We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend break”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Istanbul BBQ

Istanbul BBQ
Ranked #9 of 553 Restaurants in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$19
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Opening Hours:Mon - Thurs 5pm till 10pmFri - Sun 12 noon till 10pm
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Weekend break”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Read reviews on trip adviser and booked table.From going in to coming out everything was excellent, food, service; friendliness and hygiene .
My husband had the Iskender which was a huge portion, I had Guvec ( lamb stew) which came with rice & was very filling. We also had desserts as we couldn't resist, good meal at a good price.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jarredcollinge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    863
    218
    55
    16
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Lovely Turkish food. Very fresh and the homemade bread was delicious. The staff are very welcoming and friendly so if you like good meat and salad it's worth a visit. Very easy to find in chester and I would definitely go back if I was in need of a good quality and very enjoyable dinner. The lamb stew was excellent.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fabulous tasty food, good service!”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Came here after reading good reviews on Trip advisor whilst visiting Chester and we were not disappointed.

We'd booked a table and glad we had as don't think we'd have got in otherwise - we visited on a Friday night. We were immediately seated and drinks offered. It was busy but the staff were all very friendly. The restaurant is nothing fancy but the food was piping hot, tasty and portions were huge - make sure you go with an empty stomach!

We'd definitely go back again - it was delicious!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Welshmogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice and clean but very average meal”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Tried this new restaurant on the recommendation of a Turkish taxi driver. Its lovely and tidy and clean but the food seemed very bland with very little seasoning. The chunks of lamb which I tried were served in a pepper, onion and mushroom mush which at about £12.00 was disappointing. We started with mince lamb rolls which again had no flavouring or seasoning so tasted like plain mince in a filo pastry roll. Unlikely to give it a second try.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GaryLecale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Busy and rightly so”
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

Made a booking by email a few days before going on a Saturday night and so glad we did. The place was packed by 8pm with people being turned away who did not have reservations. The popularity of this place is justified: excellent food, friendly staff and great decor. The portions are huge, so be warned, and each course comes with bread and the mains also come with rice. Following the shared platter for starters we had the Chicken Kluck Special and the Iskender both of which were amazing with delicate flavours and perfectly-cooked meat. I don't think of myself as a lightweight when food is concerned but I couldn't eat all I had which was a real shame given how good it was. Although we live some distance from Chester we will definitely be back when we revisit. Excellent all round.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Istanbul BBQ also viewed

 
Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to Istanbul BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing