We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An experience not to be missed.....”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chester
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Frogg Manor Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #35 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Hindhead, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“An experience not to be missed.....”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We stayed at Frogg Manor for 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. It was a quite delightful experience and very different to your usual 'run of the mill establishments' We stayed in the Churchill suite which was extremely comfortable with a magnificent bathroom practically the same size as the bedroom! Everything you could possibly need was in the room/bathroom.

Mr Sykes does a stirling job running things as well as cooking. The food was excellent and all freshly cooked to order.

OK there might be a bit of dust here and there but it all adds to the character and quite honestly who cares, there is so much to feast your eyes on with all the different frogs and ornaments it was quite fascinating and interesting.

I will certainly recommend to friends - it is an experience not to be missed.....

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    15
    6
    8
    24
See reviews for
11
60
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
wigan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Nice house pity they don't have a cleaner and the owner could benefit from a course at charm school .sold as bed and breakfast only to find out that means cereal a cooked vegetarian would be £10 pounds bit of a rip off

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank smelly bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, UK
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

I also read all the reviews, so it was with mixed feelings that we set off on a lovely spring day for our 1 night B&B break courtesy of a KGB Deal.
We arrived early and didnt expect to be able to check in- just wanted to let them know we had arrived, and could we leave our stuff somewhere whilst we drove around exploring.
John met us in the lobby, explained that check in was not until 3 and that there was no staff around to assist. Having said that, he showed us to our room, The Churchill Suite, which was ready, and we duly settled in.
The room itself was delightful, welcoming and warm.
The bathroom is quite remarkable- very spacious, having a huge victorian style bath and seperate shower with the largest shower-head I've ever seen, and I've travelled the world!
We were told that fresh milk would be delivered in a while, but we never received it.
We visited a local pub for lunch, and on our return we decided to have a look around.
On exploring the grounds we fell in love with the location and the tranquility. There are fantastic views towards the Welsh Mountains, and we sat on a small bench just taking in the afternoon sun and the fresh country air.
Now for the foody side of things.....
We had pre-booked into the restaurant for 7:30 - 8 and were told to make our way up the stairs to the drawing room, which we duly did, to find a magnificent, olde worlde style of mixed furniture, frogs, ornaments and lamps of every kind, colour and type imaginable.
We were taken to a 2 seater period couch and given a computer print-out on A4 of the Gourmet Menu priced at 35 guineas or £37.75 in new money!
Apparently, this is the only choice you have if you choose to dine in the restaurant, and this is for a 3 course meal. I'll skip the details about the meal, suffice it to say the food was in the most part good, but the service and presentation somewhat lacking for the price being paid.
The coffee was served upstairs once more in the drawing room,well I say served, it was self service, and 2 chocolate frogs were thrown at us on a saucer, for which I later discovered we were charged £4 although we hadn't ordered them. Through the drawing room, if you could brave the man-eating Yorkie, Bubbles, who was living on the end of the bar in a sort of mini basket/kennel, is the Dance floor/ Disco area, where you could select songs and dance the night away if you were so inclined.
I forgot to mention that before retiring to bed, you are requested to complete your breakfast booking form and also inform them at what time you would be eating it.
We had a good night's sleep, and attended breakfast at the allotted time, to find our choice of fruit juices already on the table, and were served our cereals with fresh milk. and tea and coffee plus toast arrived simultaneously, which meant that the toast was cold by the time it was ready to be eaten.
The coffee was like hot water with a coffee bean thrown in, and the toast and marmalade were standard sliced bread. Had we chosen to, we could have had a full English at £15 a head, or bacon on toast etc, but we felt that our bargain break was already more expensive than most weekends away, so chose not to spend any more money at this establishment.
To summarise, this is a wonderful building which unfortunately is well past its sell-by date.
The food is good, but choice limited to a 3 course Gourmet Menu- the pub down the road offers a much wider choice of food, at very competitive prices, as well as a better selection of real ales, wines and spirits.
I'm glad I have experienced the Frogg, but I won't be recommending it to any of my friends, and I dont think I would wish to return in a hurry.
Shabby Chic it is not, Bloody Cheek it certainly is!!

Room Tip: The Churchill Suite is very spacious and clean, and has a wonderful bathroom- I cannot say anything...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SoloBariTone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Where to begin........
I have read all the reviews, and agree with them all !!!
Every single one !!!
What i also know is the type of patron who wrote them
I agree, this hotel isnt cheap, i agree it is dusty and the sitting room full of dead flies, i agree the glasses can be left unwashed, i agree reception is unkempt and i agree the proprietor can be forthright....
However....
I agree the food is off the scale superb, i had the Black Pudding Winston Churchill style, The best rack of lamb i have ever had followed by a signature bread and butter pudding that would merit Mr Ramsays name puttng to it
I also agree you have to be open minded, John does EVERYTHING himself so runs his kitchen with precision, as he has to
He doesnt have 100 sous chefs to hand, if your eating at 8, do him a favour and tip up at 8 as this is the time he will have it ready for, otherwise it puts the kitchen back and everyone else will be delayed too
We stayed in the Sherlock Holmes room which was spotlessly clean
Yes, it is a little mish mash but it is quintessential England
You wouldnt get this anywhere else
His breakfast (again, sublime) is also served on the dot, expect a call if your late but if you think you will have a lie in, just tell the man, he will be fine !!
His produce is locl, his beer from down the road and he is suspicious of foreign wine but please, please just open your mind and visit
there arent too many of these places left
it will be a sad day when this one closes its doors (if)

Room Tip: I stayed in the Sherlock Holmes room which was fine for me
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meddlingmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

I'm still stunned by the sheer cheek of this hotel charging so much when it is clearly a minus one star rating. Don't go!!!!
Everywhere needed a clean. Evening meal came with the accompanying vegetables consisting of one carrot on end with one flopped asparagus and a dollop of smash.... oh sorry creamed potatoes.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank vera500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chester hotels

Malaga, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

We were celebrating a special wedding anniversary, booked for Frogg Manor. We told the owner we would arrive between 5 and 6pm, on arrival at 5.30, reception was deserted. Eventually we found someone who called the owner who complained we were too early! The room was cold, the radiators were turned off and a small electric fire used as heating, not what I would expect for a hotel charging £128.00 a night. My husband decided to have a long soak in the bath, big mistake luke warm water. The owner was contacted and he told us that three people had bathed and we would have to wait 20 minutes for more water, we told the owner we were very disappointed and we were leaving, he did not express any concern. Beware.....

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Ann0152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chieffrogg, Owner at Frogg Manor Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
I remember this couple, Mr & Mrs Dennis Broster who stayed Friday 3rd February 2012 and having read their report I consider it spurious in the extreme. (1) The couple actually arrived 4.25pm and at that time advised they would be down for dinner at 7.30pm for 8.00pm dining. The couple made no contact after arrival until 7.35pm when Mrs Broster came down from the room and addressed the bar manager and demanded that he accompanied her back to the room, where she complained that the top of the plastic liquid soap dispenser was loose. The bar manager found that when the soap dispenser had been refilled the screw top plunger had not been secured, this he rectified. During his visit to the room he mentioned and Mrs Broster confirmed that despite the extremes in the outside temperature that night, in excess of minus 10 degrees, the room temperature was cosy and warm. We had indeed added an space heater to complement the central heating in view of the extremes in outside temperature. Whilst the bar manager was in the room she did say that there seemed to be no hot water and was advised that maximum demand from other rooms was the cause and that 20 to 30 minutes the water would be back to temp. However since they had been in occupancy for over THREE HOURS and this was the time we were now expecting them down for dinner, I find it odd that she has stated that her husband was requiring to take a long soak and also since they had been in the room for over three hours her comment on the temperature of the room can not be considered valid and as previously mentioned, this whole report is spurious.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

When i booked this dump i was told that if i dined there the room for the night would be free, on arriving the proprietor then informed me that this rate was for a different part of the week and should i wish to stay he would reduce the room rate to £90 as long as we dined there. As this was a treat for my wife and did'nt want to dissapoint her i wrongly decided to stay for the night. Having seen how messy the reception was the alarm bells should have started to ring, the room was cluttered with wires to lights bodged under carpets the room smelled musty, the tea bags in the draw i can only guess how long they had been there along with a jar of coffee that was a quarter full, the evening meal was disgusting and served in what i can only describe as a dilapidated greenhouse, we ordered chicken only to be told there was only one piece, so i had to order somthing else from a very limited menu, the vegetables consisted of one half of a carrot one piece of asparagus which was mushy and was well passed its best. the rest of the meal we should have not bothered to eat. We asked to see the treehouse room and could not belive the state it was in, the proprietor had not bothered to service this room after the last guests had left which by the state of the room was some time ago, the room needed a good clean the bed had not been made or sheets changed even the crockery was still there complete with the remains of the coffee in the cups. the bar area had xmas decorations still hanging from the ceiling and from the amount of dust on them they must have been there for 20years, every part of this place is a mess, we were the only people staying there i can understand why,

Room Tip: Dont go here
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
2.3 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
3,624 reviews
9.2 mi away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#7 of 44 in Chester
1,133 reviews
9.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel
9.3 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#14 of 44 in Chester
1,372 reviews
8.7 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelsall
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frogg Manor Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frogg Manor Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Frogg Manor Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Nantwich Road | Broxton, Chester CH3 9JH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magic & Romance. A hotel and restaurant with a difference yet remaining quintessentially English. 8 en-suite bedrooms including an en-suite room in a garden tree for pure romance. A restaurant with a gourmet menu, utilizing locally sourced beef, lamb & chicken. Fresh fish daily. Food preparation sympathetic to food intolerance. A relaxed atmosphere with music from the 1930's -1940's. This is truly a fantasy dream world. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Frogg Manor Hotel And Restaurant
Frogg Manor Chester
Frogg Manor Hotel & Restaurant Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing