We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious homemade and locally sourced food”
Review of Marmalade

Marmalade
Ranked #8 of 555 Restaurants in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$13
Cuisines: Cafe
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious homemade and locally sourced food”
Reviewed 28 September 2012

I visited Marmalade for afternoon tea with friends. The food was excellent, with a choice of sandwiches made using homemade and locally sourced produce, delicious fruit scones with clotted cream and jam and homemade elderflower drizzle cake.
The owners were welcoming and accommodating, providing a relaxed atmosphere.
For the wonderful food and warm service the prices are great value and for students a discount of 10% is available. We really enjoyed our experience and plan to visit again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank milesk55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    456
    107
    18
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Chicken and Bacon Sandwich”
Reviewed 27 September 2012

I tried the shop on its first day open, I ordered a chicken and bacon sandwich on white bread. The chicken was tasty and of a good quality as was the bacon. it came with a nice section on leaves and served on very fresh soft white sliced bread. I took the sandwich away and it was very enjoyable.

My only issue which is well forgiven is the time it took to be made, But after all it was only the first day

Will return.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank alexroon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Eggy bread better than my mum's!”
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Lovely cafe - great food and great staff. We visited a few weeks ago and were delighted by the quality of the food and service. I had the eggy bread followed by a chocolate orange cupcake and my partner had a full breakfast. All of it was truly yummy. The eggy bread was the best I've ever tasted and the full breakfast was perfectly sized, not greasy and had a scrummy piece of black pudding. The chocolate orange cupcake topped off a perfect brunch. The staff were also very friendly and offered great recommendations on what to try from the menu and what to do in Chester. A true delight and strongly recommended if you're ever in the Chester area.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom_Sareena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Lunch”
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Found this place by accident and nicely suprised. An informal cafe with a great selection of breakfasts, salads, paninis, sandwiches, jacket potatoes and soup; as well as drinks and cakes. Service friendly. Paninis ~£6 (cheshire sausage, caramalised onion marmalade and sauted mushrooms / falafel + roasted aubergine) and the soup were excellent. They also do food to go which is a bit cheaper. Free wifi also! Will be back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hjaynewill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marmalade also viewed

 
Chester, Cheshire
 
Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to Marmalade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing