We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AMAZING!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Saltney Tandoori - CLOSED

Saltney Tandoori
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Serves Alcohol
Description: Postcode is CH4 8BJ
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
“AMAZING!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Ive never been one for indian food, but when my friends suggested that we tried out the saltney tandoori, i have to admit i was abit hesitant, however how wrong i was the food is absoloutley gorgeous, the waitress was so helpful with what to order, as i didnt know what much was, she asked me whether i liked creamy food or spicey and pointed me in the best direction for what would be best for me,
the drinks are a very reasonable price as is the food,
i deffo suggest people try out this restaurant!

Helpful?
Thank maiseymoo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    4
    1
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Gorgeous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

Absolutely gorgeous food!
Great service, always a friendly welcome,
Tried it for the first time, and now it's my new guilty pleasure!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maymayxox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Absolute gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

If you want expensive, pretentious and generally disappointing then stay in town! If you want great food and value for money with wonderful people then read on ! I have been frequenting the Saltney Tandoori for nearly 20 years! Ouch !
It's run by the amazing Greta, assisted by her daughter Alison and occasionally Alison's daughters Holly and Alice! It's not your typical Indian by any means, it welcoming and intimate, I have made many friends there over the years as they create a homely atmosphere were everyone is at home, it is sometimes off the wall, Greta's dry humour is the stuff of legend!
The FOOD is fantastic, the chefs will accommodate little twists to the menu, I have even made my own dishes up ! The wine is also fairly priced just like food, it really is a GEM!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank queenpj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Value!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

Welcoming. Great value. Sit in, take away or delivery. We love the slow cooked lamb balti! Owned and managed by Alison and assisted by her lovely mum Greeta and Alice. Excellent authentic Indian chefs. Give it a go and you'll probably become a regular!

Helpful?
Thank JacWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Decent Curry”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

Since moving to Chester from Yorkshire we've struggled to find a curry house of similar quality to that which we are accustomed to. The Saltney Tandoori has plugged that gap, offering a good variety of well prepared dishes bursting with flavour! We have now visited several times and never been dissappointed. The service is friendly and the prices are reasonable. Will definitely be back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Saltney Tandoori also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing