We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“10 out of 10, could not fault”
Review of Victoria Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chester
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Victoria Lodge
Ranked #15 of 79 Chester B&B and Inns
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“10 out of 10, could not fault”
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We stayed here for one night on 22nd June for my birthday and couldn't have asked for anything more. The room was clean, spacious and very nice decor. The guest house is a gorgeous building and the owners could not have been more welcoming or accommodating. Breakfast was fabulous and we really couldn't fault. An absolutely wonderful stay, don't hesitate to book.

Thank you both for a wonderful stay

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simoneB2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    14
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
76
13
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

My boyfriend and I recently stayed here and both agreed it was great value for money. The owners were extremely welcoming and helpful, and the rooms (we stayed in room 5) were spacious, homely and clean. The cooked english breakfast was great and overall this B&B was exceptional value for money. It was also only 5 minutes by taxi into the centre of town, with plenty of space to park. We will definitley be coming back again!

Room Tip: Room 5 and 6 are lovely double rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SJMW40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012

A Very Warm And Friendly Welcome, our Room,NO 6, was lovely and very clean,every where was spotlessly clean.the breakfast was the best we've had in a b&b- so much choice it set us for the day.we would certainly go back and recommend it to family and friends.its the best b&b we've stayed in on hoole road.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank corinne j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brierfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Just got back from a stay at the Victoria Lodge Guest House. Warm welcome when we arrived, rooms lovely and clean and everything one needs for a stay near Chester. The breakfast was one of the best i have had at at b b, lots of choice. I could not recommened this place more highly.

Room Tip: all rooms seem to be of excellent standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wakefield
Level Contributor
99 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Just got back from a race trip to Chester with my friend and stayed in this fabulous B and B, the owners Richard and Desia run a tight ship, Room 2 was lovely, spotless, spacious and great shower, cooked breakfast awesome, walked to Chester races and it took us about 30 minutes, I highly recommend this place and guarantee you will not be disappointed

Room Tip: There are 5 en-suite rooms and I feel sure they will all be of the same quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charlottelucas99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

I have recently spent a very pleasant 2 night stay at the Victoria Lodge. It is very well situated for access to Chester Town Center, the Railway and Golf Courses. The rooms are spotlessly clean, well proportioned and furnished. The breakfasts were excellent, lots of choice and the full english could not be faulted. Richard and Densia were charming and most welcoming hosts. The business is up for sale which means your chance to sample the hospitality at the Victoria Lodge is limited which is a great shame. The new owners will have a very hard act to follow, Richard and Densia have set the bar exceedingly high!!

Room Tip: Dont have a tip, all the rooms are of the same high standard as the one I stayed in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mary j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

This is how a traditional family run guest house should be. The couple who run this establishment know their business starting with a warm welcome and useful information about the town. Our room was very comfortable and tastefully decorated with a spotless en suite. The breakfast was freshly cooked to order and contain all you would expect from a traditional English - a great start to the day. The house is clearly loved and the gardens were full of summer colour. The Victoria Lodge was easy to find and travel to and from the historic centre of the city was easy by bus or taxi (about £4). There are obviously lots of places to eat in Chester but we also found a lively restaurant nearby within walking distance in Faulkner St.
Recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hedgeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.8 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chester Court
Chester Court
#16 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.2 mi away
Chester Stone Villa
Chester Stone Villa
#2 of 79 in Chester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,011 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chester House Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Lodge

Property: Victoria Lodge
Address: 64 Hoole Road, Chester CH2 3NL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Victorian residence close to City centre and all attractions. All rooms tastefully furnished and en-suite. Chester is a lovely city to visit and we provide the ideal location for your stay. City centre 1 mile; Railway station 1/2 mile; Chester Zoo 1 1/4 miles; Blue Planet Aquarium 3 miles;Cheshire Oaks Outlet Village 3 miles. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Victoria Lodge Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing