We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely ale”
Review of The Albion Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chester
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Albion Inn
Ranked #26 of 79 Chester B&B and Inns
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Lovely ale”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Although I had been to Chester a number of times, this time we took the advice of the Tripadvisor reviewers and walked the circuit of the city walls. Really lovely way to see the city and the environs. On the north side, The Albion pub's blackboarded rules and criteria for entry ( including " family hostile") enticed us into this timewarp old-fashioned pub with lovely handpulled ale. The food looked good, although unfortunately we weren't hungry.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    13
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
6
39
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

This is a bit late as we stayed here earlier in the year. We looked at the reviews as you do and went for it. The hosts are tops! Christina could not be more helpful and welcoming, her hubby is the best pub landlord you could hope to meet. It's his pub and he runs it the way he likes, if you don't like it bugger off. The pl;ace is a monument to 2 world wars and the way a pub should be. It won't please everybody but who cares the gaffer certainly don't and as he has been there over 30 years he must be doing it right. It's a quaint old fashioned English pub, no lager,no music and excellent pub grub. Plus if you stay a breakfast you won't get anywhere else. The rooms are clean and tidy the beds comfortable and the ambiance is clearly designed to help you relax. You will be made very welcome and provided with a council parking ticket which is worth quids in Chester. Oh one other thing when you look at these reviews it is easy to get the wrong impression from the bad or poor reviews. Thing to do is look at the whole picture if there are 20 good and 3 bad, you have to remind yourself that you can't please all the people all the time. There is one on here moaning about lumpy mash, obviously this person hasn't got the brains to use the fork to sort out the lumps. Ask the gaffer about his time in the Merchant Navy if you have got an hour to spend.

Room Tip: If its gonna be warm weather go for the rooms at the back of the pub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CWEMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Warwickshire, England
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

On arrival at noon, before our room was ready, Christina greeted us and took our bags so we could go and explore the town. However, the pub was so inviting that we settled down for a drink and a sandwich before going out, by which time our room was ready so we were able to quickly sort out our things before going out for the afternoon.

The double room is a decent size, tastefully furnished and has everything you'll need for a short stay. The location of the pub is ideal, being right alongside steps up to the city walls and the riverside is a few minutes walk away.

The Albion Inn is the only remaining traditional corner pub in Chester, and long may it stay just the way it is. It's so refreshing to find a 'proper boozer' these days. It won't be to everyone's taste as the pub has a zero-tolerance policy on many issues (thank God)! But if you want to stay in comfortable, friendly pub accommodation, and the rules of the house suit you, you really can't go wrong here.

Christina made us very welcome and served up wonderful breakfasts, even going to the trouble of asking if we wanted anything different to the normal breakfast menu and getting some excellent Manx Kippers from the market. The evening meals were also very good - wholesome, tasty, home-cooked traditional fayre. Residents are given a free bottle of wine with evening meals, which makes an evening staying in the pub very good value. In fact we had planned to eat out on one of our two evenings there but enjoyed the food and the atmosphere in the pub so much that we didn't bother.

Residents are also provided with a temporary parking permit and Christina kindly put one, wrapped in cling film, under my windscreen wiper when we had forgotten to ask about it and gone to bed.

We're actually thinking about going again, with some friends to take the other room, purely on the strength of such wonderful B&B hospitality, along with great food and beers in the pub.

Highly recommended. We both thoroughly enjoyed our all too short stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BuzzardFlight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Stayed for one night and ate in the bar in the evening. Breakfast was great. It is certainly not your average pub / B&B and has a character all of its own. Christina was extremely helpful both before and during our stay.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterW63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a few nights in early September. I chose it having read reviews because it sounded different and interesting. It most certainly was and as it is located just by the walls it's a very short walk for exploring Chester.
Christina, the landlady, made us so welcome, giving us really helpful local advice. The breakfast was the best b and b breakfast I've had, and more of everything.
While our room was quite small, the little touches made up for that - a tea pot, cafetiere, shortbread, bottled water.
I would certainly return - when I visit Chester again, there would be little to attract me elsewhere - it was a real home from home.
One thing to point out - the clientele has been chosen carefully. Described as family hostile and signs warning hen and stag parties away. This suits me and if it suits you too, this is a lovely, personal place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CardiffTheresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

This place offered character and a true English pub stay experience. The owners were on scene and truly accommodating, helping us out as new inexperienced visitors who had not planned well for our last minute vacation! Great hospitality! The room was clean and the pub was wonderful. We met people from Chester who came into the pub and were friendly and talkative about Chester. The food and bar were fun - we were pleased to have a true experience of England. Go for it! Susan

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Spent 2 pleasant days at The Albion, during early August. It’s an original Victorian building that has retained its layout and is perfectly situated right next to the roman wall. The main bar rooms have been decorated in the style of the times and are filled with memorabilia from WW1. This unique combination creates a special atmosphere that you just won’t find anywhere else.

It advertises itself as child ‘hostile’ as children aren’t allowed on the premises, so expect a strictly adult clientele.

On arrival, the owners will issue you with a permit to park on the adjacent side street, but finding a space can sometimes be tricky

Our room was furnished in Victorian style, but with modern en-suite bathroom facilities. One small criticism was the lack of a TV; it’s not that we want to stay in watching it all day, but it’s nice to catch up with the news first thing in the morning. Nonetheless, that’s just a minor point.

Evening meals and breakfasts are superb and everything is perfectly cooked and served by hospitable and friendly host, Christina.

I highly recommend The Albion as a unique place to stay in Chester.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trev2906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.2 mi away
The Commercial Bar & Hotel
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Chester Central
0.2 mi away
Grosvenor Place Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bridge Street Townhouse
Bridge Street Townhouse
#20 of 79 in Chester
242 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Saddle Inn
The Saddle Inn
#7 of 79 in Chester
233 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fifteens of Chester
Fifteens of Chester
#9 of 25 in Chester
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Albion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Albion Inn

Property: The Albion Inn
Address: Park Street, Chester CH1 1RN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Albion Inn Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing