We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food had party of 10 old people loved it bar staff and food staff very good i will be back soon thank you all you must”

The Sportsmans Arms
Ranked #225 of 555 Restaurants in Chester
Price range: US$4 - US$15
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Sportsmans Arms has new owners, Darren and Wendy Depuis, both local,having successfully run Two other local pubs over the last few years, have now returned from Zante in Greece, bring with them a small Greek menu of home made village food, to go with the home made English pub food menu, The village Pub is now returning to the way it always was, " We don't serve fast food, but try and serve, good, old fashioned, home made food, as soon as possible "
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Very good food had party of 10 old people loved it bar staff and food staff very good i will be back soon thank you all you must”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Very good food and drink had a.party of old people for some food loved it bar and food staff very good must try
The sportsmans arms tattenhall thank you all the staff we will be back

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dave210159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    23
    15
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“less than average”
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

I visited this place on a Sunday, it was fairly busy as you would expect. We where seated it the bottom restaurant which was nicely decorated but cold and the tables were too close together.After being seated we waited 10-15 minutes for a drinks order to be taken( then waiting a further 10 for them to arrive) we had to ask to order our food twice, it seems like the young staff cannot cope with a half full restaurant!! Food was average at best but did not make up for the long delay.Oh and bear in mind this is a busy drinking pub not a restaurant, if you like the sound of swearing and raised voices whist eating your food this is the place for you!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank ryan j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“way below expectations”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

I was recommended by a friend to try this village pub and was really looking forward to it, however it was absolute let down on all accounts, it took forever to get served when we did it felt like we where impeding on the young couple behind the bar.
when the food came out they got the order totally wrong, when it did finally arrived it was poor even by pub grub standards, a really let down
there are far better pubs in the area

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank terry j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“gone down hill”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Been here a few time and liked it, however something has changed.
The staff don’t seem to really care (surly faces and non attentive) and the food we ordered wasn’t that great either, nowhere near the standard it used to be.
We will be giving this place a miss for a while

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank robert s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesire
1 review
“Extremely taken back”
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

I brought my family in for a meal and there was 8 of us and we didn't book and was presently surprised by how quickly we were seated with drinks. The whole pub is lovely and has a old modern look but with a young team of staff it just works! The food came to us with no wait and the service was the best around. We'd definitely come back :) the young lady who served us was a joy and was very good with the kids. We will definitely come back!!

Helpful?
Thank Pubdiningreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Sportsmans Arms also viewed

Tattenhall, Cheshire
Tattenhall, Cheshire
 
Tattenhall, Cheshire
 

Been to The Sportsmans Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing