We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, location, location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
Ranked #17 of 44 Hotels in Chester
St Neots, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Location, location, location!”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The hotel is in an ideal location within a short walk from the many attractions of the city, and immediately next to the racecourse.
Our room was larger than we expected, but lack of storage space meant we left most of our clothes in our suitcase. There's no air-conditioning but a fan was provided.
Breakfast was excellent, well-cooked and with a surprisingly good choice of hot and cold food. We didn't mind using trays and clearing away our plates after eating, and the variety of self-serve hot drinks was a plus.
Our room overlooked the racecourse and was very close to the railway line. We didn't find the noise from the trains a problem at all, but there was a building housing electrical equipment of some kind just beneath our window which we did find intrusive.
The staff were cheerful and friendly.
We look forward to staying here again - a perfect location and excellent value.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank myhusbandandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    378
    536
    227
    70
    39
See reviews for
191
612
24
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sussex
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

In good location for exploring area. few minutes walk into chester town centre the walk around the walls or the river.easy to drive over border to wales or up to the coast and river mersey. hotel rooms very clean and comfortable although not much storage space if staying for a week. rooms very hot unfortunately no air con but were supplied with a fan. breakfast serve yourself but good choice of continental not so much choice of hot food. would recommend to anyone wanting to spend a few days in the area will definately stay there again.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking racecourse
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SussexSandie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This place is perfectly adequate if you just want a base for a couple of nights. The rooms are slightly small, but this is a budget hotel chain. Breakfast was fine and it was nice to have the fresh fruit salad and yoghurt. A plus is the help-yourself tea, coffee and fruit juice available all the time. It was good to have a view of the racecourse from our room and the location so near the town centre and the ring road is ideal.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lawd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear lawd,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts and comments regarding your experience.

I am pleased to note that you were able to enjoy your stay and you were satisfied with the services and amenities that we provide. Guest comfort is of the utmost concern to us and our hotels are committed to making every possible effort to provide a comfortable environment.

Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and to ensure that any negative experience will be avoided in the future. We look forward to having the pleasure of serving you again for another enjoyable stay.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holyhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Lovely hotel,rooms basic but very comfortable over looking the race course. Large free car park with security. Only a short walk in to Chester city or a short drive to the retail park. Very little noise slept well and a help your self breakfast in the morning, would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a comfortable place to stay at a good price, will defiantly stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1953Parry61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma R, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear 1953Parry61

I am delighted to read you enjoyed yur time here at the Holiday Inn Express, Chester race course.

Thank you for all your lovely comments and your overall ratings of 5 stars

We hope to see you again in thje near future

Kind regards
Emma
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway
Level Contributor
69 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Was a little warm but at the low price wasnt expecting air con. Staff were very friendly and welcoming. Food for breakfast was standard no probs there, Rooms were very clean and well maintained. Right on racecourse.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank PazBan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma R, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear PazBan

Thank you for review your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express, Chester race course.

I'm pleased to see you enjoyed your time here and thank you for your lovely comments. I'm sorry to read you was a little warm in the room, unfortunately we do not have air conditioning however have supplied fans for the rooms to try cool them down.

Thank you for your overall score of 4 stars and we hope to see you again in the near future

Kind regards
Emma
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The room was lovely and clean it was small but had all you need ,we went a few weeks ago and it was warm weather but not as hot as recently so the fan was enough to keep us cool ,we ended up in the annexe as our first room directly overlooked the noisy machine in the racecourse and after one night I requested to move .I found the staff friendly enough the girl who changed our room for us in particular.The complimentary breakfast was ok we are vegetarian so toast and marmalade is fine for me but my son had cereal and scrambled eggs on toast . The hot drinks machine in the breakfast room is available for guests to use at all times so we didn't need to use the in room kettle we just popped downstairs to fetch our hot drinks (this would be good in winter for hot chocolate before bed) & there was also an ice machine available too so we had lovely iced drinks in our room

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the racecourse can be noisy so ask for an annexe room or one facing the road as at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jnet57uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma R, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Jnet57uk

Thank you for thanking the time out to review your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express, Chester race course.

I am delighted to read you enjoyed your time at the hotel and thank you for all your kind comments. I'm pleased to see that our receptionist was helpful in help you move room to make sure you had a comfortable stay with us. I shall pass your comments on to our team.

I'm glad to see that our breakfast was plentiful for you and your family however if you return to us we will be more than happy to supply you with a vegetarian breakfast if requested beforehand.

Thank you for your 4 star rating

Kind regards

Emma
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The rooms are small but not unreasonable for the price. The location is great and an easy walk into Chester. The breakfast was disappointing and i only ate the toast in the end and the trays make it feel like an old peoples home. The hotel was ridiculously hot as were the rooms! The staff were unfriendly and dismissive

Room Tip: ask for a cool room if staying in summer and away from the generators
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma R, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Sue M

Thank you for taking the time out to review your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express, Chester race course.

I'm disappointed to read that your stay with us wasn't very comfortable, unfortunately we do not have air conditioning in the room however have supplied each room with a large fan to try help cooling them down.

Please accept my apologies regarding staff, this is not our usual standard of service and I shall be going through the necessary training to prevent this from a rising again.


Kind regards
Emma
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,595 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.1 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#27 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,020 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse

Property: Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
Address: The Racecourse New Crane Street, Chester CH1 2LY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Chester
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combine good value with a great location at Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse, the only hotel within the racecourse's grounds.Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse is a completely non smoking hotel and just 5 minutes from Chester's historic city centre, putting quaint cobbled streets and an array of shops and restaurants within walking distance. Wake up to our complimentary breakfast and enjoy discounts on dinner at the racecourse's smart Restaurant 1539. You'll also benefit from complimentary onsite parking and complimentary wireless Internet in the hotel's public areas.We're a 5-minute drive from major companies in Chester Business Park, and 15 minutes from Deeside Industrial Park. You can hold training days for up to 25 people in Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse's 2 meeting rooms. Feel free to plan your presentation in our 24-hour self-service Business Centre.We're the closest hotel to Chester Racecourse, making us an ideal choice for your day at the races. Soak up Chester's rich history with a stroll down picturesque Watergate Street where grand Georgian buildings nestle alongside fine antique shops. Explore the city's Roman walls to enjoy views over the Cheshire countryside.Ask our friendly staff about Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse's packages for discounted entry to local attractions. You can meet and mingle with friends at our bar at the end of a day's sightseeing.Please contact the hotel directly for group bookings and race day packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Chester-Racecourse Hotel Chester
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing