though we stayed in October) you have to open the window. The train noise didn't bother me but if you want to keep the windows closed bring a fan to keep the room cooler. Why this hotel has to heat the rooms so much when each room has a good quality heater I cannot understand.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Britrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scoullar, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at The Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse.

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay, your kind comments will be passed onto the team who I am sure will be thrilled.

I am sorry that your stay may have been disturbed by the noice caused by the nearby rail way tracks, although this is a rarley used line I understand how this may have caused noise with the window open. We try our best to allocate rooms accordingly however when we are full this becomes difficult and every room is required.

We have also purchased a large number of fans to keep the rooms cool during the summer or for any guest who requires one as we are aware every guest has different needs.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Chester in the near future.

Kind Regards
Steven Scoullar
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

I was expecting a lot more from this stay at Chester. We were only there over night and were visiting Chester Zoo the next day.

The room was quite small and with the sofa bed down there was very little room in the room.

There were a lot of families in this night and some of the children were noisy as children are, but the walls must be paper thin because we could hear everything.

The breakfast was ok, the usual 3 hot buffet style you get at Express's.

Good parking and generally clean.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bangkokram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear Bangkokram,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding breakfast, parking and cleanliness.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the room size and the noise during your stay. We will look into this. We will address these points and I hope when you return you will see the improvements made.

Sincerely,

Your Name
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

I was pleasantly suprised by this hotel.

Centrally located, my room had a fantastic view overlooking one of the straights of Chester Racecourse.

Very clean, nothing to complain about regarding this hotel, and great value.

Ideal for race goers.

Breakfast was a bit basic, with not the full selection one may not normally expect in a Holiday Inn, but this was a Holiday Inn Express, so I should have expected it - still quite acceptable though.

Would stay here again.

Room Tip: As for a room with a view overlooking the racecourse
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy_and_Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scoullar, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review of your stay here at the Holiday Inn Express, Chester race course.

I'm please to see you enjoyed your time, thank you for your lovely comments regarding the cleanliness of the hotel. I shall pass this on to my housekeeping team, I'm sure they'll be please to see their hard work being noticed.

As an Express we are limited to certain breakfast items for brand standard but we do try and have plenty of continental options also.

Once again thank you for taking the time to review your stay and we hope to see you again in the near future

kind regards

Steven Scoullar
Operation manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

The hotel is decent for the money that you pay, the room itself is ok with a comfy bed, TV and coffee facilities. The only criticism I had with the room is it was far too warm and I woke up a few times in the night due to being hot. Also the windows need to be triple glazed as the traffic is quite loud.

The check in was quick and professional with polite staff who told you all the basics like when breakfast is etc. The hotel was situated about a 10 minute walk from Chester city centre and there was a large car park that I felt happy to leave my car in.

The Breakfast was good - sausage, egg, beans toast etc. There was also cereals, fruit and croissants. I found it an enjoyable stay and would stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the back of the hotel away from the main road and facing the racecourse itself.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scoullar, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse.

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay; your kind comments will be passed onto the staff who I am sure will be pleased.

I am glad you enjoyed your breakfast experience as you know we are limited to what we can offer due to brand standards of a Holiday Inn Express. I do however feel it is important to offer high quality items such as sausages sourced from a local butcher, fresh free range eggs and well known branded items such as Kellogg’s.

I am sorry your stay may have been disturbed by the noise from the road, I am aware that this is busy between peak times and when you return we will do our utmost to allocate you a room overlooking the race track as this is quieter.

During the summer we purchased a large number of fans to ensure the rooms remained cool and to cater for everybody’s requirement during their stay. On your return please see the reception staff who will be more than happy to assist.

Kind Regards
Steven Scoullar
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,686 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Chester South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
1,445 reviews
0.3 mi away
ABode Chester
ABode Chester
#16 of 44 in Chester
2,119 reviews
0.1 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#2 of 44 in Chester
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse

Address: The Racecourse New Crane Street, Chester CH1 2LY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Chester
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range: £56 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combine good value with a great location at Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse, the only hotel within the racecourse's grounds.Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse is a completely non smoking hotel and just 5 minutes from Chester's historic city centre, putting quaint cobbled streets and an array of shops and restaurants within walking distance. Wake up to our complimentary breakfast and enjoy discounts on dinner at the racecourse's smart Restaurant 1539. You'll also benefit from complimentary onsite parking and complimentary wireless Internet in the hotel's public areas.We're a 5-minute drive from major companies in Chester Business Park, and 15 minutes from Deeside Industrial Park. You can hold training days for up to 25 people in Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse's 2 meeting rooms. Feel free to plan your presentation in our 24-hour self-service Business Centre.We're the closest hotel to Chester Racecourse, making us an ideal choice for your day at the races. Soak up Chester's rich history with a stroll down picturesque Watergate Street where grand Georgian buildings nestle alongside fine antique shops. Explore the city's Roman walls to enjoy views over the Cheshire countryside.Ask our friendly staff about Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse's packages for discounted entry to local attractions. You can meet and mingle with friends at our bar at the end of a day's sightseeing.Please contact the hotel directly for group bookings and race day packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Chester-Racecourse Hotel Chester
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing