We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best pubs in Chester!”
Review of The Albion Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chester
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Albion Inn
Ranked #25 of 79 Chester B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
123 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“One of the best pubs in Chester!”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Have visited this pub on a number of occasions and always a highlight on any visit to Chester. Great beers and fab food! We have the vege haggis...great comfort food at very reasonable prices.

Whether you are a history fan, or not, this place is really worth a visit!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CatGLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    13
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
6
39
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Despite the large number of pubs in medieval buildings in Chester this 19th century establishment is by far the cosiest, with three traditional bars. It's theme is Victorian, but it's not really a theme - it is Victorian. But this is closer to Victorian plush than Victorian Spartan. It's a place to be comfortable in on your own or for a conversation with someone else. It's a place to relax in the centre of Chester after the hurly burly of tourists and drunkards in many of the other pubs.

Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael W W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013 via mobile

Do not waste your money on a posh city hotel, stay at the Albion Pub. We could not of been made more welcome by hosts Christina and Mike. Our room was tastefully decorated and very comfortable. Breakfast was freshly cooked and great quality which we thorough enjoyed whilst reading the daily papers provided. The pub is themed on the First World War and provided great interest whilst mingling with friendly locals and enjoying a good pint. Situated within the Roman city walls a great base for exploring Chester on foot. Will be sure to visit again on our next excursion to Chester.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We stayed in this lovely pub this weekend & had a fabulous time! We were greeted by Christina who was wonderful & friendly with great local knowledge which made our time in Chester even more enjoyable. The pub is right in the middle of Chester, making sight seeing so easy. We parked the car & forgot about it for the whole weekend. The food is amazing, the only problem was choosing which dish to go for. I would thoroughly reccomended this pub,it's a must for Chester!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 May 2013

This hotel was one of the highlights of our trip around England. Christina and her husband were wonderful, and we could not get enough of their stories. This is a wonderful place to stay and the memorabilia from World War I is fantastic. What Albion Inn has done to preserve the forgotten war is amazing and we hope they are around for generations.

We reserved a room and also ate. The room was clean and spacious, while the food was delicious with large portions. You will not go hungry for food or stories.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Max O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Myself, my fiancé and my sister and her partner stayed here this weekend, travelling up Saturday morning for a family occasion in Chester. Immediately on arrival received a warm and friendly welcome and were given a parking permit voucher for our car. There are two rooms, one twin and one double, both of which are fabulous and wonderfully decorated. I stayed in the double with my partner, my sister conceeding due to us only recently engaged! We received plenty of fresh milk for the in-room tea facilities which I think it wonderful as I hate that metallic UHT stuff you get in most hotels. We ate elsewhere in Chester on Saturday, but had a hearty full English breakfast on Sunday morning which was very well received as there was more than a couple of sore heads between us. Luckily the rooms hadn't been booked for the Sunday so we didn't have to check out until we needed to. We all thought that the whole stay was fabulous value for money and I would definitely stay here again when visiting friends or family in Chester.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Linconshire
Level Contributor
219 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

This pub has been in the same hands for 40 years making its landlord (Mr Mike Mercer) out in a league of his own in Chester. I first went there myself as a young fellow in the early 1970's and much of what I can remember from those days is still there! Properly kept real ales and properly home cooked food make a pleasant change from the normal pub grub scene. The lack of unruly children running about is also a relief for old grumpies like me! Don't bother asking for chips either - see earlier comment re proper food.
If you are interested in military history (WW1 in particular) have a l;ook around this place - brilliant and all praise to Mike for his heroic efforts in rainsing funds.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greeklover20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.2 mi away
The Commercial Bar & Hotel
0.2 mi away
Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Saddle Inn
The Saddle Inn
#7 of 79 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bridge Street Townhouse
Bridge Street Townhouse
#21 of 79 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ye Olde King's Head
Ye Olde King's Head
#4 of 79 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grosvenor Place Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Albion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Albion Inn

Property: The Albion Inn
Address: Park Street, Chester CH1 1RN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Albion Inn Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing