We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mini Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
Ranked #17 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed at the holiday Inn Express Chester on Sunday 6th July at the very reasonable cost of £57 for a room and breakfast (plus free parking!)
The staff were very friendlly and even though booking in was only from 2.00pm they let us park our car free of charge from 10.00am so we could attend a riverside event.
After a long day we eventually booked in at 11.30pm with no fuss and the room we were allocated was clean and spacious and as a bonus overlooked the racecourse. The beds were comfortable and as the room was at the back of the hotel traffic noise was at a minimum.
The breakfast staff were very helpful and the sausage, beans and scrambled eggs well cooked and piping hot (although I did overhear a few grumbles about there being no bacon). There was also a plentiful supply of juices, tea and coffee, cereals and croissants.
All in all we enjoyed our one night at this hotel and would recommend it to anyone looking for a reasonably priced hotel in Chester close to the city centre (5 mins walk)

Room Tip: We had room 205 at the back of the hotel that overlooked the lovely racecourse
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Bill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma R, night duty manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Good evening,

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel, first of all im so glad that the car park attendant was able to assist you and get your car parked earlier. I will pass your comments onto the breakfast staff who im sure will be thrilled, unfortunately as a holiday inn express our brand standards state that we can only have 3 hot options on our breakfast buffet, bacon is however available upon request for dietry requirements. we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your overall 4 star rating

Emma Owens
Night duty manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,313)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

681 - 687 of 1,313 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

Although this was only a one night stay, I found the staff really friendly and helpful. Clean room with all basic amenities, good choice for breakfast. Free tea and coffee available during the day.
Easy walk to centre of Chester, free parking which is a real bonus these days. Very reasonable rates!
Free wifi also an added bonus.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma R, night duty manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Good evening,

Firstly thank you for your recent review of our hotel, I will pass your comments onto the staff who im sure will be thrilled, we are so lucky to have such an amazing location in the lovely city of chester and im glad you got to see the sights. once again thanks you for your review and for our overall 4 star review we hope to see you soon

Emma Owens
night duty manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This is the second time we've stayed at this hotel. The location is fantastic, with only a few minutes walk to the town centre shops. The hotel is right on the racecourse so would be a superb place to stay after a day at the races. Parking is free and literally right outside the hotel which is a bonus. The hotel has been renovated since the last time we stayed. Rooms are fresh and a good size. Rooms overlooking the racecourse have fantastic views. Staff are friendly and welcoming. The only let down is the breakfast, which whilst edible isn't the most tastiest you will ever have. Overall I would highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the race course - fab views
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank welshchick86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma R, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Guest.

Thank you for taking the time out to review our recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express, Chester race course.

I'm thrilled to read you enjoyed your second trip with us and thank you for your kind comments about our staff.

I'm disappointed to read you didn't enjoy our breakfast - all our hot breakfast is cooked fresh on the day and bought from local butchers and farms.

Thank you for your overall score of 5 stars and we hope to see you back again for your 3rd visit soon

Kind regards
Emma
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Paid an extortionate amount for a one-night stay after the races. The one good thing was they allowed us an early check-in; everything else was pretty grim really. The room was small and stuffy, overlooking the busy road outside - the window would open a bit but due to the location, this became quite noisy. The bed was lumpy and far too soft for my liking. The bathroom could have been a lot cleaner and also had my pet hate.....a shower curtain - eugh!! Hanging space for your clothes was very limited - good job we were only there for one night.
The bar only served you drinks in plastic cups, day or night for some odd reason. Finally the breakfast was basic with a poor selection of hot - sorry, lukewarm - items. Wish I hadn't have panicked when looking for somewhere to stay on race night and looked around for something better. Will not be staying again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the racecourse - sure beats looking out onto the road !!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zany_janey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear zany_janey,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the pricing structure of the hotel prevented you from fully enjoying your visit. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

I've stayed here several times before, and they consistently deliver a friendly service, have clean & very comfortable rooms, and are brilliantly located.

The breakfasts tend to be pretty good with a variety of choices for vegetarians and even vegans (if requested in advance).

I'm looking forward to staying here again.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank TravelReviewer1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma R, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Guest

I am delighted to read that we have delivered another enjoyable stay here at the Holiday Inn Express, Chester race course and thank you for all your wonderful comments I shall pass this on to our team.

I'm pleased to see you enjoyed our breakfast and also the vegetarian options. Thank you for your overall score of 5 stars and we hope to see you back again soon

Kind regards
Emma
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Stayed in the Holiday Inn Chester Racecourse following my Sons Wedding, I had my young Grandson with me who woke very early, I took him down stairs so he did not disturb any other guests. The Staff where very good and arranged some warm milk for him and offered to make toast for him. The hotel was clean and comfortable and if you are visiting chester close to the walls, shops and the racecourse.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nan5553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma R, night duty manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you so much for your recent review of our hotel. It was an absolute pleasure to provide your grandson with his milk and some food for him. chester is such a lovely location and we are lucky to be so close to everything so our guests get to enjoy it. Once again thank you for your lovely comments and I hope you enjoyed your holiday you were heading on when you were leaving us.

kind regards
Emma Owens
Night duty manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Located next to the racecourse with easy parking. The room was clean comfortable and quiet. The staff were friendly and helpful, went out of their way to give us (2 couples) rooms near each other. We were happy with what was available for breakfast. Nothing to complain about.
The town centre is within walking distance. The wall around the city is very close and I recommend a walk around it.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Maya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,685 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Chester South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
1,445 reviews
0.3 mi away
ABode Chester
ABode Chester
#16 of 44 in Chester
2,119 reviews
0.1 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#2 of 44 in Chester
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse

Address: The Racecourse New Crane Street, Chester CH1 2LY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Chester
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range: £56 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combine good value with a great location at Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse, the only hotel within the racecourse's grounds.Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse is a completely non smoking hotel and just 5 minutes from Chester's historic city centre, putting quaint cobbled streets and an array of shops and restaurants within walking distance. Wake up to our complimentary breakfast and enjoy discounts on dinner at the racecourse's smart Restaurant 1539. You'll also benefit from complimentary onsite parking and complimentary wireless Internet in the hotel's public areas.We're a 5-minute drive from major companies in Chester Business Park, and 15 minutes from Deeside Industrial Park. You can hold training days for up to 25 people in Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse's 2 meeting rooms. Feel free to plan your presentation in our 24-hour self-service Business Centre.We're the closest hotel to Chester Racecourse, making us an ideal choice for your day at the races. Soak up Chester's rich history with a stroll down picturesque Watergate Street where grand Georgian buildings nestle alongside fine antique shops. Explore the city's Roman walls to enjoy views over the Cheshire countryside.Ask our friendly staff about Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse's packages for discounted entry to local attractions. You can meet and mingle with friends at our bar at the end of a day's sightseeing.Please contact the hotel directly for group bookings and race day packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Chester-Racecourse Hotel Chester
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing