We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a find”
Review of Cotton Farm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cotton Farm
Ranked #15 of 78 Chester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 September 2013

A beautiful farm house, set in glorious countryside. Comfortable, cosy, with large bedrooms, huge bathroom (ours with a cheese maker's hoist in the corner!), fluffy bath gowns and towels. Bed was comfortable and warm, coffee/tea etc in room and a delicious breakfast with lots of choice including full English, Continental, fruit, cereals, fresh farm eggs and all you could wish for. Claire and Nigel are charming hosts and extremely helpful - Claire lent us her map to assist our travels on the first day.
Sheep were busy nibbling the sweet peas in the garden over the fence, and the whole atmosphere was perfect, welcoming and comfortable - a real find and only 4 miles from Chester.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Didydoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
There are newer reviews for Cotton Farm
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2013

Another lovely stay at Cotton farm before the fun and games of the British Touring Cars at Oluton Park. Great room, loads of space, one of the best breakfasts I know of in the B and B world and all in the most picturesk surroundings you can imagine. See you soon guys and thanks again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aqua987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We stayed for just the one night, but could have stayed forever. Cotton farm is idyllic and the peace and quiet is deafening, although it is only 4 miles from Chester it is a world away. We had the garden room and were fascinated by the variety of bird life, various, Finches swallows, a Jay and a woodpecker came in during the evening. After a great sleep in the comfy bed in a spacious room with an equally spacious and airy bathroom, it was downstairs to a truly memorable breakfast. We WILL return.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

What a wonderful place, absolutely blown away equally by the hospitality as well as the beautiful room and surroundings. We stayed in the garden room - perfectly appointed with everything you could possibly need as well as glorious garden views.
The breakfast as well was a highlight with beautiful home made bread and locally sourced everything else!
Perfectly hosted, well located within a short drive from Chester, I would highly recommend this for anyone looking for a peaceful and beautiful place to stay

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Cotton Farm was a wonderfully relaxing place to stay on the outskirts of busy Chester. Our double room was beautifully appointed with everything we needed to make our stay comfortable & memorable. Of particular note was the very comfortable bed & the delicious breakfast. Clare is an excellent hostess & we highly recommend her lovely farmhouse.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank togozo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013 via mobile

My partner and I visited cotton farm
for a relaxing break and Cotton Farm was the perfect place for this.
We stayed in the garden room which had a lovely view of the garden. The room and bathroom was very spacious and clean. The bed was extremely comfortable and also had an electric blanket which was nice as it was pretty cold in February.
The rooms have drink making facilities aswell as tea bags, hot chocolate etc. also biscuits were put in the room daily when the room was cleaned.
The hosts were lovely and very welcoming. Clare cooked a beautiful breakfast made with local produce. We opted for the Full English which I'd recommend. But if that isn't your taste there was plenty to choose from, including fruits yoghurt and cereal.

There's a folder in the room which details local places to eat, places if interest and walks around the farm. During our stay we walked to walk mill; which produces flour that's used at cotton farm to make the bread. There was a lovely cafe there and you could see the working mill. I was lucky enough to be there in lambing season so on the walk we saw lots of cute lambs :)

I cannot fault Cotton Farm and would defiantly recomend it. You get the peacefulness of the country side and yet chester centre is only 15 min drive away.

If your thinking of visiting font hesitate, book it now as you couldn't possibly be disappointed.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naomi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Cotton Farm with its warm welcome, attentive and friendly hosts, is not only outstanding but also value for money. So it was just the right calm and relaxing setting after a roller coaster day of each way bets at Chester Races and an antidote to intensive business discussions over the race card. The bedroom was extremely comfortable and spacious and the bathroom immaculate. "You can even see the stars at night," said my partner. "We rarely see them in South London." Our hosts recommended various options nearby for a wholesome evening meal and we felt spoiled for choice.

Cotton Farm is a truly unique setting - the electric blanket suggests it may be chilly in winter but who cares this was September. One nice touch was the gratis small decanter of sherry and the cheerful pillow cases. And then one thing lead to another...

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnnyMagnificent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chester
1.7 mi away
Rowton Hall Hotel
Rowton Hall Hotel
#5 of 44 in Chester
1,034 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
3.9 mi away
Willington Hall Hotel
Willington Hall Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarporley
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Chester Stone Villa
Chester Stone Villa
#2 of 78 in Chester
1,086 reviews
3.5 mi away
Chester House Guest House
4.1 mi away
Grosvenor Place Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cotton Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotton Farm

Address: Cotton Farm Platts Lane | Cotton Edmunds, Chester CH3 7PG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range: £89 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cotton Farm is a wonderful farmhouse bed and breakfast close to Chester, with gorgeous large rooms, set in peaceful countryside down a quiet lane. We have a 4-star grading from Enjoy England. Cotton Farm is just 4 miles from Chester, and easily reached by car or taxi.Cotton Farm is something of a hideaway bed and breakfast - we are one of Alistair Sawday's special places to stay. We have three spacious bedrooms, all stylishly decorated and comfortably furnished. The gardens are in the classic English style, with resident hens and greater spotted woodpecker.The Guest Bedrooms are in the original part of the farmhouse, which is at one end of the building - making them very quiet and rather self-contained.The fields around the farm are full of wildlife, and there are riverside walks through wildflower meadows over ancient packhorse bridges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Cotton Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotton Farm Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing