We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Albion Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chester
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Albion Inn
Ranked #28 of 79 Chester B&B and Inns
mold
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

Booked and arrived on time, a nice table reserved for 4 of us in the snug. A gem of a pub, a unique and refreshing change from all the chains. Food lovely and fairly priced with a good selection of beers

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jane a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    13
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
6
39
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Rochdale
Level Contributor
250 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

I so wanted to like this place. The bar is lovely and the menu makes a welcome change from the same old choices you seem to get everywhere else, however, the service was weirdly quite unfriendly.

The food was very much hit and miss and could just do with a bit more attention to detail, the pub is themed around the war years but no need for the food to taste like it's made with rations.

Maybe we caught them on an off day so I might try again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MysteryGuestRochdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

a small group of us went to chester for drinks in January 2014 we came across the albion and went for a drink. once inside we ordered our drinks had a bit of banter with the bar staff and took our seats. within 5 mins of been there the landlord appeared and asked us to drink up and leave, when we asked him what the problem was he said that there was a sign on the way in that we didn't read saying no stag partys. our ages range from 35-51 and there was women in our group, so certainly not on a stag do. no amount of arguing our case could change his mind the landlord was rude and intolerable and the bar staff were embarrassed by his behaviour. I would even go as far as to say they discriminate, they want a certain type of cliental and if your face don't fit you won't be welcome. enter at your peril.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank griffiths14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
265 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

This is a wonderful little pub that never seems to change. It is friendly and full of memorabilia from times past. The food is good and honest no chips! but try the liver and mash very yummy.
The interior is slightly shabby but that just adds to the atmosphere. If you want a modern slick pub don't go but if you want atmosphere and a feeling of a true pub highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CGSFormby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

A nice little pub to get away from all of the mass produced rubbish on the high street. Good honest food, good beer, good atmosphere. It's a real gem. The problem is its too expensive but that's the price to pay for authenticity these days. Small but well run.

Who ever recommended the cross keys over this little pub is joking right?

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaspertearoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

My partner and I came across THE ALBION by accident, after seeing the menu board in the street, whilst making our way towards the river.
We were welcomed by an extremely friendly hostess who allowed us to bring our small dog in with us into the bar area. She couldn't have been more friendly or accommodating - Even bringing our dog a bowl of water.
After choosing our meals from options on a large chalk board they arrived after a short wait even though they seemed quite busy. Food was tasty and HOME made - however not huge portions. That said,we would certainly recommend it, and the surroundings were really interesting with many items from the 1930's and 40's. We would definitely go back, if in the area.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank diamondcat01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

The Albion is the last Victorian terraced pub within the walls of Chester and has been maintained in a very characterful way by Christina & Mike Mercer and is something of a Chester institution .
The style is distinctly turn of the century , that’s is turn of the last century with the walls adorned with Patriotic great war poster plus advertising memorabilia of the time .
The layout is a main saloon bar and a pair of cracking snugs ,,, wonderful on a winters night with the fire roaring . There were just a couple of ales on draught but they were well kept and very quaffable , the food, also in the style of yesteryear, was filling and substantial . The bar staff are a serious asset , friendly and efficient in making sure that you settle in and want for nothing.
The accommodation is just two rooms , with full bathroom and shower en suite , comfortable and tastefully decorated carrying on the early 1900’s feel of the place, hence no TV,,, not a problem to me.
Christina prepares a great breakfast for you in the wonderful snug and can provide plenty of inside information for what is to be seen, eaten and drank in Chester , whose city wall can be accessed only yards away from the pub . An early morning walk of the walls being a great way to get you bearings on Chester itself where there is plenty to see and places to imbibe making for a great place to say and wonderful city to visit. I would happily do it all over again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P_J_Murphy1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.2 mi away
The Commercial Bar & Hotel
0.2 mi away
Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Saddle Inn
The Saddle Inn
#7 of 79 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bridge Street Townhouse
Bridge Street Townhouse
#21 of 79 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ye Olde King's Head
Ye Olde King's Head
#4 of 79 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grosvenor Place Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Albion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Albion Inn

Property: The Albion Inn
Address: Park Street, Chester CH1 1RN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Albion Inn Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing