We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Albion Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chester
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Albion Inn
Ranked #26 of 81 Chester B&B and Inns
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

This hotel was one of the highlights of our trip around England. Christina and her husband were wonderful, and we could not get enough of their stories. This is a wonderful place to stay and the memorabilia from World War I is fantastic. What Albion Inn has done to preserve the forgotten war is amazing and we hope they are around for generations.

We reserved a room and also ate. The room was clean and spacious, while the food was delicious with large portions. You will not go hungry for food or stories.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Max O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    13
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
6
39
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

Myself, my fiancé and my sister and her partner stayed here this weekend, travelling up Saturday morning for a family occasion in Chester. Immediately on arrival received a warm and friendly welcome and were given a parking permit voucher for our car. There are two rooms, one twin and one double, both of which are fabulous and wonderfully decorated. I stayed in the double with my partner, my sister conceeding due to us only recently engaged! We received plenty of fresh milk for the in-room tea facilities which I think it wonderful as I hate that metallic UHT stuff you get in most hotels. We ate elsewhere in Chester on Saturday, but had a hearty full English breakfast on Sunday morning which was very well received as there was more than a couple of sore heads between us. Luckily the rooms hadn't been booked for the Sunday so we didn't have to check out until we needed to. We all thought that the whole stay was fabulous value for money and I would definitely stay here again when visiting friends or family in Chester.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Linconshire
Level Contributor
204 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

This pub has been in the same hands for 40 years making its landlord (Mr Mike Mercer) out in a league of his own in Chester. I first went there myself as a young fellow in the early 1970's and much of what I can remember from those days is still there! Properly kept real ales and properly home cooked food make a pleasant change from the normal pub grub scene. The lack of unruly children running about is also a relief for old grumpies like me! Don't bother asking for chips either - see earlier comment re proper food.
If you are interested in military history (WW1 in particular) have a l;ook around this place - brilliant and all praise to Mike for his heroic efforts in rainsing funds.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greeklover20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

I would highy recommend this wonderful "gem" close to the City Historical walls.A charming and wonderful pub full of links to the Great War of 1914/1918 and the Cheshire Regiment.A wide range of beers and very good food.The accommodation is "spotless" and the service is amongst the best I have ever received.The breakfast was outstanding.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BattlefieldGuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

Although we have enjoyed previous lunchtime meals here and thought them fair value, we were somewhat disappointed last Friday - my fish pie was fine but a portion of haggis was really inadequate and it was disappointing that a serving of the excellent oatcakes came without any garnish or accompiniment, leaving two people still hungry, tho' I was personally happy!

A meal like this isn't cheap, tho' that's no problem at all, if everyone leaves satisfied, not the case on this occasion - pity.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RambliJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delamere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

Tucked in on the outskirts of the city, just near the river this pub is a must visit for those who love quirky pubs. The signs clearly state who they will serve (Which may not be to peoples tastes, but it's there for a reason)

The atmosphere is charming, with plenty of Word War memorabillia and dedications to patrons who served in the wars, its certainly a place to chat over a warm log fire and no loud music or fruit machines

The food is delightful and certainly worthy of "Trench Rations" - Whilst the prices may not cater for those wishing to save pennies, you can certainly enjoy a fantastic meal and also get a voucher for car parking (This was on offer when I visited)

The thing I most enjoyed was the Coffee, which was nice and strong and also came with an eggcup of "Smarties Sweets" which was a welcome alternative

The owners were only to happy to help and I had the pleasure of meeting the landlord, who was a very charming person and as a fellow supporter and fundraiser for the armed forces had great pleasure of complimenting him

Overall, if you are the sort of person who enjoys the comfort of a traditional pub, which isnt owned by a big franchise and also prefers a pint from local brewers, The Albion is the place for you

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andybell123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2013

We haven't visited the Albion Inn for several years but nothing has changed. It is still a genuine old fashioned British pub serving excellent real ales and simple but tasty home cooked food. The landlord hasn't changed much either - older but still as eccentric as ever. He was walking round carrying an old standard lamp that needed 'fixing' whilst we were there.

We had Cumberland sausage and mash and lambs liver and onions - both meals served with freshly cooked vegetables. All the food is locally or regionally sourced.

The decor of the pub takes you back to World War 1. There are big engravings and old advertisements covering all the walls. There are also four official war memorials to soldiers from the Cheshire Regiment in the pub.

The Albion is perhaps not for everyone - if you like loud music and fried food then it certainly isn't. But it is a charming reminder of a time long gone.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PrestburyLad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.2 mi away
The Commercial Bar & Hotel
0.2 mi away
Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grosvenor Place Guest House
0.2 mi away
The Saddle Inn
The Saddle Inn
#8 of 81 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bridge Street Townhouse
Bridge Street Townhouse
#21 of 81 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Albion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Albion Inn

Property: The Albion Inn
Address: Park Street, Chester CH1 1RN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Albion Inn Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing