We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Full of Cobwebs and Clutter!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chester
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Frogg Manor Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #35 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Full of Cobwebs and Clutter!”
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We went here to celerate our first wedding anniversary and were quite disappointed,
Having been bought a voucher for 'gourmet dining' we decided to treat ourselves to a night in the overpriced hotel also.
Expected something very posh but ended up going to the local ASDA to purchase some more casual clothes to those we had taken with us in preparation for our evening meal.
The website is very decieving. The grounds are all overgrown, everywhere inside is cluttered and dusty.
The owners, although clearly mad, were friendly enough although I did not feel that the service we recieved in both the hotel and restaurant was inkeeping with the price tag.
If you've got some money to waste I would recommend you go here with an open mind and have a giggle at all the eccentricities, otherwise give it a miss.

Room Tip: Do not pay extra for a larger room, they are equally as cluttered and unclean. The bed was perfectly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    15
    6
    8
    24
See reviews for
11
60
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hawarden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

What can I say about this place !
I have read the negative reports on here and I would stress to anyone going, just have a open mind, chill out, and enjoy the charm of the place.
The owner/chef is very talented and please don't be offended by him.
When we arrived (approx 10 mins early) the owner greeted us with " you are that early I haven't even peeled the veg yet"
The food by the way was amazing and my wife fell in love with Bubbles the dog.
To the staff - thankyou very very much for a great night and we will return time and time again.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lovefood m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 September 2011

We have just had the pleasure of visiting Frogg Manor again. We stayed in The Mountbatten room, different to last time. Very nice, clean and extremely comfortable. The relaxed atmosphere is what makes Frogg Manor what it is...you are completely away from normal life, something I think people are failing to understand... You either "get it" or you dont. Fortunately we completely get it!!!! Our meals were to die for... smoked salmon in a filo parcel, unique and absolutely delicious... Long John steak, cooked to perfection(of course) ending with bread and butter pudding(signature dish) My partner opted for the other signature dish of garlic mushrooms to start... followed by steak and bread and butter also. Our waitress/barmaid/front of house lady was very knowledgable and down to earth. Our courses came as we requested and cooked and served as described by her. Later in the evening she introduced us to Mr Sykes, whom I have met briefly before. he was chatty and witty, as was his wife charlie. A few dances and drinks later we retired to bed pleasantly full and merry. In the morning the same lady(Jo) gave us a warm welcome at the breakfast table and even agreed to give us a guided tour of all the other rooms before we departed including the Treehouse which I am now working on my partner to book for next time!!!! All in all a lovely relaxing stay. Thankyou Mr Sykes, Charlie and Jo, you made us feel like part of the family and looked after us. We will be back to stay in the Treehouse as soon as I have saved up enough... Cant wait

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caramel053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Interesting. Very interesting.

I'd recommend this place to anyone and everyone.

John Sykes, the Chief Frogg, is a 'character'. Fruit. Loop. Great man. Keep up the good work!!!!!

Good bar and dancefloor area upstairs, with a very very odd collection of bric-a-brac and general clutter. Brilliant. Danced the night away to Shed Seven.

Strange no-cash concept at bar, where instead you set up a tab and they take your card details and leave them in a notepad on the bar for perusal by anyone who wants a peep. Brilliant. Didn't matter too much as we brought drink with us and kept it in a cool box in the boot of my chum's car boot. A wise choice bearing in mind the bar ran out of all beer by 6pm approx.

Food was very nice, all prepared by the Chief Frogg's fair hands.

Oh, and the walkway / bridge almost collapsed as a few of us walked over it.

All in all: amazing.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keith_leaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

We arrived, with some trepidation having read the reviews. The owner wasnt there (probably a godsend) and whilst the reception area was cluttered and a bit car boot sale-ish, the lady greeting us was very friendly, altho dressed more suitably for a greasy spoon cafe than a "1930's" themed hotel.

Our room wasn't too bad , the ensuite bathroom was large and, as it transpired, likely the cleanest place in the building. The bed cover was questionably grubby, but the sheets were clean.

We were attempting to give the place the benefit of the doubt and chose to overlook the roll of carpet underlay immediately outside of our room, along with several full bin liners, all of which were still in situ when we left the nxt day.

The place was obviously run down and had seen better days, and the decor is not 1930s, it's jumblesale, muddle. We had brought 1930s clothes as, being a little eccentric ourselves, we had wanted to throw ourselves into the spirit of the party. Sadly, the only things 1930s in this place are the cd's played and, quite possibly, the dirt.

Still, we decided that if John & his wife were entertaining and amusing hosts, and the rest of the hotel similar to our room all else could be forgiven. We headed to dine and were taken to an upstairs room full of dusty old sofas all jumbled together. The dank, musty smell was unpleasant- rather like old dog and un hoovered carpets (we didnt hear or see a hoover in the 24 hours we were there.). Dinner was in a stuffy room with tired furniture- we didnt see dead flies but there were live ones. Food was good surprisingly enough but troubled by the thoughts of i this is the state of what we can see, what about what we cant....

John is abrupt, rude and a disinterested owner- we didnt really see his wife, he doesnt tell interesting anecdotes nor make witty, caustic basil fawlteyesque observations so not really sure
why those parallels are made in other reviews.

We had tried to be generous to this place, but other than our bathroom, which was clean, this place is a complete tip, it is not what it portrays itself to be in the web site and just under £250 for a night and one meal....so disgraceful it's not even funny.

No idea how they managed to get the English tourist Board rating- amazed they are not asked to improve their cleanliness standard... We assume all the good reviews are from family & friends as we're pretty quirky but this was just a dirty, unimaginative, overly expensive let down.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Can-malm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chester hotels

London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

We arrived, and were informed instantly about the billing procedures for the cashless bar. There was no greeting or pleasantries, just an outline of how they will be taking your money, which we found to be quite rude. We then proceeded upstairs to the bar, and were overwhelmed by the decor. Once at the bar we were again informed of the cashless bar policy and asked to give our credit card details which were filled out before we even ordered our drinks. We had no idea of the cost of the drinks, which is somewhat dubious. After ordering our drinks, we sat in the lounge area and were stunned at how dirty the carpet, sofas and tables were. There was layer of dust on the glass tables, the carpets were filthy, and sofas looked like they were from student accommodation. Later in the evening we looked at the wine list and were astounded at the prices, the cheapest bottle of red wine was £30. Champagne and sparking wine started at £60. Prices many in our group found excessive. We found the general attitude and service of the staff poor, some were down right rude. Very unclean, I can not believe that food and drink can be safely served in such a grotty environment . Particuarly when it is so exceptionally expensive. A very disappointing experience and a venue I would not under any circumstances recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank CG194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

From the minute we arrived until the morning we left I have never felt more ...infuriated, maddened, frustrated, incenced, uncomfortable, annoyed, exasperated....and that was only after an hour of being there!! After being 'welcomed' with...''you're too early, your rooms wont be ready'' we were booked in and escorted to our rooms which were ready and told to collect our keys later as they couldnt be found at the time!!! There wasnt a till at the bar - the bar man didnt know the prices of drinks - we the guests were told to put drinks on a tab to our room. Now this would hav been ok if everyone at the party had a room to stay in. As there are only 8 rooms available to stay in I wondered who's room the other 80 guests were going to charge their drinks to!!
In the Morning we went down to breakfast only to remains of food left and dirty glasses left around the hall way and dinning room!
'Continental Breakfast' consisted of toast (some of which was made from the left over dinner rolls from the day before!) or rice crispies, tea or coffee or juice - no ham cheese, croissants etc...
The place needs a good clean. Needless to say.. we WILL NOT be going again!.

Room Tip: very disappointing room- uncomfortable bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank wouldlikemymoneyback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chester
8.7 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelsall
359 reviews
2.2 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
3,508 reviews
8.0 mi away
Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa
6.9 mi away
Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa
9.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frogg Manor Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frogg Manor Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Frogg Manor Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Nantwich Road | Broxton, Chester CH3 9JH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magic & Romance. A hotel and restaurant with a difference yet remaining quintessentially English. 8 en-suite bedrooms including an en-suite room in a garden tree for pure romance. A restaurant with a gourmet menu, utilizing locally sourced beef, lamb & chicken. Fresh fish daily. Food preparation sympathetic to food intolerance. A relaxed atmosphere with music from the 1930's -1940's. This is truly a fantasy dream world. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Frogg Manor Hotel And Restaurant
Frogg Manor Chester
Frogg Manor Hotel & Restaurant Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing