We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
£67
Breakfast included
HIExpress.com
£67
Breakfast included
Save more with IHG One Rewards
Algotels
£62
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,862)
Filter reviews
1,862 results
Traveller rating
657
737
304
104
60
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
657
737
304
104
60
Show reviews that mention
All reviews race course city centre white horse beans free car park hot drinks the breakfast area free wifi the sofa bed excellent location breakfast was included few minutes walk would stay again short stay couple of nights tea and coffee reception staff
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 1,862 reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2024

Checked in Sat 27th, Adam and Emma H were AMAZING, nothing was too much trouble, they were really chatty telling me lots of information. The young lad James on the bar that night was honestly the best. I can't say enough about these staff members, they are keepers!! Breakfast was basic but good and hot. Room was spotless, it was that good we have booked to go back in March for my birthday. Well done everyone. I have mentioned this to staff members at my Hotel too. Thank you Berni :)

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank BernieBart2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lucy Edwards, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2024

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review.

We like to look after our guests :)

All the team will be rewarded for their hard work.
We hope to see you soon.

Lucy Edwards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2024 via mobile

Small claustrophobic rooms that are either hot or cold. Beds are only doubles and probably the most uncomfortable ever. The sofa was also sofa bed. Didn’t use it to sleep on (no idea how you all fit in the room!), but as a sofa it was so uncomfortable.

Seems the hotel has attempted to refresh but has elements of it being run down. Doors with warm out paint for example.

Breakfast is worth missing. I know the selection is limited. But bacon was really cheap, sausage were hard and dry, coffee has no taste at all.

Only bonus was the car park. Which if you didn’t realise closes between 11pm and 5am.

Room tip: Car park closed between 11pm and 5am
Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank MattP_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lucy Edwards, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2024

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We do have very high metric scores, so I am surprised to read this review.

Our meat is sourced locally and fresh daily, it is definitely not cheap, we buy award winning local meat.

The car park is also open 24 hours a day.

If you would like to contact me directly, please do not hesitate.


Lucy Edwards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2024 via mobile

We haven’t stayed at a holiday inn for a long time but fancied a city break on a budget ! It did not disappoint, the staff were great the room was spotless and breakfast delicious we would definitely return , thank you for a lovely stay . Also the location is perfect ,

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Lauren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lucy Edwards, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2024

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review.

We like to look after our guests :)

All the team will be rewarded for their hard work.
We hope to see you soon.

Lucy Edwards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2024

Our friend booked us a double room, they were informed it may be a twin room, sadly it was! But they were informed so can’t complain too much.
We moved the beds around so they were together.
Room is ok, we had room 125 on the first floor, near the lifts. Walls are thin and can hear people talking.
Dove shower products which is okay.
We requested an iron, 20-25 minutes later we checked outside the door and it was there - unknown when it arrived as the door wasn’t knocked.
Tried to call reception around 00:30 hours, no answer the phone ran out - believed it was 24 hours.
Breakfast was poor - took ages to find fresh water because its handwritten on the apple and orange juice machine.
Only hot food is overcooked sausages, bacon, scary scrambled eggs and beans. No hash browns, fried eggs, tomatoes or mushrooms. Have to then put your plate on a school style tray onto the tray trolley.
Parking and WiFi are free.
You’re paying for the location, better hotels out there.

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank chughes1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lucy Edwards, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2024

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay, and please be assured i will take the relevant action.

Our breakfast is included free of charge as brand standard, unlike our sister hotel Holiday Inn who charge for for full breakfast.

We hope to see you again soon to experience the true experience we have to offer.


Lucy Edwards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2023

We stayed here last february and the hotel was just as good as it was thensecure .
Good parking, lovely room with everything you could need, plenty for breakfast,short walk to the city,we will stay again.

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank john a
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lucy Edwards, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2024

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review.

We like to look after our guests :)

All the team will be rewarded for their hard work.
We hope to see you soon.

Lucy Edwards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews