We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Book with total confidence, this place really is outstanding”
Review of Victoria Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chester
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Victoria Lodge
Ranked #15 of 79 Chester B&B and Inns
Newcastle under Lyme
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Book with total confidence, this place really is outstanding”
Reviewed 10 July 2012

I have stayed here twice, most recently on July 4th because it is spotlessly clean, warm and comfortable with fully en-suite rooms and free Internet facilities. The full English breakfasts set you up for the whole day. It is very convenient for anywhere in Chester and the owners are friendly and helpful without being overbearing. If I need to stay in Chester again, I shall certainly make a bee-line for Victoria Lodge.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back overlooking the very pleasant garden are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    14
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
76
13
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Stayed here on 23rd June 2012 overnight. Girls weekend - had two lovely clean comfortable rooms with tea/coffee making facilities and toiletries. Very friendly helpful owners. Breakfast was excellent with lovely variety of fresh fruit and cereals. There was a very good choice of full English cooked breakfast which was very well prepared and hot. Choice of breads for toast and good selection of jams and marmalade. Tea and coffee to order. Walking distance of Chester City Centre and cost of taxi which we used to return was approx £5 which was good value. Would thoroughly recommend this hotel and it is excellent value for money. Would use again on a short visit to Chester.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 52Patricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grande Prairie, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

We really enjoyed our recent stay at Victoria Lodge. Richard and Des are wonderful hosts; most helpful. Delicious breakfasts served in a bright cheery dining room, large rooms tastefully decorated and great location with ample parking makes for a first class B&B.
we highly recommend

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJLain30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Richland Hills
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2012

WOW! Lovely rooms, wonderful hosts and delicious full English breakfast--could not ask for more! We had a wonderful stay and recommend this B&B without reservation! Great value.

Room Tip: We had a great room and ensuite bathroom right at the top of the stairs on the first floor towards t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJorLJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

From arrival to leaving this was a very good experience with friendliness,comfort and quality at a very good price.The house is quite close to city centre with some good restaurants close by.Desnia and Richard are great hosts and could not have been more helpful and receptive.Everyone mentions the breakfast and i can only support the great start to the day that this feast gives you.

Room Tip: Our room was on second floor and had evrything,it has 3 single beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geordie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterrey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Visited the Victoria Lodge in April 2012 on an overnight stay on a roadtrip through the UK. Fist lets start with the accommodations. They were clean, well kept and spacious. The hosts were charming, helpful, and friendly. And to top it off, the english breakfast was superb. Overall the price-value is great. Definitely consider it for a quick weekend getaway from London or the surrounding areas.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alonzetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bingley
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Really warm welcome with helpful tips and advice too. Room and bathroom clean and comfortable with nice touches.Breakfast was good with the added bonus of an Easter egg each(on Easter Sunday).A good 15 minute walk into Chester which we managed easily there and back. In the evening we got a taxi which was between 4 and 5 pounds. All in all a great little B and B.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BingleyLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.8 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chester Court
Chester Court
#16 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.2 mi away
Chester Stone Villa
Chester Stone Villa
#2 of 79 in Chester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,011 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chester House Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Lodge

Property: Victoria Lodge
Address: 64 Hoole Road, Chester CH2 3NL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Victorian residence close to City centre and all attractions. All rooms tastefully furnished and en-suite. Chester is a lovely city to visit and we provide the ideal location for your stay. City centre 1 mile; Railway station 1/2 mile; Chester Zoo 1 1/4 miles; Blue Planet Aquarium 3 miles;Cheshire Oaks Outlet Village 3 miles. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Victoria Lodge Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing