We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
Ranked #17 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable and convenient”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

My partner and I stayed here for a night during the food and drink festival. The hotel is ideally situated to both the racecourse (obviously) and to the centre, with the walk talking only five minutes.

The check-in process was extremely quick and we found the room without any trouble. It was clean and comfortable and although rather basic in style, we both found it ideal for the overnight stay we had planned. We even took two trips to reception for extra milk and some glasses, with both requests undertaken immediately by the reception staff.

We both really enjoyed the breakfast, which again, was basic, but was equally satisfying (even though we were visiting the festival as we later found out)!

In summary, a 'can do' attitude hotel, located perfectly for a visit to Chester.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrSoulvache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma R, night duty manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Good evening, thank you so much for your recent review, I am very happy that staff were able to assist you when required and that we had a can do attitude. We are very lucky to have such a good location ideally situated for the town centre and that the racecourse have so many events such as the food and drink festival that guests can take part in. I will pass your comments on to the staff and im sure they will be thrilled, once again thank you for you recent review and the overall 4 star review you gave us

Emma Owens
night duty manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    382
    543
    231
    71
    40
See reviews for
192
624
24
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ox394dp
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Booked a weekend stay for the NBMA music festival only to find out that it coincided with a three day pop festival taking place on the racecourse right outside our window. This proved to be no problem as excellent double glazing cut out the noise and the concerts ended at ten p.m with no distraction from the leaving crowd. Thanks must go to the hotel two front desk staff who were extremely helpful and also a mention for the lady who collected up the breakfast trays - never without a smile.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chinnorchappie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma R, night duty manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Good evening,

Thank you for your recent review, The planning that goes into Chester Rocks also ensures a comfortable stay for all guests not just those attending the event. Im sure the staff who were in that day will be pleased that they helped you and I will pass on your thanks to them and also to our breakfast host too. Once again thank you for your overall 5 star review and we hopefully look forward to welcoming you again soon

Emma
Night duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denbigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Planning a Hen Do for a large group of hens ranging in age from 18 to 60 is not easy but booking through an agency such as Hen Heaven made it a piece of cake. Our package included an overnight stay at The Holiday Inn Express based at Chester Racecourse. Due to travelling to the venue by surprise Limo I had to organise transporting a number of large boxes containing party bags, treats and costumes the day before our stay. We were given a warm welcome by the staff when we arrived and they organised a secure room where they were happy to store all our bits and pieces the day before our stay, I was so impressed by their willingness to do whatever they could in order to make sure the bride to be and all the hens were going to have a day to remember - and this was before we were even officially booked in. The day arrived and although check in was not until 2pm we were yet again given a room to store our luggage at 10am and staff had transported the large boxes I had deposited there the day before to the same room. Check in at 2pm was swift and trouble free. Rooms were spotlessly clean and reception staff happy to supply extra milk, coffee etc as required, they pre booked us a table for lunch at The White Horse and issued us with a 10percent discount voucher, they booked us a fleet of taxis to take us to our evening venue, Revolution, and given that this was the weekend of Chester Rocks and that the city was overflowing this was no mean feat, and they were on hand to serve us drinks from the Bar when we returned to the hotel later that night. Breakfast the following morning was wonderful - buffet style, help yourself, eat as much as you wanted, just what was needed after cocktails and wine. Throughout our whole stay, the staff were genuinely happy to be able to play their part in giving our bride the best hen do ever. They were professional, cheery and went above and beyond what I would normally expect from hotel staff - their attention to us was no less than 5 star. Special mention must be given to Kirtsy, Lisa, Emma Rose and Angela. What a fab bunch of ladies and what a credit to the Holiday Inn Express chain.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwawr C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma R, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Gwawr

Thank you for taking the time out to review your recent stay with us.

I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us and glad to see that nothing was too much trouble.

Me and the girls we're very impressed with the boxes of hen do gear you dropped off and can imagine the hard work that went in to organising the trip so we were more than happy to help out where needed.

Thank you for all your lovely comments, I have passed this on to our team who was delighted to read and thank you for your overall score of 5 stars

We hope to see you again in the near future

Kind regards

Emma Rose

Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halesworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
263 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed for three nights at the end of the month and were very satisfied with what we got. A room overlooking the racecourse, quiet except when the odd goods train went by. Beds a little bit soft for us but other than that the room and the bathroom were fine and clean. Pleasant and polite staff on the reception desk: good breakfasts which were well organised with tables being kept clean and ready for use by others when finished with. Easy walk up a short hill into the centre in ten minutes.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank doversole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma R, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Doversole

Firstly let me thank you for taking the time out to review your stay here at the Holiday Inn Express, Chester Race course and for giving us an overall score of 4 stars.

I'm pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us and thank you for your kind comments regarding staff and our breakfast. I shall pass this on to the team.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future

Kind regards

Emma Rose
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shrewsbury
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

A day at the races,a few beers and a stay over at a hotel with car parking that is actually on the racecourse may seem great but you pay for this priveledge on racedays.
It is located about 5min walk from the city centre of thriving Chester pubs & shops.
Firstly the hotel on race days cost around £160/double room for 1 night stay including breakfast.£ 85 on non-racedays.
Before racing The hotel & bar was full of stag & hen parties,i suppose on race days this is again the norm.
The lobby is as the standard for holiday inns,smart & contempory.
The bar area was fine,quite spacious with an outside patio area & smoking area.
Before racing it was good sit and watch the hordes of smartly dressed racegoers with their picnics & high heels.Drinks at the bar were around £ 4.00/pint.
After racing in the evening the hotel was pretty quiet
The rooms were tidy but as usual with holiday inns quite prone to noise from other rooms & doors banging throughout the night.(Woken 2-3 times throughout the night).
The restaurant for breakfast is at the far end of the bar,a simple buffet of cereals,toast juices and sausage,scrambled eggs & beans.If you are hungry you can visit the buffet as much as you like.
We found the hotel Staff great,friendly and very efficient.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stfc_jayShrewsbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma R, Night duty manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Good evening

Thank you for your frecent review of the holiday inn express chester racecourse, first of all my appologies for you getting woke up due to the door noise, we do ask guests who are returning to their rooms late to keep the noise to a minimum and apologies that on this occasion you were disturbed. Thank you for the nice comments regarding staff I will pass this on to staff members who im sure will be happy to hear this. once again thank you for your review and for your overall 3 star rating

Emma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Spent 2 days at this hotel and was really impressed. The location is great just a short walk into the Centre. The location of the hotel was great made it so different to any hotels in the city. The outside seating area was very welcome for a wee seat in the sun after breakfast and having a coffee after we returned from the town. The tea and coffee is free for guests all day.

Very clean modern hotel everything was immaculate and the towels and bed were of 5 star quality. The breakfast was very good and the area was kept clean and tidy at all times by the staff. I have been at buffet breakfast dining rooms that have left a lot to be desired by the time some of the guests have helped themselves.

The bar area was sociable for evening drinks and it was very busy but all very agreeable.

The staff both in the hotel and on the Racecourse were all so friendly. In fact one of the guys showed us around the Restaurants on a golf buggy, just added to the holiday. It was noticeable in the hotel that all the staff we saw were working as a team, they just done what ever was needing done whether that was their main position or not and it worked like Clockwork. This hotel Manager should be very proud of all his staff.

Both Restaurants we used 1539 and The White Horse were excellent and so good to have them on your doorstep. There is a 10% discount on the total bill for hotel guests.

We had booked our break without realising it was Chester Rocks weekend and thought about cancelling as we are in our 60's. However all the activity just added to our experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank borthwickdene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma R, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Guest

Firstly let me thank you for taking the time out to review your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express, Chester race course and for your 5 star rating.

I am so thrilled to read your lovely review and want to thank you for all your kind comments, It's always a joy to read that our guests have had memorable stay with us.

I am also pleased to see that our Chester Rocks event did not put you off booking but just added to your stay.

I will pass on all your kind comments to our team and we hope to welcome you back in th near future

Kind regards

Emma Rose

Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Booked last minute for an overnight stay. Plenty of free parking adjacent to the hotel. Checked in smoothly, were allocated a twin room which was clean and tidy albeit in need of a slight modernisation(typical hotel/motel style) overlooking the racecourse.

Perfect location for the Winter Wonderland on the racecourse. Good little bar with a variety of drinks, within good walking distance of the city centre.
Breakfast was included which was nice enough. But was not impressed with the other guests reserving tables by dumping trays- no sign of them anywhere and in the end had to share the a table with another couple.

Would return again if the price was right, would recommend booking directly for a better deal.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank williams89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,610 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.1 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 44 in Chester
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Chester South
0.7 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
1,331 reviews
0.3 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#21 of 44 in Chester
2,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse

Property: Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
Address: The Racecourse New Crane Street, Chester CH1 2LY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Chester
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combine good value with a great location at Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse, the only hotel within the racecourse's grounds.Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse is a completely non smoking hotel and just 5 minutes from Chester's historic city centre, putting quaint cobbled streets and an array of shops and restaurants within walking distance. Wake up to our complimentary breakfast and enjoy discounts on dinner at the racecourse's smart Restaurant 1539. You'll also benefit from complimentary onsite parking and complimentary wireless Internet in the hotel's public areas.We're a 5-minute drive from major companies in Chester Business Park, and 15 minutes from Deeside Industrial Park. You can hold training days for up to 25 people in Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse's 2 meeting rooms. Feel free to plan your presentation in our 24-hour self-service Business Centre.We're the closest hotel to Chester Racecourse, making us an ideal choice for your day at the races. Soak up Chester's rich history with a stroll down picturesque Watergate Street where grand Georgian buildings nestle alongside fine antique shops. Explore the city's Roman walls to enjoy views over the Cheshire countryside.Ask our friendly staff about Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse's packages for discounted entry to local attractions. You can meet and mingle with friends at our bar at the end of a day's sightseeing.Please contact the hotel directly for group bookings and race day packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, IHG, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Chester-Racecourse Hotel Chester
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing