We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb quality and friendly service”
Review of Victoria Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chester
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Victoria Lodge
Ranked #13 of 79 Chester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Superb quality and friendly service”
Reviewed 26 July 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for a night in Chester. The welcome was very warm and first impressions were perfect, including a free bottle of wine as we had just got married.

The room was superb, very stylish and homely at the same time. We could come and go as we pleased and we received excellent local recommendations from the owners.

Breakfast was just the best - a huge feast but was so good that we had to eat it all!!

We have just booked for my parents as a treat and will definitely be returning soon.

Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank HamishF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    15
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
78
14
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle-upon-Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We stayed at Victoria Lodge for a weekend and could not fault it. Our room, a double at the top of the building was spacious, comfortable and spotlessly clean, with everything we required. The full English breakfast was the biggest i have ever had! The owners, Richard and Desia, were friendly and welcoming. We were particularly glad of the off-road parking and free wifi access. A lovely stay!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OnmeHols22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle under Lyme
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

I have stayed here twice, most recently on July 4th because it is spotlessly clean, warm and comfortable with fully en-suite rooms and free Internet facilities. The full English breakfasts set you up for the whole day. It is very convenient for anywhere in Chester and the owners are friendly and helpful without being overbearing. If I need to stay in Chester again, I shall certainly make a bee-line for Victoria Lodge.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back overlooking the very pleasant garden are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Stayed here on 23rd June 2012 overnight. Girls weekend - had two lovely clean comfortable rooms with tea/coffee making facilities and toiletries. Very friendly helpful owners. Breakfast was excellent with lovely variety of fresh fruit and cereals. There was a very good choice of full English cooked breakfast which was very well prepared and hot. Choice of breads for toast and good selection of jams and marmalade. Tea and coffee to order. Walking distance of Chester City Centre and cost of taxi which we used to return was approx £5 which was good value. Would thoroughly recommend this hotel and it is excellent value for money. Would use again on a short visit to Chester.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 52Patricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grande Prairie, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

We really enjoyed our recent stay at Victoria Lodge. Richard and Des are wonderful hosts; most helpful. Delicious breakfasts served in a bright cheery dining room, large rooms tastefully decorated and great location with ample parking makes for a first class B&B.
we highly recommend

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJLain30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Richland Hills
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2012

WOW! Lovely rooms, wonderful hosts and delicious full English breakfast--could not ask for more! We had a wonderful stay and recommend this B&B without reservation! Great value.

Room Tip: We had a great room and ensuite bathroom right at the top of the stairs on the first floor towards t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJorLJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

From arrival to leaving this was a very good experience with friendliness,comfort and quality at a very good price.The house is quite close to city centre with some good restaurants close by.Desnia and Richard are great hosts and could not have been more helpful and receptive.Everyone mentions the breakfast and i can only support the great start to the day that this feast gives you.

Room Tip: Our room was on second floor and had evrything,it has 3 single beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geordie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.1 mi away
Chester Court
Chester Court
#18 of 44 in Chester
255 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#14 of 44 in Chester
1,366 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Chester House Guest House
0.2 mi away
Chester Stone Villa
Chester Stone Villa
#2 of 79 in Chester
1,047 reviews
0.3 mi away
Devonia Lodge Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Lodge

Property: Victoria Lodge
Address: 64 Hoole Road, Chester CH2 3NL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Victorian residence close to City centre and all attractions. All rooms tastefully furnished and en-suite. Chester is a lovely city to visit and we provide the ideal location for your stay. City centre 1 mile; Railway station 1/2 mile; Chester Zoo 1 1/4 miles; Blue Planet Aquarium 3 miles;Cheshire Oaks Outlet Village 3 miles. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Victoria Lodge Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing