We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would go back again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
Ranked #17 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This hotel is very well placed for access to Chester and the surrounding attractions like Chester Oaks and the Zoo. We have stayed here before and it was better second time around. The first time the beds were really hard and breakfast was a bit chaotic but this time beds were nice and soft and they had a designated area for breakfast. The only 2 things about this hotel is when booking the hotel I had to call it directly as online it stated that we couldn't all fit in one room (2 adults and 2 children) as we had stayed there before we knew our young children (aged 5 & 2) could share the double sofa bed. The second thing was before checking out we had taken the suitcases out of the room and done a little bit of shopping before going back to our room to give it one final check over and to use the toilets before our drive home. Once I got to the room I had been told by the cleaner that they had cleaned it already and that I needed to use the toilets downstairs. I had paid for this room until I check out at 11am so I expected I could go back to the room at 10.30am and still be able to use the facilities. I thought that the cleaners would have checked with reception if we had checked out before doing the final clean to get ready for the next guests. This slightly ruined our experience of this hotel but as it is good value for money and has an excellent location I don't think it would stop us going back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FGibson2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,330)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

723 - 729 of 1,330 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

This hotels positioning is excellent, close to all the bars and shops. The rooms were clean. The bed was extremely comfortable.
The price was excellent. Can't fault this hotel for a cheap stay.
We'll definitely be back. The only downside is breakfast is only a few bits, no bacon. But for the price we payed what would you expect.
Excellent stay thank you holiday inn

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank linzicorey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma R, night duty manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Good evening Ms Corey

thank you for your recent 5 star review on trip advisor it is much appreciated. unfortunately as we are a holiday inn express we are only allowed 3 hot options on our breakfast buffet aswell as the continental selection. We have just purchased new beds for most of the rooms so its good to hear it was comfortable and you got a good sleep, again thank you for your lovely comments, we look forward to welcoming you on your next trip to chester

Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Booked here for a central location as it's a short walk into the centre! Really nice atmosphere with a divine breakfast!

Fairly cheap for a single night stay. Will be returning here in the future.

It was a tidy and spacious room with s fair sized bed.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Epicshane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

No one at Front Desk when I arrived at 18.00 on a weekday , however the door opened and I was addressed with "Are yur awright there?".
Totally unique anywhere in Holiday inn, and to be honest, somewhat off-putting..

This hotel has the potential to be in the top 5 in Chester, but it will strugle to improve from its current position with customer service like this.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HotelExpert21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma R, night duty manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Good evening,

I was very concerned when I read your review and can only appologise on this occasion that there was nobody to greet you and that the customer service you received wasn`t up to our usual standard. I will look into this matter further and speak with the staff member involved and give further training where required. Again my sincere appologies and I hope if you return to chester again you will give us another chance to show you that this isn`t the usual service that we provide

Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed the one night on a Saturday, were able to check in a little earlier, room was nice, clean and comfortable, breakfast was nice. Overall, better than we expected for a short stay budget hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon_Dawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This time we only stayed one night, the room we had didn't have a very good view, just the top of 3 trees and a ware-house, we did ask for a race-course view, we didn't bother to ask to have it changed, on the Sunday there was an event going on in the Town (a charity race), the noise all thru the night was horrendous, banging of doors and people shouting, next door to us some-one had too much to drink and night security had to be called, on checking out next morning I reported this to the receptionist, he immediately summoned the Manager, she said someone else had also complained and gave us a discount and was very apologetic, breakfast very good as usual, staff very helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MAWBEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma R, night duty manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Good morning, first of all may I apologise for the noise that disturbed your sleep, i am however pleased that security staff were called and hopefully helped with the noise level. Thank you for your nice comments about breakfast and the staff I will pass this onto them, your comments are appreciated and your overall 4 star review is lovely too see, we hope we can welcome you back sometime in the near future

Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed here for three nights for a short break to chester.Good position for the town and if you are a Horse racing fan then would be fantastic.It is what it is a Budget hotel nothing fancy,Breakfast is ok but we were fed up with the same menu day in day out would have been nice to have some alternative besides Scrambled Eggs & Sausages every morning.Also avoid room 123 because of the early morning noise from the cleaners room next door and the service vans outside.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrianL250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Dear BrianL250,

Thank you choosing our hotel during your recent stay in Chester. We’re glad that our location was convenient for you and we appreciate the time you have spared to write us a review. We’re very sorry you were not 100% satisfied with our breakfast item selections. This and your concerns regarding the noise outside room 123 have been noted. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. We appreciate your feedback as this gives us an opportunity to improve our guest satisfaction. Should your future travel plans bring you back to Chester, we would love the opportunity in serving you again.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 45 in Chester
1,703 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Chester South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 45 in Chester
1,477 reviews
0.3 mi away
ABode Chester
ABode Chester
#16 of 45 in Chester
2,135 reviews
2.2 mi away
Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse

Address: The Racecourse New Crane Street, Chester CH1 2LY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Chester
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range: £56 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combine good value with a great location at Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse, the only hotel within the racecourse's grounds.Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse is a completely non smoking hotel and just 5 minutes from Chester's historic city centre, putting quaint cobbled streets and an array of shops and restaurants within walking distance. Wake up to our complimentary breakfast and enjoy discounts on dinner at the racecourse's smart Restaurant 1539. You'll also benefit from complimentary onsite parking and complimentary wireless Internet in the hotel's public areas.We're a 5-minute drive from major companies in Chester Business Park, and 15 minutes from Deeside Industrial Park. You can hold training days for up to 25 people in Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse's 2 meeting rooms. Feel free to plan your presentation in our 24-hour self-service Business Centre.We're the closest hotel to Chester Racecourse, making us an ideal choice for your day at the races. Soak up Chester's rich history with a stroll down picturesque Watergate Street where grand Georgian buildings nestle alongside fine antique shops. Explore the city's Roman walls to enjoy views over the Cheshire countryside.Ask our friendly staff about Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse's packages for discounted entry to local attractions. You can meet and mingle with friends at our bar at the end of a day's sightseeing.Please contact the hotel directly for group bookings and race day packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Chester-Racecourse Hotel Chester
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing