We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for money, great location to city centre and free parking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
Ranked #17 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good value for money, great location to city centre and free parking”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We stayed here for three nights, two adults and a 13 month old baby for a mini-break to take our little boy to the zoo and aquarium. Hotel is based next to the racecourse so we had a view out of the track. Free car parking which was great as it was only a 10 minute walk into the centre. Hotel was much like any other Holiday Inn Express I've stayed at, double bed, sofa bed, desk, chair, flatscreen tv and toilet/shower/sink. Tea and coffee making facilities with kettle and hairdryers in the room. Good lighting and plenty of mirrors handy for getting ready to go out. Great black-out blinds although one night we had to complain about a loud droning noise which turned out to be the hotel's heating which they kindly turned off at 10pm. Free breakfast was good but not a great selection compared with other Holiday Inn's that we've stayed at before, only scrambled eggs, sausages or beans (hot food), with the usual cereals, toast, croissaints, fruit cocktail, yoghurts that are available along with teas, coffee or apple/orange juice. The staff were very friendly and helpful although breakfast did get very busy after 10am so go early if you want a peaceful and quiet breakfast. Rooms were very comfortable although we had no hot water two out of three of the mornings, once when I called to complain they said they had to reset the boiler (at 9.30am). Also another little complaint, I had put on my booking request that I didn't want a sofabed set-up as we were bringing our own cot and needed the space, yet despite specifying this, there was a sofabed set up when we got to our room so we had to head back down to reception for another room key and back up to a new room. If you've ever travelled with a baby you'd know this isn't the easiest thing to do with lots of luggage so if like us you put this on your booking request, be sure to check when you're checking in. We had a nice stay but would probably stay elsewhere next time. Choose this hotel for value for money and location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the end (furthest away from the lift and stairs) as you'll get less noise in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annalisa_46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scoullar, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse.

I appreciate all guest reviews and I am sure many guests will find your review useful.

Firstly may I apologise for the confusion in regards to the sofa bed, I have checked your reservation and can see the third party booking agent used failed to inform us of own cot request. We therefore assumed it would require a sofa bed.

I am delighted you enjoyed your time with us and your breakfast; unfortunately we are limited to what we can offer at breakfast due to brand standards set by IHG. Unlike our sister brand the Holiday Inn we are unable to offer a full English breakfast however we do offer continental breakfast with a hot offering of scrambled eggs, sausages and baked beans. We feel it is important to offer high quality items ensuring we use well known branded items along with free range eggs, sausages sourced from a local butcher and fresh Danish pastries delivered daily.

We look forward to seeing you again soon and hope he problems experienced haven’t deterred you from returning soon.

Kind Regards
Steven Scoullar
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    370
    528
    225
    70
    37
See reviews for
190
601
24
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

Good quality, excellent value budget hotel. Breakfast better than expected. Lovely friendly hard working blond girl on reception. Unsure if the room you gave us was a free upgrade as the view was brilliant, unspoilt view of the racecourse. Will stay next time in Chester

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank hague1513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scoullar, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your time with us at the Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse.

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and appreciate the 5 star rating your have provided.

I am glad you found hotel good value for money and your kind comments will be passed on to the staff who I am sure will be thrilled.

The room provided was a standard room, we are very lucky with our location having the beautiful city of Chester on our door step, stunning views across the welsh countryside and of course being in the ground of Chester Racecourse provide great views too!

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards
Steven Scoullar
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
214 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

....oh no wait, pubes on your pillow! Ha Ha! Sorry to be so crude but it's true! We booked very last minute, a twin room. Checked in and the beds were full of someone else's hairs. Sheets looked washed though so maybe cleaners just hadn't noticed. This put me right off! After a quick de-fuzz, the rest of the room was average. Bathroom looking tatty with bits of mould and wear on taps/shower etc. The place looked tired which surprised me as it always looks quite plush from the outside. Staff were helpful enough and location ideal for city centre. For what we paid at short notice, I don't mind so much. Had I paid the crazy race day rates and got that room, I'd be furious! To reference other reviews, I heard no train noise or noise from corridors etc. Decent sleep.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scoullar, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your time with us at the Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse.

Firstly may I apologise for the levels of cleanliness in your room, although it isn’t relevant I am sure the hair had probably fell from some bodies head. This level of cleanliness is not acceptable nor is it our normal standard I can assure you I have taken the relevant action with the housekeeping department to ensure that this doesn’t happen again. If we had been made aware we would have been more than happy to replace the linen in your room.

Your comments in regards to the bathroom have been noted and our maintenance team are currently working their way round the bathrooms and rectifying these problems.

Your kind comments regarding the staff have been passed on and we hope this hasn’t deterred you from staying in the future.

Kind Regards
Steven Scoullar
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rawtenstall, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

This served its purpose for a last minute night away, it was good value for money and was in a good location in order to walk into the city. The hotel itself was a little tired, I had an awful nights sleep as the mattress was awful - really uncomfortable. When mentioned to the lady on reception she said "you must have been unlucky - we are in the process of changing all the mattresses and refurbishing upstairs". The hotel was ok - but don't think I would stay again.

Room Tip: Don't stay in 210!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David3782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

the hotel is very central an easy walk into the city, room was very clean and beds very comfortable
when we arrived we where in a room with a connecting door to another room and the people in that room where making a heck of a noise.
i went to reception and said i was not happy with the noise coming from the connecting room and emma b was so helpfull and moved us to another room.
emma b was also very helpfull with giving me directions to the station .
she was a very friendly member of staff .
the holiday inn does a great breakfast ..buffet style
lovely scrambled eggs and yummy saussages !!!!!
will stay here next time i visit chester

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scoullar, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Dear John P

Thank you for taking the time out to review your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express, Chester race course.

I'm delighted to see your enjoyed your time with us and thank you for your kind comments regarding a member of staff. I shall pass this on to Emma who I'm sure will be thrilled to read. Its always nice to see the staff's hard work being noticed.

I'm pleased to see you thought our breakfast was yummy too!

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Chester

Kind regards

Steven Scoullar
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2014

First time of staying here. Room was smart, clean and modern. Bed was a small double but adequate for a good nights sleep. Excellent location, only a quick walk into the centre. Don't be put off by the close proximity to the trainline, it is only passanger trains that pass and we hardly heard them, slept straight through. Breakfast was superb, plenty of choice and regularly topped up with hot food. Only slight niggle was staff who left us stood at reception while they were in a room behind a closed door. The barman eventually saw us and asked for us to be seen. But lovely service throughout. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scoullar, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Dear Cathrine H

Thank you for your recent review of the Holiday Inn Express, Chester race course.

I'm pleased to see you enjoyed your time with us however very disappointed to read that you was kept waiting at the desk. This is not our standards so I will have this matter sorted immediately, i'm glad to see the service throughout was good.

I'm pleased to see you enjoyed our breakfast and thank you for your overall score of 4 stars

We hope to see you again in the near future

Kind regards
Steven
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Stayed at the hotel for one night. Excellent value for money. The room was clean & good sized. Room facilities are very good. The only downside was the bed was a bit too soft, but that's down to personal taste, so others may find it ok. The staff were really helpfull ( booking taxis,travel directions etc). It's in a good location, within walking distance to the City Centre. The breakfast was excellent with a good choice of food available.
It was our first time in a Holiday Inn & I would definately stay in one again.

Room Tip: Stayed on Floor 3, Room 332 overlooking the car park with some view of the Racecourse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaddys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scoullar, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse.

I am delighted we have introduced to the Hotel in such a positive way, and appreciate your kind comments along with the five star rating.

Your kind comments will be passed onto the team who I am sure will also be thrilled.

We look forward seeing you again soon and hope you enjoy many more stays with the Holiday Inn Express hotels.

Kind Regards
Steven Scoullar
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,574 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.1 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 44 in Chester
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
0.3 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#28 of 44 in Chester
1,985 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse

Property: Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
Address: The Racecourse New Crane Street, Chester CH1 2LY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Chester
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combine good value with a great location at Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse, the only hotel within the racecourse's grounds.Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse is a completely non smoking hotel and just 5 minutes from Chester's historic city centre, putting quaint cobbled streets and an array of shops and restaurants within walking distance. Wake up to our complimentary breakfast and enjoy discounts on dinner at the racecourse's smart Restaurant 1539. You'll also benefit from complimentary onsite parking and complimentary wireless Internet in the hotel's public areas.We're a 5-minute drive from major companies in Chester Business Park, and 15 minutes from Deeside Industrial Park. You can hold training days for up to 25 people in Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse's 2 meeting rooms. Feel free to plan your presentation in our 24-hour self-service Business Centre.We're the closest hotel to Chester Racecourse, making us an ideal choice for your day at the races. Soak up Chester's rich history with a stroll down picturesque Watergate Street where grand Georgian buildings nestle alongside fine antique shops. Explore the city's Roman walls to enjoy views over the Cheshire countryside.Ask our friendly staff about Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse's packages for discounted entry to local attractions. You can meet and mingle with friends at our bar at the end of a day's sightseeing.Please contact the hotel directly for group bookings and race day packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Chester-Racecourse Hotel Chester
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing