We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chester
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chester Lakes Camping
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We just got back from camping here. We go camping a lot and this has the cleanest toilet blocks and facility's I've seen on a campsite.
The cafe and bar and burger van is all reasonably priced. The lakesides are peaceful and tranquil. We didn't try fishing but it looks so much fun, we are going to hire rods next time we go.
They have a nice little play area for kids and is a family friendly site.
The all day breakfast is lovely for £4.95 although they do need more staff of a weekend as they were rushed off thier feet and it was a long wait, some people were just giving up and getting refunds for thier already ordered food.
You can camp lakeside, meadow or woodland at different but reasonable rates. We will definitely be returning

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Lee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (265)
There are newer reviews for Chester Lakes Camping
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

206 - 212 of 265 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014

arrived and was shown where to camp on a map. drove around a few times to find somewhere. very pleased. we had booked lakeside and weren't disappointed. did a spot of fishing but mostly enjoyed the bar and watching our daughter on the park. was very pleased with this site. toilets could do with a regular clean though and cafe looked a little grubby but food was good. catering van after 6pm so if you dont want to cook its brill. returning in a few weeks. pods look amazing

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank meg198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Visited the cafe at chester lakes last week for lunch with my family, which has recently been taken over, the cafe is lovely and clean and very well presented lovely staff and the food was delicious, the prices are extremely affordable and we will definately be returning!! The location is beautiful and the grounds are extremely well kept it was perfect : )

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank willi35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This place just gets better and better each trip. First came camping, then rented a BBQ pod then came for a nights fishing. Had a awesome time at every visit. Facilities are alot more than what you expect. Very clean hygiene facilities. All ways spotless, staff are outstanding with making you feel as comfortable and looked after on that little break you have been looking forward to. Over the past year Iv been camping for a weekend, rented a BBQ pod and did a few nights fishing on all lakes. Great peaceful fishing on all lakes. Had some really nice heavy halls of fish each time. Dodelston lake great for having a chance at the bigger fish. Landed 14 carp one session from dodelston between 8lb 16lb. Well maintained fisheries. Clean, very accessible for all ages. A feel safe place to stay. Many facilities offering food, drinks, even a on site tackle / bait shop. On site play area for children close main facilities.
Many electric hookup points around site. Just a fantastic place to go relax either on your own or with the whole family. Great place to be!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thefishybiker22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Stayed here at the weekend... been about 6 times over the past year but its going down hill!!
They've doubled the prices and halved the fun!
On arrival they had no record of our booking - had to show my Paypal receipt to confirm I had booked in...
Two members of staff were on and were run ragged....
Toilets were filthy - no paper towels.. heard numerous people complaining to reception but they didn't have the staff to clean them...
Cafe has now closed down... this is not a great sign as its the height of summer!!! The nearest shop over a mile away... there is a chip van - chips were great!!
On Saturday night people had their fishing gear stolen... as the gates are left open all night...
No sign of the car booty on the Sunday - no bands on on the Saturday night - all a bit sad really.
This place was booming last year - this year it has been empty each time we have been..
Really should look at offering combined fishing/camping deals - £62 for a weekend when it was just £30 last year - bit steep! Surely anyone with a little business sense would know that a full site at £30 a pitch is better than an empty site at £62!!?

This site was brilliant last year - clean, safe...staff were fantastic - really think this place needs to revert back to the way it was being run before and start looking after the little things...the customers!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank happycamperfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Visited Chester Lakes at the start of the month. Quite unfortunate that when we arrived there was no one there to greet us. Not the best of first impression but no big problem either. Ss the site was pretty empty we decided to chance it and pitch as we had pre-payed. This was no problem when we saw the owner/receptionist/manager later who ran through the do's and don'ts. Bbq's welcomed, aslong as they were put on bricks, when i tried to find the guy that went through the ground rules with us, there was no1 in sight and no sight of any bricks either! Was happy to play by the rules but things like that made it quite difficult. Facilities were ok, nothing flash, no hand driers or paper towels which seemed od. Showers an extra £1, tad cheeky maybe! On site cafe was very good to be fair and fairly priced. Views and lakes were fab. Walked to the local town of Dodleston to have a nice pub meal, only annoying thing, it was a 1 mile walk along a road! Would probably return and with a bit of tweeking this place could be an easy 5!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank AronJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Part of a group of 15, parents and kids.
Booking was easy online, on arrival reception guy was informative and explained about the site and were we would be staying. A young lad took us to the meadow and we set up on a HUGE field and had the choice to pitch up where we chose. Great start.
Weather was hot hot hot
Kids area is good but you have to be aware of the vehicles coming into the carpark, you couldnt leave younger kids there. Be better if fenced off for safety, but still great, our kids wouldnt leave there.
Bar area was very reasonably priced and bar staff are friendly.
Kids/dads fished on the Saturday and the guy in the fishing shop was helpful too, this sites staff are very friendly, helpful and smile.
We didnt try the cafe but it looked ok, we decided to use the burger van so we could have a few cheeky cans in the bar! The best CHIPS in the world, these are old fashioned home made chips like your nan made. Burgers scrummy too. Kids had fish finger butties which they loved.
There is a kids sweet shop on this site but never open?? kids wanted a lolly ice and slush, this was a disappointment but a man pointed us to the local shop so smiles on little faces again when we returned with bags of goodies.
The site is clean but nothing fancy. A good atmosphere with helpful staff.
A wedding was on in huge teepees which was out this world, we wanted to go and have a look but couldnt. We will be back next weekend for the family day and looking forward to trying the hogroast.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Penny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Chester South
2.1 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
4.4 mi away
Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Rowton Hall Hotel
Rowton Hall Hotel
#5 of 44 in Chester
1,035 reviews
3.0 mi away
ABode Chester
ABode Chester
#16 of 44 in Chester
2,121 reviews
3.2 mi away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#6 of 44 in Chester
1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chester Lakes Camping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chester Lakes Camping

Address: Rough Hill | Marlston-cum-Lache, Chester CH4 9NG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Chester
Price Range: £1 - £7 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in over 500 acres of Cheshire countryside, only 4 miles from Chester City Centre - Chester Lakes comprises lakes, lawns and parkland - historically a part of the Duke of Westminster's estate. Now it hosts the perfect country retreat. The location is ideal for exploring Chester City Centre, Cheshire and the Welsh hills. Chester Lakes is your choice for a fabulous break - fish the lakes all day or to pop into Chester and enjoy a day at the races, cinemas, shops, pubs and clubs! All the options are open to you.Offering Camping with electric hookup, caravan site and our fabulous BBQ Pods! **NO DOGS ALLOWED** ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chester Lakes Camping Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing