We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fantastic introduction to Chester.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Chester Tour

The Chester Tour
Ranked #6 of 19 Tours in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: All tours are led by fully qualified Blue and Green Badge Guides.A guided tour of Chester is the best way of seeing the city. Tours generally last for approx 1.5 hrs so even if you are in Chester for a few hours make the most of your time here and let one of our experienced guides show you all the highlights of this beautiful city. A variety of sightseeing tours and themed walks are available all year round for both groups and individual visitors. Public tours run daily throughout the year (some tours are seasonal and availability should be checked prior to arrival). All tours are available all year round to private parties and groups but must be pre-booked.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A fantastic introduction to Chester.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

We attended the 10:30AM tour on a Saturday, ran by a fantastic tour guide, Ann. It was our first morning in Chester, and the tour provided us with some useful context to the city and suggested avenues to explore more deeply after the tour was over, such as the Amphitheatre and Roman Gardens. Ann was very knowledgable and welcoming to all who took part in the tour, and we, as students, enjoyed the discounted prices for us.
I recommend to all those new to Chester, and looking for some history, explored majorly through the architecture of Chester's most loved monuments and buildings.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    19
    4
    1
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, Scotland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Tour....very informative....highly recommended!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed our tour of Chester with Martin our guide who was excellent.
The interesting stops along the route were well chosen and emphasised the rich history of the city.
Thank you.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Lochnessmonster55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“was expecting a bit more”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

Took my family on the ghost tour which we all enjoyed but it just seemed to lack something.
Walking the streets and stopping at locations to here stories of what shopkeepers and locals have reported about happening in there shops and homes.
The walk being in the dark evening made it feel a bit more erie but i was expecting that maybe we would have gone in the grounds of some of the haunted buildings to give it a bit more of an edge.
The guide was good and friendly enough and at £17 for a family ticket it was worth it even just to learn a few more facts about my home city.
Not sure though i would have been as impressed if i had driven from Telford like one couple had.
I think this tour could be made more atmospheric if more of the back streets and alley ways were used rather than walking the main roads .
Still well worth giving it a go.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank chesterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
226 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“good fun and intrigue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

We had friends coming from Lancashire for a chilly evening and food so we booked a family ticket (£17)and a 2x tickets (£8 each.) Large group of us were split into 3 with about 20 ish people in each. We all went off, as a group, in our separate ways.
Our guide, Rodger, dressed as a grey monk, was knowledgeable and interesting. He had a quiet voice and you had to really move into the group to hear him, but he was entertaining. The tour was not about many pub ghosts, which I have experienced around Chester before, but about leaving you thinking about whether something was possible and so very intriguing. Was that the case? Could that really happen? Did they die like that?
Great history knowledge too with many local facts. A good walk around little nooks and crannies in Chester as well as a good walk around the city and some of the walls.
We had 2 children with us; 8 and 12; the youngest wasn't too impressed but the oldest really enjoyed it. We as four adults, all loved it. An interesting way to spend a friday evening around Halloween and Bonfire Night.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank t2cps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mold
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Ghost Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

If your looking for a way of entertaining your teenagers at Halloween I cannot recommennd highly enough the Chester Ghost Tour.

I took 3 x 14yr old boys who are at that awkward age between child and adulthood.

Well what can I say ? Not only was it fascinating hearing some of the history of the City of Chester and its past residents but also thought provoking enough to set the minds a wandering and you glancing over your shoulder. The atmosphere created and story telling skills of our guide was second to none. At times we could actually imagine ourselves in the moment. Brrrr . Its always tricky entertaining teenagers but I think the conversation the tour provoked in the car on the way home said it all. It was a big hit with us all !

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank RosieRobertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Chester Tour also viewed

 

Been to The Chester Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing