We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly enjoyable stay, food and hosts”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chester
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Frogg Manor Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #38 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Just returned home from our first experience of Frogg Manor. We went with friends who'd stayed there before and had enjoyed the experience. I must admit we were more than somewhat daunted by the recent reviews we'd read and were therefore delighted to find that Frogg Manor is a national treasure and does not deserve the negative comments (some of which appear to be over the top?). We stayed in the Tree House which was a fantastic experience, enjoyed excellent food in the restaurant (preferred by our friends to the Michelin Star restaurant we took them to in Ludlow a few months ago - philistines!) were very well looked after by the owner and stayed up til 01:00 in the very cosy lounge (the disco was a bonus). All in all worth every penny (and it wasn't cheap) but perhaps only for those who are looking for a truly unique experience rather than 5 star blandness. We "got" Frogg Manor and would definitely return. Stuart McIntosh

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StuartMcIntosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2011

We have eaten here several times before, the last time was several years ago and with friends visiting, we believed it would provide a perfect setting and excellent food. Sadly, the intervening years have not been kind. What was previously eccentric, is now simply tired, dirty and gruby. The food was well below average - meat over cooked, vegetables out of season. The fact that they believe they can charge nearly £5 per person for coffee, for which you have to serve yourself, shows how out of touch they have become. Sadly, we will not be returning.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 2Painters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

this is probably the worst hotel we have ever stayed in, its filthy for a start, whilst i get its supposed to be old fashioned the place is disgusting, we were bought this as a xmas gift what a complete waste of money. the reception area is a real site, then appears the owner who apart from needs customer service course he also needs SHOES!!!! YES shoes the site of his ugly toe nails is enough to make you sick.How can he get away with this sort of place is beyond me. he is also very rude, he took our credit card which is really starting to worry me because he accidently ( right ) put £1000 on it. Breakfast is supposed to be included but this was cereal and toast which had to be ordered the night before CRAZY !!!
WE decided not to bother and leave at 8.30 we coudnt get out the doors were locked and no one was about, eventually we escaped through the woodlands and i have never been more relieved. i am still in a state of shock. i have a good sense of humour i like different things but this place was nothing more than a pure nightmare. red letter days dont list them in your brochure

Room Tip: dont bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank chris u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We went here to celerate our first wedding anniversary and were quite disappointed,
Having been bought a voucher for 'gourmet dining' we decided to treat ourselves to a night in the overpriced hotel also.
Expected something very posh but ended up going to the local ASDA to purchase some more casual clothes to those we had taken with us in preparation for our evening meal.
The website is very decieving. The grounds are all overgrown, everywhere inside is cluttered and dusty.
The owners, although clearly mad, were friendly enough although I did not feel that the service we recieved in both the hotel and restaurant was inkeeping with the price tag.
If you've got some money to waste I would recommend you go here with an open mind and have a giggle at all the eccentricities, otherwise give it a miss.

Room Tip: Do not pay extra for a larger room, they are equally as cluttered and unclean. The bed was perfectly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

What can I say about this place !
I have read the negative reports on here and I would stress to anyone going, just have a open mind, chill out, and enjoy the charm of the place.
The owner/chef is very talented and please don't be offended by him.
When we arrived (approx 10 mins early) the owner greeted us with " you are that early I haven't even peeled the veg yet"
The food by the way was amazing and my wife fell in love with Bubbles the dog.
To the staff - thankyou very very much for a great night and we will return time and time again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Lovefood m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

We have just had the pleasure of visiting Frogg Manor again. We stayed in The Mountbatten room, different to last time. Very nice, clean and extremely comfortable. The relaxed atmosphere is what makes Frogg Manor what it is...you are completely away from normal life, something I think people are failing to understand... You either "get it" or you dont. Fortunately we completely get it!!!! Our meals were to die for... smoked salmon in a filo parcel, unique and absolutely delicious... Long John steak, cooked to perfection(of course) ending with bread and butter pudding(signature dish) My partner opted for the other signature dish of garlic mushrooms to start... followed by steak and bread and butter also. Our waitress/barmaid/front of house lady was very knowledgable and down to earth. Our courses came as we requested and cooked and served as described by her. Later in the evening she introduced us to Mr Sykes, whom I have met briefly before. he was chatty and witty, as was his wife charlie. A few dances and drinks later we retired to bed pleasantly full and merry. In the morning the same lady(Jo) gave us a warm welcome at the breakfast table and even agreed to give us a guided tour of all the other rooms before we departed including the Treehouse which I am now working on my partner to book for next time!!!! All in all a lovely relaxing stay. Thankyou Mr Sykes, Charlie and Jo, you made us feel like part of the family and looked after us. We will be back to stay in the Treehouse as soon as I have saved up enough... Cant wait

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank caramel053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Interesting. Very interesting.

I'd recommend this place to anyone and everyone.

John Sykes, the Chief Frogg, is a 'character'. Fruit. Loop. Great man. Keep up the good work!!!!!

Good bar and dancefloor area upstairs, with a very very odd collection of bric-a-brac and general clutter. Brilliant. Danced the night away to Shed Seven.

Strange no-cash concept at bar, where instead you set up a tab and they take your card details and leave them in a notepad on the bar for perusal by anyone who wants a peep. Brilliant. Didn't matter too much as we brought drink with us and kept it in a cool box in the boot of my chum's car boot. A wise choice bearing in mind the bar ran out of all beer by 6pm approx.

Food was very nice, all prepared by the Chief Frogg's fair hands.

Oh, and the walkway / bridge almost collapsed as a few of us walked over it.

All in all: amazing.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keith_leaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chester
6.4 mi away
The Swan Tarporley
The Swan Tarporley
#2 of 4 in Tarporley
507 reviews
6.9 mi away
Holt Lodge Hotel
Holt Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Holt
395 reviews
9.1 mi away
ABode Chester
ABode Chester
#16 of 45 in Chester
2,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
2.2 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
4,153 reviews
9.4 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frogg Manor Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frogg Manor Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Nantwich Road | Broxton, Chester CH3 9JH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Price Range: £71 - £270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magic & Romance. A hotel and restaurant with a difference yet remaining quintessentially English. 8 en-suite bedrooms including an en-suite room in a garden tree for pure romance. A restaurant with a gourmet menu, utilizing locally sourced beef, lamb & chicken. Fresh fish daily. Food preparation sympathetic to food intolerance. A relaxed atmosphere with music from the 1930's -1940's. This is truly a fantasy dream world. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Frogg Manor Hotel And Restaurant
Frogg Manor Chester
Frogg Manor Hotel & Restaurant Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing