We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice - But Bring Ear Plugs!”
Review of Cheshire Cat Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cheshire Cat Hotel
Ranked #20 of 76 Chester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 February 2014

My wife and I stayed for the weekend to attend a wedding in Chester. For the same price as the Holiday Inn it has much more character and is in a great location on the canal. Our room was spotless and smelled of fresh paint, so obviously just been done-up. We had a very comfortable 2 nights, however the fire-alarm went off in our section at 3.30am for about 10 minutes. There is a note in the rooms saying the fire-alarms are very sensitive, so we doubt this is a rare occurrence.
Breakfast was very filling in a spacious, bright and airy breakfast lounge, followed by a walk along the canal-tow path and through the local villages. We had Sunday lunch before leaving; the log-fires were roaring and the vegetarian options on the menu were a welcome addition. Over-all a very enjoyable weekend.

Room Tip: Bring ear-plugs just in case!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JessNPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Cheshire Cat Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Thank you for your recent review, It was good of you to take the time to leave your feedback following your visit to Innkeeper's Lodge Chester.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (255)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 255 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2014

We had lunch here last Saturday. Our last visit prior to this was a few months back when the whole experience was awful. However, having complained, the "new" Manager phoned me and appeared to be keen on making improvements, so when a family member suggested we meet there, we (reluctantly) agreed.
The place had definitely been "spruced up" (ie: cleaned) since our last visit, but the food and service were still very disappointing. I ordered from the Vegetarian Specials (which listed 6 options), but the waiter brought me pork. I said this wasn't what I ordered, so he returned with something else that I had not ordered (but which was off the Vegetarian Specials). I said again that this was not what I had ordered and pointed out what I had ordered on the list. The waiter said "Oh, that must be a misprint"! I said it did not look like a misprint to me and when the waitress had taken my order, she had not said that what I ordered was not available. To this he said "I think we've run out of that, so the kitchen have made this instead". I was astonished that the kitchen had just decided to prepare a different dish without consulting me, but as my companions had got their meals, I accepted what the waiter had brought me.
Unfortunately, the meal was not good. It was ricotta & spinach strudel with "Mediterranean roast vegetables". Whilst the strudel itself was OK (but cold), the "vegetables" (mostly onion) were soggy and appeared to have been microwaved from frozen.
My dinner companions both had fishcakes, which they said were quite tasty, but the portion sizes were tiny - more like starters than main courses.
I did complete an online contact form and emailed the owners of the pub, advising of my further disappointment, but to date no-one has bothered to respond.
Whilst the setting and "ambience" of this pub is very pleasant, I cannot recommend the food.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Indietravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Cheshire Cat Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

We were sorry to see from your review that you were disappointed in your recent visit to us. Your feedback is always welcomed as our aim is to get it right, and we will learn from your comments. We have also replied to you personally on this matter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We came across this pub when driving into Chester (about ten mins away). The log fires and setting are lovely and give a very relaxed country feel. The service was spot on and the food was gorgeous!!!!!! We will be back hopefully to stay over too!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizzieEastYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Cheshire Cat Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Thank you very much for your recent review on Trip Advisor. We were very pleased to read that you had a positive time here with us at The Cheshire Cat, Innkeeper's Lodge, Chester . Our teams love to hear when they have done a good job and we have replied to you personally about your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We stayed for three nights at the Cheshire Cat and would recommend for a short break in Cheshire or a day at the races during the summer.
We stayed in the Hedgehog Room and although very pleasant there were few points which requires attention. The radiators in the bedroom and bathroom were cold at the top and although the staff responded immediately to try and rectify they remained the same throughout our stay. In my opinion an heating engineer should be called in to resolve.
The Hedgehog room only has a very small window looking over the roof of the hotel and although we found this acceptable it was only on departure that we became aware that the other rooms in the main hotel have large windows in both the bedroom and bathroom.
Having booked for two nights in June 14 to attend the races this is something we will be requesting and would recommend to any one staying at the Cat unless you prefer a room without windows in the bathroom and with a view over the roof.
Having commented on the above the room did not spoil our stay.
We opted for the full English Breakfast prior to booking unsure what the continental style would provide and although receiving an excellent breakfast the continental offers a wide choice of dishes from juice to yogurts. The service is very much help yourself to coffee, juices etc which we prefer.
We only ate at the Cat one evening having spent the day in Liverpool and Chester and found the food offered excellent with very friendly service. In fact all the staff provided exceptional service from checking in, bar service and restaurant.
A very enjoyable stay and we are now looking forward to our next visit to Cheshire Cat.

Room Tip: Avoid the Hedgehog Room Number 5. See above for our reasons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveSchnauzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Cheshire Cat Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

We are so pleased to hear that you found The Cheshire Cat a good place to stay, and we really appreciate you leaving positive feedback on Trip Advisor. We have replied to you personally as it is our aim to give every customer the very best experience possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Stayed here last night as was attending a wedding at another hotel a mile away. The Cheshire Cat was more reasonably priced and a lovely location alongside the canal.
Check-in was straightforward and the staff were very helpful and accommodating. Our room was in the annexe next to the canal but with the window overlooking a pretty lawn. We were back very late from the wedding and could access this room directly from outside (without having to go through the pub).
Plenty of tea, coffee and milk in the room and lots of room for storing clothes. The room was extremely warm but we slept well.
Breakfast was more than adequate - good choice of cereals, croissants, muffins, yogurts, juice, tea, coffee and a selection of fresh fruit.
Not sure how long it would take to walk along the canal into the city centre, but I'd give it a go if/when we stay again :)

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nataliewebb222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Cheshire Cat Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to The Cheshire Cat, Innkeeper's Lodge, Chester, and we were delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us. On behalf of all the team we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and we have replied to you personally asking for a little more information.
.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

This was our second stay here and again we were not disappointed. We stayed in an annexe room which backs onto the canal. The room had plenty of space and was extremely clean and well serviced during our 3 day stay. There was plenty of tea,coffee and biscuits supplied and all the necessities for the bathroom were supplied. It was very quiet despite us staying in peak season.
The breakfast was well presented and plentiful and the staff were pleasant and helpful.
One criticism however was the state of the floor in the breakfast room which had lots of food crumbs scattered around the whole of our stay.A member of staff told me that they could not use the hoover first thing in the morning or last thing at night due to the noise disturbing the guests. Understandable but surely a brush and pan of Ewbank could do the job.It seemed a shame as everything else was scrupulously clean. By the last day of our stay this became a bit irritating and very noticeable!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2,927,316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Cheshire Cat Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

We are so pleased to hear that you found Innkeeper's Lodge Chester a good place to stay, and we really appreciate you leaving positive feedback on Trip Advisor. We have replied to you personally as it is our aim to give every customer the very best experience possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Stayed at Innkeepers Lodge for 2 nights to celebrate nieces birthday and go to Ladies Day at Chester Races. We had family room number 3 which was a lovely room. In the main building, Very spacious, had 3 lovely big windows, comfy bed and clean.

Traveled with our 2 boys of 14 and 10. Although family room, only one sofa bed and there was no way my boys would share a bed. Knowing this, we took a blow up bed with us and room plenty big enough for our young one to sleep on it. Much nicer than a Travel Lodge/premier inn.

Breakfast not really continental. More toast and cereal although did have croissants on day 2. You can order cooked breakfast but we didn't need it.

Would definitely recommend. Very friendly staff, nice room.

Chester races brilliant day but expensive.

We ate dinner at Ring O Bells in Christleton. Fantastic. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: 3 lovely size. The one that is split level next door, really nice too
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sare2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Cheshire Cat Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to Chester, Christleton and we were delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us. On behalf of all the team we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and we have replied to you personally asking for a little more information.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.6 mi away
Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel
2.7 mi away
Brookside Hotel
Brookside Hotel
#23 of 45 in Chester
422 reviews
1.8 mi away
Roseville Bed & Breakfast
Roseville Bed & Breakfast
#21 of 76 in Chester
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Grosvenor Place Guest House
0.5 mi away
Rowton Court Hotel
Rowton Court Hotel
#34 of 76 in Chester
95 reviews
2.1 mi away
Chester House Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheshire Cat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheshire Cat Hotel

Address: Whitchurch Road | The Cheshire Cate, Christleton, Chester CH3 6AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range: £64 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cheshire Cat Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Of all the places to stay in Chester, this historic lodge has some of the best tales to tell. Built in Christleton on a key civil war battle site, the Cheshire Cat played a crucial role in World War II before being restored as a warm and welcoming hotel in the 1970s.The lodge's 14 comfy en-suite rooms are complemented by a cosy pub, which is dripping with rustic character and rural charm. Here you can enjoy seasonally inspired country dining together with a range of cask ales and well-chosen wines.There are plenty of things to see and do in Chester. Fantastic shopping, black and white medieval architecture, historic city walls and the famous Chester Racecourse are just a few of its many attractions. Children and adults alike will love Chester zoo or you can explore the weaving footpaths of the unspoilt Delamere Forest. West Cheshire is full of rolling hills, sweeping valleys and quaint market towns worth exploring. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Cheshire Cat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cheshire Cat Hotel Chester
Cheshire Cat Hotel Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing