We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money”
Review of Shillong - CLOSED

Shillong
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We love going to this restaurant Excellent choice and vfm. With our gourmet card we paid thirty pounds including bottle of wine. We would encourage others to support this great restaurant.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LizLunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    7
    2
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
southampton
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“It would be a pity if you overlooked this place”
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We were taken to Shillong by friends who proved their friendship with the choice of restaurant. Funnily enough we have passed the restaurant many times when visiting the city and wondered what it was like. The building is rather plain on the outside and you should note it is situated on one of the main roads leaving Chester. There is limited off street parking but after 6pm you may park on the road in front of the restaurant but remember it is a busy road.
Quite simply we agree with comments made by other reviewers in that you have a wide choice from the menu, attentive and friendly staff and a great meal.
We are not curry experts but there was little left on all our plates and bill was very reasonable for the four of us.
So if you are in Chester and intend eating out then it will be worth your while to visit this restaurant.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JibbaSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chestet
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Average meal”
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Visited shillong back in november with friends. The meal and service was just average. The welcome was not a good start for the meal so as the food and service.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ab1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great curries and wide choice”
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Although we live in Chester this was the first time we managed to get to this restaurant. The staff were very welcoming and the menu choice very varied. The curries we chose were excellent as were the side dishes and all this very reasonably priced. We will definitely be going agian!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LizLunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely staff, Amazing food, Best by far.”
Reviewed 13 December 2013

This really is a hidden gem in plain sight, if you're one of the many locals in Chester who drove past Locus throughout the years (excellent reviews) and said.. oh... I'll have to go there sometime... MAKE THE EFFORT this time! You won't regret it, the car park isn't 'that' scary to get in to! ;)

We've eaten in 3 or 4 times over the last couple of years and had brilliant, attentive, friendly and accommodating service which led us to order plenty of takeaways.

We're not the type to get stuck in our ways, so we try other Indian restaurants/takeaways every now and again but never seem to find food up to scratch, there's always a look between us of... "hmmmn... its not as good as Shillong...".

Eating in is usually a relaxed, peaceful affair, so if you struggle to make conversation with your partner, then Brook St./City road is probably your best bet, along with the noisy drunks to hide your disappointment and despair.

"Madras hot" please ;)

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KenKenUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shillong also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing