We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant One Night Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
Ranked #17 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This was a very pleasant one night stay. I had managed to book the wrong type of room having stated on my Priority Club reservation that there was only one guest when there was of course two. The gentleman reception kindly changed the room from a twin to a double, without a fuss. The room was clean and comfy, and it was on the road side of the hotel. This was a little noisy from about 5am with the early trains, and then the noise built up all the way until rush hour, however it wasn't intrusive. The breakfast was plentiful, and if you wanted the hot option it was hot not tepid as in some hotels. Service was excellent and all the staff were very polite and helpful.
This hotel is about a 5min walk from the city centre with all its shops and restaurants. The hotel is great if you are on a budget or a flying visit as we were. There are better hotels in Chester if you want a romantic stay, or a more comfort, however this hotel is comfy at a price and a very reasonable price too.

Room Tip: Ask for a room over looking the racecourse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HorshamLad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,393)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

794 - 800 of 1,393 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2014

It is a basic hotel however all the staff I met were really helpfull rooms are small but adequate and clean, the view over the racecourse is awesome would definitely stay again on race day you cannot get a better location in chester..

Room Tip: Ask for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank george041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma R, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear George041

Thank you for your recent review of the Holiday Inn Express, Chester race course

I'm delighted to read you enjoyed your time with us and thank you for your kind comments regarding staff.

Thank you for your over all score of 5 stars and we hope to see you again in the near future

Kind regards

Emma
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Stayed here recently for 2 nights. Nice hotel with a good buffet breakfast, hot and cold items, free tea and coffee available all day. Nice room overlooking the car park and racecourse. Everything was clean, bed very hard though. After 1st night we asked if they had a mattress topper but they said no. But they did put us duvet under the sheet and it was a lot better, slept a lot better the 2nd night. We found the hotel to be quiet, some people did bang their room doors though.

We had a meal at the White Horse restaurant on the racecourse and got 10% discount as we were staying at the hotel. The food was very nice and good service.

Hotel is in a great location, 5 minute walk into town. Would definately stay here again on our next visit to Chester.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lonny123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma R, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear Lonny

Thank you for your recent review of your stay at the Holiday Inn Express, Chester race course.

I'm please to read you had an enjoyable time with us and that you enjoyed our breakfast.

I'm sorry to read you didnt have a very comfortable nighst sleep on your first night put I am delighted to read that our staff went the extra mile to ensure your second nights stay was more comfortable for you.

Thank you for your overall score of 4 stars and we hope to see you again in the future

Kind regards

Emma
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

This hotel has a noise problem. You get the choice of noise from the train line, generator or road. You choose. I tried asking for a different room but the male receptionist was pretty off hand (needs customer service training and fast) and told me that it was a city centre hotel and to expect noise. (I've stayed in plenty of city centre hotels and not had a problem).
The design is noisy too with doors that slam loudly, a lack of soundproofing so that you can hear guests next door having normal conversations (thanks to the adjoining door)
Great location but better places to stay just as close,
Breakfast is pretty basic with only sausages, scrambled eggs and beans (as well as the usual cold stuff). Premier Inn was miles better

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the generator, train line and road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emmaLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear emmaLeeds,

Thank you for your candid review of our property. I am pleased that our location was suitable for your needs. However, I would like to apologize if the noise levels experienced were a disappointment. We take all reviews negative or positive very seriously and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Stayed overnight whilst the food and drink festival was on. Great location for that and for the short stroll into town later. Not a very personal hotel staff are very clinical but to be expected. Rooms lovely and clean. Breakfast good. Only thing was my booking said check in anytime but when i tried at 12 they told me to come back at 2pm. Nice touch with the creme eggs on the pillows for easter.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ginam84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma R, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear Gina

Thank you for taking the time out to review your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express, Chester race course.

I'm pleased to see you had an enjoyable time with us.

Please accept my apologies for the mix up with check in. Our check in time is from 2pm onwards and does state this on our website.

Thank you for your overall score of 4 stars and we hope to see you again in the near future

Kind regards

Emma
Front House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

I wanted a bed for a staff night out. This hotel certainly delivered!
Great location, Comfortable bed, Good value, Free car parking, Bar open until 2am, Free wifi! Called my taxi for me which arrived very promptly. Staff on reception where very nice.
Overall a pleasent stay. Thank you

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartinWheat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

When booking this hotel for a family get together, I took into account that it was and Express and that it was within easy walking distance of the town, On arriving we were greeted by a very nice reception staff who were very helpful, although no one told us that they had a rugby team on the premises, this is where the experience went totally out of the window, the room was adequate but nothing inside the room to signify that we were platinum priority members, no water, chocolate or anything other than what everyone had. after a pleasant walk and meal in the town, we went back for a good nights sleep, only to be woken by the Rugby players returning after their night out, they bumped, banged and slammed doors till 4am, no sleep was to be had. then the security managed to get them to quieten down, breakfast next morning was a bit of a bun fight what with the amount of people staying, but it was adequate.
Then another day sight seeing and a nice evening meal in the town, and when returning to the Hotel heard the security talking to the Rugby players asking for cooperation in behaving well, this they did, thank you Mr security man, however all the doors in the hotel have very harsh closing dampers, and banging was heard from all the doors. but a better nights sleep, The room was fine the bar was adequate, had I not been with my Brother and Sister, we would not have stayed the second night, The question is would I stay here again, well, if the door closers were fixed and if I was warned about teams of people who could be noisy etc. then possibly, but on what I experienced. no.
We were only offered a 30% reduction for the first night of our stay, which I accepted but later thinking about it, this was not in keeping with Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bigbigroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Dear Bigbigroy,

Thank you for being an IHG Rewards Club Platinum member and for leaving us a feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to help us improve our guest services.

I am disappointed to hear that your stay with us was not what you expected. I am really sorry that our staff has not provided any recognition of your Platinum status. I understand how this may have left you frustrated and I can assure you this experience is not representative of the service we expect to provide. Further, I sincerely apologize for the noise challenges you have encountered. Although we cannot account for the actions of our other guests, we can work to smooth uncomfortable situations to make all guests feel comfortable, safe, and welcomed. I have taken note of your valuable comments and rest assured, these will be used to monitor and improve the quality and services we offer to our guests.

Your patronage and support to the hotel are very important to us, as such, rest assured that your comments will be used to consider improvements. We hope that you give us another chance and allow us to redeem your faith in our products and services.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#13 of 45 in Chester
1,797 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 45 in Chester
1,583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
2.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Chester South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse

Address: The Racecourse New Crane Street, Chester CH1 2LY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Chester
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range: £51 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combine good value with a great location at Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse, the only hotel within the racecourse's grounds.Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse is a completely non smoking hotel and just 5 minutes from Chester's historic city centre, putting quaint cobbled streets and an array of shops and restaurants within walking distance. Wake up to our complimentary breakfast and enjoy discounts on dinner at the racecourse's smart Restaurant 1539. You'll also benefit from complimentary onsite parking and complimentary wireless Internet in the hotel's public areas.We're a 5-minute drive from major companies in Chester Business Park, and 15 minutes from Deeside Industrial Park. You can hold training days for up to 25 people in Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse's 2 meeting rooms. Feel free to plan your presentation in our 24-hour self-service Business Centre.We're the closest hotel to Chester Racecourse, making us an ideal choice for your day at the races. Soak up Chester's rich history with a stroll down picturesque Watergate Street where grand Georgian buildings nestle alongside fine antique shops. Explore the city's Roman walls to enjoy views over the Cheshire countryside.Ask our friendly staff about Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse's packages for discounted entry to local attractions. You can meet and mingle with friends at our bar at the end of a day's sightseeing.Please contact the hotel directly for group bookings and race day packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Chester-Racecourse Hotel Chester
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing