We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a place !”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chester
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Frogg Manor Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #35 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Conwy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a place !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

You have to go, Great dood, first class company. What a laugh. The Tree House is great fun.
Do yourself a favour and go have some fun, you'll be glad you did.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    15
    6
    8
    24
See reviews for
11
60
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Market Drayton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

Brilliant, brilliant, brilliant! Having driven past the hotel so many times, we finally took the plunge and booked a room and dinner for my birthday treat. And what a treat it was... The hotel itself is an extension of John's personality - highly individual and up for anything. The food was exquisite, beautifully presented and right up there with the best I've ever eaten. The evening's entertainment - music, conversation and hilariously good company - was both unexpected and delightful. I can highly recommend Frogg Manor to anyone wanting an extraordinarily amazing experience.

Room Tip: We'll definitely book the Tree House next time - it looks like something out of a children's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SSChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

My partner wanted to visit as we have driven passed many times so we decided what the heck and we were so pleased we have. If you want a relaxing yet somewhat surreal experience Frogg Manor is the place. John is an amazingly eccentric character but he makes you feel very welcome in his home. The food although a little expensive is worth every penny we dined like kings on saturday night. A big thank you to John and his staff and we will see you again soon!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julesandlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

I could feel everyone in the car thinking "what have you done?" as we drove up to the hotel, and quite frankly, I was in two minds whether to just turn around and head for the safety of a sterile, boil in the bag Italian chain restaurant in nearby Chester .I am so glad I didn't! Eccentric? yes, odd? yes, enjoyable? yes, food? superb! Not everyone's cup of tea, but an experience well worth the effort and a thoroughly enjoyable evening. We will certainly return!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dalestreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2012

On arriving at the Frogg manor, we were met by John, the owner, i can honestly say i have never met anyone like him before. At first we all thought he was quite rude in his manner, but the more we spoke to him, it was just his way. We actually found him and his wife Charlie a lovely couple. Yes ,very eccecntric, and you either like or dont like him. We actually took to them both. We stayed for one night and i can honestly say i have never had an experience like it in any other hotel, and i have stayed in a lot. The hotel reminds you of a museum with lots of memorebelia around. The beds were the comfiest ive ever slept in.The llnen was fresh and the towels were white and soft.

We didnt eat in the resturant as John had had an operation and was feeling a bit rough, but on our return he still managed to put a disco on for us . There was 5 of us at the disco which was funny but John and Chalie had great music and made us feel totally at home.I would only go and stay her if you are open minded, because you will have really weird experience, in a nice way though.

I would definatly return and would look forward to seein John and Cahrlie again. Thankyou Frogg Manner for a wonderful but unusual stay.

Room Tip: dont book a room at the front of the hotel, its a main road and very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank meganella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

Interesting to note that a small, quirky hotel and restaurant attracts such fervent and diverse passion. My girlfriend and I were prepared for any eventuality, having read the reviews. The owner, chief chef, host and any other crazy hat that John chooses to wear at any given time, is as mad as a box of frog(g)s. A description, I'm sure he would embrace with open arms.
He is not for the faint hearted, but for those with an open mind and a sense of enlightened adventure.
However, we found him charming, eccentric and absolutely delightful. Make no mistake - Frogg Manor is not all about gimmicks. The food was truly outstanding - we voted our steaks as good as any we had previously tasted. The puddings created with love and attention to detail.
We stayed in the treehouse, which added to the whole mystical experience. Lie in the huge bed, throw the cartoon-like doors open and marvel at the unique atmosphere. Yes, the carpets are a little threadbare in places, there may be a layer of dust on tables but this pales into insignificance compared to the total fantasy.
My girlfriend and I smiled all the way home and will return soon to John's LaLa land in Broxton.

Room Tip: Choose the Treehouse - you will talk about it for months!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jon272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

I accompanied the last reveiwer of Frogg Manor ( I was one of the whirling dervishes on the dance floor).. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here and would recommend that anyone with a sense of humour and adventure should give it a try. A little ramshackled from the outside, but that only adds to its charm . As my friend says, we will definitely be paying John and Charley many more visits. The suites are without doubt the most sumptuous, decadent and luxurious I have ever stayed in. The food is to die for and the little personal touches in the rooms are so thoughtful ( magnifying mirrors, shoe polishing kit, wellies in a variety of sizes,even tampons. So what if some areas are a little worn? Each room is so crammed with interesting and unusual artifacts and antiques, that you feel like you've been transported back in time. This is niot a hotel to just use as a base. The hotel is THE experience. We stayed in the Mountbatten Suite but were treated to a peek into the tree house ( the Lady Guinevere Suite). We were absolutely gobsmacked. It was so beautiful. It even had a laser machine which projected stars onto the ceiling when it was dark. As Charlie herself told us, You will either love this place or you will hate it. Well, we loved it. If you like sterile pedestrian nondescript hotels, don't go, otherwise, treat yourself. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: You won't be disappointed with any of the rooms, but if it is a special occasion, treat yourselv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonnaGabonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chester
6.9 mi away
Holt Lodge Hotel
Holt Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Holt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
11.6 mi away
Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa
6.4 mi away
The Swan Tarporley
The Swan Tarporley
#2 of 4 in Tarporley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,257 reviews
9.5 mi away
Chester Court
Chester Court
#17 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
8.7 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelsall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frogg Manor Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frogg Manor Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Frogg Manor Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Nantwich Road | Broxton, Chester CH3 9JH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magic & Romance. A hotel and restaurant with a difference yet remaining quintessentially English. 8 en-suite bedrooms including an en-suite room in a garden tree for pure romance. A restaurant with a gourmet menu, utilizing locally sourced beef, lamb & chicken. Fresh fish daily. Food preparation sympathetic to food intolerance. A relaxed atmosphere with music from the 1930's -1940's. This is truly a fantasy dream world. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Frogg Manor Hotel And Restaurant
Frogg Manor Chester
Frogg Manor Hotel & Restaurant Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing