We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday Inn Express”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
Ranked #17 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Holiday Inn Express”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

A warm and friendly welcome, the room was more than adequate with everything you need for a one night stay.Located just a short walk to the centre and convenient for other attractions.Breakfast was included which was OK .

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tef66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scoullar, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Dear Tef66

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express, Chester race course.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us and thank you for your overall rating of 4 stars.

We hope to see you again in thr near future

Kind regards

Steven
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    391
    552
    239
    74
    43
See reviews for
199
645
25
172
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at this hotel twice before & it has always been a great place to use as a base for exploring the wonderful city of Chester. Again this time it was just as good, friendly staff, excellent breakfast and clean, comfortable room. We had a larger than average room as our daughter was with us, just perfect for a nights stay. We had spent the day at Cheshire oaks shopping so it was just what we needed to rest and sleep.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scoullar, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse.

I am delighted you enjoyed your time with us and appreciate the 5 star rating provided.

It is always great to hear the opinions from our guests especially those who stay with us regularly, your kind comments will be passed onto the team who I am sure will be thrilled too.

We are very lucky with our location having a beautiful city on our door step along with Cheshire Oaks which is just five minutes drive away; I am delighted you managed to experience Chester fully.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Steven Scoullar
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
preston, Lancashire
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night to celebrate my birthday with my wife. Fantastic location and great value at £41 including breakfast! Rooms were very clean and tidy and we'll presented and we were lucky to get one overlooking the racecourse. Bar area was very modern and reasonably priced so overall very pleasing. I added on my comments when booking that the stay was for my birthday and when we arrived I had a card and bottle of wine in the room which was a lovely surprise. Thank you! All in all a very pleasant stay and no negative comments at all.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mrpne2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scoullar, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time out to review your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express, Chester race course.

I'm thrilled to read you had an enjoyable time with us and thank you for all your wonderful comments - I shall pass your lovely review on to my team.

I'm glad to see you enjoyed your birthday wine from us

Thank you for your overall score of 5 stars and we hope to see you again in the near future

Kind regards

Steven
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

I have just returned from my daughters hen weekend ,we stayed one night in this holiday inn and as we were so impressed by it I came straight home to write this ,
The staff are so friendly they will do anything for you nothing is too much trouble, the atmosphere is so relaxing you can tell the staff enjoy coming to work and you could see when they were busy and they help each other out . It is a few minutes taxi ride away from chester centre and about a ten to fifteen walk , the rooms were really clean and the beds were amazingly comfortable. Breakfast was really nice and plenty of it , tea and coffee is available all day and night free of charge. Would certainly recommend .

Room Tip: Would not recommend the ground floor there can be a lot of noise from people outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebsStaffordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scoullar, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dears Debs

Thank you for taking the time out to review your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express, Chester Race course.

I'm very pleased to see you had an enjoyable time at the hotel and thank you for all your kind comments. Its always nice to read that the staff our going out of their way to ensure guests stay are enjoyable and relaxing. I shall pass this on to our team

I would also like to thank you for your overall score of 5 stars and we hope to see you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Steven
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed on a business stop over and was very impressed with the very modern hotel . Rooms were far better than I've had on other visits .
Rooms were quite pricey though for just a small standard room .
Breakfast was very good , tv's all round to watch the news while you eat .

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Sunbelievable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scoullar, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse.

I am delighted you enjoyed your time with us and appreciate the 5 star review you have awarded us.

Your kind comments will be passed on to the team too, who I am sure will be thrilled.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards
Steven Scoullar
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
279 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Stayed here for two nights. Well located hotel only five to ten minutes walk into the shopping centre. Staff were all very pleasant and helpful. The room was clean with plenty of space. Nice soft bed and a choice of pillow comfort. Complimentary breakfast had of plenty of choice - hot food was sausages, scrambled egg and baked beans. A good selection of various pastries, cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurts and a toast machine all replenished frequently, also fruit juices, coffee and various teas. Would stay here again if we re- visit Chester.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scoullar, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your time with us, at The Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse.

I am delighted you enjoyed nights stay and your kind comments will be passed on to the team.

It is great to receive reviews to ensure we make the relevant changes whilst keeping the things our guests come to love and expect, so it great to read you enjoyed our breakfast offering.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Chester in the near future.

Kind Regards
Steven Scoullar
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

My husband and myself stayed here for one night during the week, the welcome we recived was very good the receptionist was very pleasent and helpful. Our room was on the 1st floor and was clean and spacious nice bathroom with plenty of hot water. we asked about restaurants nearby and were told of two on site which we were given a discount card for, we ate at The White Horse wich is just across the car park the food was good and the staff very friendly. There is free parking at the hotel which is a bonus and it's within walking distance of the centre about 5 mins walk. We had drinks in the bar in the evening and these were resonably priced and again great staff. With a free good breakfast and free WFI this is an excellent choice of hotel when visiting Chester.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taly7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scoullar, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review The Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse.

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and managed to experience Chester fully.

Your kind comments will be passed on to the team who I am sure will be thrilled.

I am pleased you manage to try one of our onsite restaurants; I will make sure your feedback is passed on.

Once again thank you for taking the time to review your stay and we will look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards
Steven Scoullar
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,660 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Chester South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
1,403 reviews
0.3 mi away
ABode Chester
ABode Chester
#16 of 44 in Chester
2,095 reviews
0.1 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 44 in Chester
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse

Property: Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
Address: The Racecourse New Crane Street, Chester CH1 2LY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Chester
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combine good value with a great location at Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse, the only hotel within the racecourse's grounds.Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse is a completely non smoking hotel and just 5 minutes from Chester's historic city centre, putting quaint cobbled streets and an array of shops and restaurants within walking distance. Wake up to our complimentary breakfast and enjoy discounts on dinner at the racecourse's smart Restaurant 1539. You'll also benefit from complimentary onsite parking and complimentary wireless Internet in the hotel's public areas.We're a 5-minute drive from major companies in Chester Business Park, and 15 minutes from Deeside Industrial Park. You can hold training days for up to 25 people in Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse's 2 meeting rooms. Feel free to plan your presentation in our 24-hour self-service Business Centre.We're the closest hotel to Chester Racecourse, making us an ideal choice for your day at the races. Soak up Chester's rich history with a stroll down picturesque Watergate Street where grand Georgian buildings nestle alongside fine antique shops. Explore the city's Roman walls to enjoy views over the Cheshire countryside.Ask our friendly staff about Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse's packages for discounted entry to local attractions. You can meet and mingle with friends at our bar at the end of a day's sightseeing.Please contact the hotel directly for group bookings and race day packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Chester-Racecourse Hotel Chester
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing