We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
ABode Chester(Chester)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Oddfellows(Chester)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Edgar House(Chester)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,422)
Filter reviews
1,423 results
Traveller rating
443
598
256
81
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
443
598
256
81
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrace courserailway linecity centrescrambled egg and beanswhite horserefurbished roomfree car parkbudget hotelfree breakfasthot drinksexcellent locationthird floorthe sofa bedshort walkyogurtwould stay againshort stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
816 - 821 of 1,423 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This time we only stayed one night, the room we had didn't have a very good view, just the top of 3 trees and a ware-house, we did ask for a race-course view, we didn't bother to ask to have it changed, on the Sunday there was an event going on in the Town (a charity race), the noise all thru the night was horrendous, banging of doors and people shouting, next door to us some-one had too much to drink and night security had to be called, on checking out next morning I reported this to the receptionist, he immediately summoned the Manager, she said someone else had also complained and gave us a discount and was very apologetic, breakfast very good as usual, staff very helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MAWBEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma R, night duty manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Good morning, first of all may I apologise for the noise that disturbed your sleep, i am however pleased that security staff were called and hopefully helped with the noise level. Thank you for your nice comments about breakfast and the staff I will pass this onto them, your comments are appreciated and your overall 4 star review is lovely too see, we hope we can welcome you back sometime in the near future

Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed here for three nights for a short break to chester.Good position for the town and if you are a Horse racing fan then would be fantastic.It is what it is a Budget hotel nothing fancy,Breakfast is ok but we were fed up with the same menu day in day out would have been nice to have some alternative besides Scrambled Eggs & Sausages every morning.Also avoid room 123 because of the early morning noise from the cleaners room next door and the service vans outside.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrianL250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Dear BrianL250,

Thank you choosing our hotel during your recent stay in Chester. We’re glad that our location was convenient for you and we appreciate the time you have spared to write us a review. We’re very sorry you were not 100% satisfied with our breakfast item selections. This and your concerns regarding the noise outside room 123 have been noted. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. We appreciate your feedback as this gives us an opportunity to improve our guest satisfaction. Should your future travel plans bring you back to Chester, we would love the opportunity in serving you again.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Just stayed the one night. Location convenient, easy parking. Clean but basic facilities. Breakfast in the morning was included in the price and again was okay, no complaints but on the basic side. Inclined to think it could be noisy judging by the amount of people in the bar at 1 in the morning when we arrived but it was fairly quiet the night we stayed.

Room Tip: Value for money, avoid being near lifts and maybe higher up to avoid any noise.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 55skippy95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear 55skippy95,

Thank you for your writing a review about our property. We are pleased to know about your overall satisfaction during your stay. We appreciate your nice comments about our convenient location and clean facilities. If there is anything that we can do to make your next stay with us more pleasurable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty. We look forward to serving you again.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

6 of us stayed here for the whitsun weekend,,free parking,right on racecourse,10 minute walk to town,no problem,chester great city,loads to do and see,hotel nice,clean,our room214 okay on road side,not to noisy,double bed bit on small side,bar good but you pay hotel prices,cheaper in town,eat 1st night on racecourse,good food.brekfeast good,lots of choice but no bacon or fried eggs or fred bread,loads of scrambled eggs,endless coffee and tea all day out of machine if you need it.also the sightseeing bus stops right outside hotel,that tour is very good,would go again.

Room Tip: get room overlooking racecourse
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 247fulham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

stayed here for one night to visit chester , when we booked we requested a quite room as I am a very light sleeper, was e mailed back and said our request had been granted. however the room we stayed in was next to a main road and traffic noise all night. but worse than that was idiot people who slam doors and shouting on floor 3 at 2.30am. the next day was so tired we cut our shopping trip short and went home. apart from the noise the bed was comfy, room was clean, breakfast was ok. free tea and coffee was a great idea. overall good value for money if you don't need to sleep!

Room Tip: bring earplugs and shut doors by using a handle not slaming
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank a m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear a m,

Thank you for taking the time to write a candid review about our property. It’s nice to know that you like the cleanliness of our rooms and that you enjoyed the amenities we have to offer. On the other hand, we’re sorry for the inconvenience caused by the noise challenges. All of your feedback is very important to us as this is our best resource for improvement. Should you return to Chester, we hope to have an opportunity in serving you again.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews