We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A piece of Spain and Portugal, here in Chester!”
Review of Porta

Porta
Ranked #23 of 559 Restaurants in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A piece of Spain and Portugal, here in Chester!”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

As on several previous occasions we had a wonderful evening here - the wine, food, atmosphere and service a real credit to Xavier and the team. Don't miss it!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MAPlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    275
    79
    35
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent tapas but very overpriced”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Have got a bit of a love hate relationship with Porta, the tapas is good but so overpriced for what you actually get on the plate, in fact the menu pricing is a little strange. A small dish of fried peppers sets you back £4.50, thats the same price as a dish of air dried spanish beef or the anchovies.. Doesnt quite make sense. As another diner said, if you are hungry the bill soon mounts up. Tapas is the food of the people, in many parts of Spain the tapas comes free with a beer. I have a Spanish friend that wouldnt be able to afford Portas prices, which is a shame because the tapas is tasty and authentic. Atmosphere is a cosy and informal bar atmosphere with bar stools and small tables. Go if you arent on a budget.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ChesterFoodie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, lovely food”
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I visited Porta twice in May, once with a group of friends and once as a couple. I couldn't fault it either time. Once was on a busy Saturday night where there was a real buzz about the restaurant and a great atmosphere. The other time was during the week and it was fairly quiet, but both times the food has been great.

We've now tried nearly every dish on the menu, and with the exception of the potatoes (where the sauce was a bit tomato soup like), everything else has been delicious.

I've already been recommending it to friends, and will definitely be returning again.

Helpful?
1 Thank Joanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“OK - but not that great”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Most reviewers give feedback for really bad or really good experiences.
This is a nice location and good atmosphere with friendly attentive staff.
The food is OK. Most is deep fried and there is salt on everything...sat looking down at the chef at work.

The proportions are small and we have found that the cost son mounts up higher than you would par for a up market 3 course meal ............and far less filling or rewarding.

A great business - but not a great place to have great food.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Cloudman2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Well i must admit i've always been a fan of Portas. Just look at my previous review.
Its an amazing place.
Amazing tapas
And i mean amazing........ the specials are simply that......amazing...the service ...great...
Truely Spanish Tapas

Complete respect

Helpful?
Thank Dukster s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Porta also viewed

 
Chester, Cheshire
 
Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to Porta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing