We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
Nearby Hotels
US$146
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$238
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$170
US$165
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Oddfellows(Chester)
US$181
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$110
US$106
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$179
US$143
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$74
US$65
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
ABode Chester(Chester)
US$178
US$171
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,421)
Filter reviews
1,421 results
Traveller rating
443
596
256
81
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
443
596
256
81
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrace courserailway linecity centrescrambled egg and beanswhite horserefurbished roomfree car parkbudget hotelfree breakfasthot drinksexcellent locationthird floorthe sofa bedshort walkyogurtwould stay againshort stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
752 - 757 of 1,421 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2014

near by the horse racing course, close to downtown of chester, breakfast is excellent, silence, staffs are all kind, C/P is high.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brandon661216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

As part of a hen party package we were booked into the hotel and I didn't think anything of it as these hotels are often much of a muchness. However from the minute we arrived and checked in the staff couldn't have been more helpful. The receptionist was only too happy to arrange our rooms so that we were in 'our own private corridor' and the rooms were lovely, clean and spacious.
When we arrived back from a night out we were greeted by Simon the security guy who was incredibly welcomming and helpful- he even made a cup of tea for the bride to be's Mum.
The staff then informed us of a local takeaway service that they use that delivers to the hotel and that the bar was still open. For the whole weekend the staff were fantastic, friendly and keen to help in anyway they could. This made for an excellent stay and really set the visit apart from just a normal much of a muchness hotel stay. :)

Room Tip: Room 132 has a perfect view of Chester racecourse!
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Vickie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma R, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your time with us here at the Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse.

Thank you for your kind words regarding staff, we pride ourselves on our high standards of customer service and I will pass these comments onto them. I am also pleased that the staff met all your requirements. We always endeavour to meet guest requirements where possible.

Once again thank you for your recent review and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Lucy Hammond
Revenue and Sales Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

It's hard to find fault with either the hotel or staff. The hotel is located within 5 mins walk of Chester's centre, has free parking and breakfast is included in the price. The staff are extremely helpful and always did more than we expected. They helped arrange food when we arrived fairly late on the first night and allowed us to switch to adjoining rooms. If I had to suggest any improvements it would be including a fridge in the rooms but this isn't that important. The hotel does have a train line nearby so anyone with super sensitive hearing might hear the occasional train if they're in one of the rooms at the far end of the hotel. I hope this review doesn't mean the hotel is fully booked the next time I'm in Chester.

Room Tip: Rooms nearer the carpark are further from the train line
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LuckyEgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma R, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your time with us here at the Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse.

We are very lucky to be located just a five minute walk from the beautiful city of Chester.

Thank you for your kind words regarding staff, we pride ourselves on our high standards of customer service and i will pass these comments onto them.

If you give us a call prior to arrival we will ensure you are located away from the railway line.

Once again thank you for your recent review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon, I advise the sooner you book there is more chance of availability and the best rates, due to high demand and occupancy we do fill in advance.

Lucy Hammond
Revenue and Sales Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

My fiancee and I stayed here on Tuesday night after booking the room direct through Holiday Inn's own website.

Positives: we arrived at 11am and were able to check in early; the Hotel is located only 5 minutes walk from the centre of town and only 11 minutes drive to Chester Zoo so ideally located for tourists; the room was clean (asides from a small layer of dust on top of the bed's headboard light fitting and shelving unit); our bathroom's walk-in shower was a decent size; our beds were very comfortable and we were offered both soft and firm pillows; and although our room backed onto a road, the window provided decent sound insulation from traffic.

Negatives: the downstairs public areas had a very damp smell throughout the whole of our stay which was a bit off putting; the fan in our bathroom seemed to be on constantly and was a bit annoying when trying to get to sleep; the walls between rooms seem to be unbelievably thin and we could quite easily hear the tv from next door until the early hours which kept us awake for a good while too; breakfast left a lot to be desired: the 'hot' breakfast was very limited- 2 different types of ok quality sausages, lumpy scrambled eggs and baked beans; the orange juice wasn't of good quality and the apple juice was incredibly watery. The breakfast bowls hadn't been checked and although they probably had been put through a dishwasher they still had dried cereal stuck to at least 3 of the bowls before I found a clean one; the cutlery tray could do with a bit of a clean too.

Verdict: a lot of the negatives could easily be rectified with just basic cleanliness and checks by staff. Overall, we wouldn't stay here again and wouldn't recommend it to people looking for a good night's sleep followed by a good breakfast.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Josh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2014

Dear Josh C,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We certainly work very hard to ensure our guests receive the very best service we can provide each and every day. Whilst we are pleased with your positive comments with our location and your check in experience, we regret that the condition of our facilities as well as the breakfast was subpar. We are continually striving to improve the hospitality we offer and comments from our guests are always welcome.

Again, thank you for your review and we hope you do choose to give us another opportunity to make your next stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

First the good – Yes it is close to the racetrack and convenient if you’re going to the races. Yes it’s a close walk to the city centre if you’re travelling, sightseeing or shopping. Yes there is free parking, breakfast is included and the price is good. But that’s is. This hotel barely meets Premier Inn standards, and is certainly not up to Holiday Inn standards. Upon check-in to our room on the first floor their room it was incredible hot (there is no A/C). The small fan that was on the table to help cool the room was caked in dust and upon further inspection, the TV and everything else in the room was very dusty (I guess people open the windows because there is no A/C which lets dust in and the fans just blow the dust around?). Looked at the bed and there were HAIRs visible on the turned down portion of sheet which made us question if the sheets had even been changed in the room. Don’t do this often, but had to request another room. Another plus for the hotel – front desk staff was very nice/accommodating and found us another room on the third floor which while still hot, at least looked clean. I see other reviewers stating “nice clean hotel” – not sure what they’re comparing it to. Besides our rooms, we found the walking areas (room hallways, stairways, etc) also lacking attention. Hallways had lots of scuffmarks, scrapes, bangs etc. Doors had banged up frames and chipped paint – all left the impression that the hotel needs a good once-over going through to clean and freshen up.
Recommend? Overall, no. Maybe it’s not fair to judge, and having only been to Chester once can’t recommend anywhere else and don't know if this is the average standard for Chester in this price range, but while this Holiday Inn served its purpose for the brief one night stay that we had, if we were to return to Chester we’d try somewhere else.

Room Tip: Ask about room positioning. Our 3rd floor room backed directly (within a couple of hundred feet) of a rail line. Not too loud with windows closed - but remember this hotel also has no A/C
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank WhitbyRovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Dear WhitbyRovers,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments online. We appreciate you taking the time to help us improve our guest services.

I am disappointed to read that your experience was not what you expected. I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you had and for the shortfalls you have encountered. Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to deliver world-class service to our guests.

I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews