We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just about OK...Get what you pay for!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
Ranked #17 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Just about OK...Get what you pay for!”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Stayed for one night with hubby. Our usual place was fully booked, and at £55 a night and due to it's reviews??? and locality to the City we booked...All I can say is you get what you pay for, house keeping not brilliant, very thin walls, beware you can hear everything! Breakfast advertised as free but I'd rather of paid for something more appetizing. Spillages around the breakfast area not wiped away and dried on, sticky trays, grimy cutlery and the canteen lady complaining " You've all come down at 10:30" When it actual fact it was 10:20! and breakfast is available to 10:30. It gets an AVERAGE...purely on location and the price we paid.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jefhurry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scoullar, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse.

I am disappointed to read that you didn’t enjoy your time with us, especially as this was your first time with us.

I would be interested to hear the issues in regards to housekeeping as I would be extremely keen to pass this onto the housekeeping department to improve.

Apologies for the issues at breakfast this is not acceptable nor is it our normal standard, although it is difficult to cope with a high demand for breakfast if the majority of guests come down at the same time when fully booked, we do have a duty to ensure breakfast runs smoothly.

I am disappointed with the service you have received at breakfast, but hope you enjoyed our breakfast consisting of high quality items such as locally sourced butchered sausages, free range eggs and well know branded items such as Kellogg’s and Heinz.

I hope this hasn’t deterred you from returning to the hotel as i am keen to provide you with the true experience we have to offer.

Kind regards
Steven Scoullar
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    379
    537
    227
    70
    39
See reviews for
192
613
24
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel literally the day before we went to Chester on a impromptu break. We were very impressed with the cleanliness of the whole place, even the public areas. It was hassle free, and although there were signs up regarding a problem with the wi-fi, I didn't have a issue using it at all.
The free parking was an extra bonus as the hotel is close enough to walk into town, although maybe a sign to direct people into the racecourse car park may be a good idea, as I drove past it the first time!
We've never stayed in a Holiday Inn Express before so being told about the unlimited hot drinks were a nice surprise, after asking for extra milk for our room! We were expecting a continental breakfast only, but were very happy to see hot items on offer too.
On the second evening, we returned to our room only to find the key card was not working (an issue I put down to it being close to my phone all evening) and the receptionist sorted it straight away, even offering to come up to us on the second floor if it still didn't work!
Overall, we were impressed by our short stay here and would recommend it to anyone looking to stay in Chester, thanks!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sarkles31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scoullar, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Sarkles31

Thank you for taking the time out to review your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express, Chester Race course.

I'm delighted to see you enjoyed your time with us and thank you for all your kind comments regarding cleanliness, staff and breakfast. I shall pass this all on to our team who will be pleased to see their hard work being noticed.

Apologies about the key card, as mentioned sometimes when keeping them to close to a mobile phone or other cards can deactivate to magnetic swipe. I'm glad to staff were on hand and helpful

Once again thank you for your review and we hope to see you again in the near future

Kind regards

Steven Scoullar
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

I have stayed in this holiday inn express several times. It is located adjacent to the racecourse in the centre of Chester, only about 5 min walk to the town centre. This hotel is very well run, always clean and the staff are friendly. For the best prices avoid race days and book a few months in advance. I usually pay around £40 per room per night, which for its location and new build quality cannot be beaten in Chester. As with all Holiday inn express hotels the breakfast Is free, compared to others ive stayed in the breakfast was of decent quality, it's always basic with limited choice but great freebie. The car park is also free which is a bonus as Chester parking is expensive. The rooms are spacious with innovative use of space in the bathroom, there is a 32" LCD tv, a king size bed and a sofa bed.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adrian3694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scoullar, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse.

I am delighted you have enjoyed your stay and glad to see you have stayed so many times.

Your kind words have been passed onto the team who are thrilled and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Once again thank you for your review and for awarding the hotel and its staff five stars.

Kind Regards
Steven Scoullar
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evergem, Belgium
Level Contributor
232 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Although not a lot to make this budget option really stand out, this hotel is super-convenient for the race course and for the city centre.

The hotel is fairly modern, and the rooms are clean and of a decent size. Aside from that there not much to this place -not even a restaurant, though there are a few options at the race course just outside.

Breakfast choice was a bit limited compared to those offered by other budget chains.

However, as a one nice stop over it met my needs perfectly.

Hotel also has a nice large car park.

Room Tip: Ignore my rating for the swimming pool and restaurant as these do not exist! I cannot seem to clear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Dear Neil646,

Thank you for your comprehensive review. You have covered all aspects of your stay and I am particularly appreciative of your comments about our convenient location. It is always hugely motivating when one takes the time and trouble to acknowledge their good stay.

I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality and services we offer for to our guests.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Our first time in a Holiday Inn Express for a short break in Chester. The location is super, just a 10 minute walk into the town centre and free parking is a real bonus. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the staff friendly and helpful. The inclusive breakfast was pretty good as well. This is a hotel we will certainly use again.

Room Tip: Rooms 002 and 003 are ground floor road side and can be a little noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Halladay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scoullar, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Dear Halladay

Thank you for taking the time out to review your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express, Chester Race course.

I'm delighted to see you enjoyed your time with us and thank you for the kind comments and 4 star rating.

I'm pleased to see you enjoyed our breakfast and will be returning

We hope to see you in the near future

Kind regards

Steven Scoullar
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prestatyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

just had a lovely xmas weekend at the above what a great location for xmas shopping so near to the city and xmas market and xmas wonderland on the race course this hotel is such good value breakfast excl in room rate a free car park and free wifi some what rare theses days other hotels have so many add on's a big thank you to this hotel chain keep up the good work

Room Tip: room over looking race course
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scoullar, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Dear Tarty

Thank you for taking the time out to review your recent stay with us.

I'm delighted to see you enjoyed your time with us and had a wonderful time in our beautiful city Chester.

Thank you for your kind comments regarding staff and the 5 star rating. I shall pass this on to our team who i'm sure will be thrill to see their hard work being recognised

Thank you once again and we hope to see you again in the near future

Kind regards

Steven Scoullar
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

I went to University in Chester and my family and I have often stayed in this hotel due to its close proximity to Chester racecourse and the city center. Although I'd suggest you stay somewhere else if you want a little more luxury (The Grosvenor or Double Tree by Hilton) rates are reasonable, rooms are clean and tidy and most rates include breakfast. The hotel also has free WiFi available to all guests. This hotel offers the perfect stay if your wanting to explore Chester or go to the races.

Room Tip: Book a room on the south to get a direct view of the racecourse. Also bear in mind that getting to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chantelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scoullar, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse.

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and appreciate the 4 star rating you have issued.

I am glad you enjoyed you complimentary breakfast which is free of charge for all guests, other benefits include complimentary hot drinks throughout your stay, free wi-fi, free parking free newspapers plus many discounts at a number of local restaurants.

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards
Steven Scoullar
Operations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,598 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.1 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#26 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,029 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse

Property: Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
Address: The Racecourse New Crane Street, Chester CH1 2LY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Chester
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combine good value with a great location at Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse, the only hotel within the racecourse's grounds.Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse is a completely non smoking hotel and just 5 minutes from Chester's historic city centre, putting quaint cobbled streets and an array of shops and restaurants within walking distance. Wake up to our complimentary breakfast and enjoy discounts on dinner at the racecourse's smart Restaurant 1539. You'll also benefit from complimentary onsite parking and complimentary wireless Internet in the hotel's public areas.We're a 5-minute drive from major companies in Chester Business Park, and 15 minutes from Deeside Industrial Park. You can hold training days for up to 25 people in Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse's 2 meeting rooms. Feel free to plan your presentation in our 24-hour self-service Business Centre.We're the closest hotel to Chester Racecourse, making us an ideal choice for your day at the races. Soak up Chester's rich history with a stroll down picturesque Watergate Street where grand Georgian buildings nestle alongside fine antique shops. Explore the city's Roman walls to enjoy views over the Cheshire countryside.Ask our friendly staff about Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse's packages for discounted entry to local attractions. You can meet and mingle with friends at our bar at the end of a day's sightseeing.Please contact the hotel directly for group bookings and race day packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, IHG, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Chester-Racecourse Hotel Chester
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing