We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“oh deang r”
Review of The Frog

The Frog
Ranked #128 of 555 Restaurants in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$23
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Fine dining along with GastroPub with a flair of elegance. All ingredients locally sourced and freshly prepared in the kitchen from the bread to the ice cream. Together with a unique fantastic range of wines and freshly prepared cocktails using only fresh products.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“oh deang r”
Reviewed 6 June 2013

we were shown to a table which was very nice. When the food arrived there was no salad and sour cream with the enchiladas as indicated on the specials board, my fish and chips was ok, chips were not very warm and appeared to have been re-cooked. The other meal was ok. Because some of one of the meals was not complete, we asked for a free pudding to which the very solomn waitress said that was fine, so we tried to order a number of puddings of the sweet menu. The only things they had out of a selection of about 10 choices was apple crumble, profiteroles and ice cream. (although a table finishing their main meal after us, was given a chocolate fudge cake - which we were told they had run out of). When it was bill time, they hadn't knocked £4 off (the price of a pudding) it was only £1.50 (the price of a side salad)

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    33
    9
    9
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chester
Level Contributor
147 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Love it!”
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Went here yesterday with the family and can't commend enough... The male Scottish waiter was amazing... Very polite, excellent customer service and talked us through menu. Dining room is lovely, fresh flowers on every table and well set out.

All food was gorgeous, fresh and home made.. Young waitress also very good and very good with children, Older waitress not so good, bit grumpy and never smiled, luckily the waiter more than made up for this!

Will definitely visit again, excellent excellent value!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tracieo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Don't believe the bad reviews - this place is a "Gem" a great find!!!”
Reviewed 23 May 2013

arrived here by chance as we were passing through the area and the andrid taste card app highlighted this as near us as we were travelling through the chester area.

Firstly, they did accept our taste card without a problem even though they had an incredible 2 for £10 dishes to choose from. Yes it is set in a pub but pub service we definitely didn't get, the waiter was very friendly and served us promptly and he took his time explaining each dish then left us alone to choose. once we chose we waited approximately 15 minutes for the food to arrive, not bad considering this is freshly cooked food not your usual pub grub! Me being me i had to order something (lamb with redcurrant sauce) not on the 2 for £10 and it was really lovely, the lamb cooked perfectly and the mash was soft fluffy and creamy tasting and the redcurrant sauce complimented it beautifully. my partner ordered steak, mushroom and Guinness pie n chips with its own pot of extra gravy, we often share and this was great too, a generous helping of tasty chunky steak pie and chips that tasted fantastic! This is a place I will be visiting regularly and recommending to all as there is plenty to choose from and the quality and taste of the two dishes we had, along with the friendly staff make this place a real find!! Try it, you wont be disappointed and with the extensive 2 for £10 it wont break the bank either!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank janedoe35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“New managment . No communication!”
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Just visited the frog this evening as a treat for my wife as she starts a new job next week. Whilest warmly greeted we were seated in the dining room consisting of tired pub furniture, over heated / poorly ventilated and cheap cutlery. After placing an order for a chicken escalope and a pasta dish (the waiter also talked me out of ordering the special seafood penne pasta as a previous diner had complained that it was bland )we started to wait and wait and wait and wait. Even though the menu states that food is freshly prepared after an hour i decide to ask how much longer the meal would be. At this point the waitress/barstaff returns from the kitchen saying that the order had been misplaced and looking rather sheepishly over to the owner/landlady. The waiter that originaly took our order was seated by the owner/landlady saying he had placed the order and it was the kitchens fault. No apology was given nor would it be recieved. Sorry but this is no way to run a business. Needless to say we left hungry and without our food. Would not recommend even if it is under new management. We eventualy ate at the edgerton just down the road. Even though a chain, quick service and friendly staff helped rescue the evening. If u cant laugh at the Frog you would cry

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pedro8chester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Poor service”
Reviewed 15 May 2013

After waiting 50 minutes for our food, when it finally arrived the mel was cold. we only ordered simple meal, baguette & chips - people who arrived after us where leaving and paying their bill when we were just having our meal! Very disappointed & embarrassed as I had recommended it to friends! We only went because we had a hospital appointment which is across the road.
Sorry but won't be in a rush to go back! We also were told we could not use our Taste Card.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Frog also viewed

Chester, Cheshire
 
Rossett, Wrexham
 

Been to The Frog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing